We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had more time - one night wasn't enough!”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torrdarach House
Ranked #14 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time - one night wasn't enough!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a shame my husband and I only spent one night in Pitlochry en route from Northumberland to Loch Ness. Torrdarach House was absolutely fantastic. Both Struan and Louise were very generous with their time, ensuring we were comfortable on check-in and giving us helpful tips on where to go in town, even making an evening dinner reservation for us at a recommended restaurant (wonderful). Our room was cosy and comfortable - being enveloped in piles of soft bedding while listening to the pitter patter of rain on the window pane was just magic. The bathroom was clean and modern, the room had all the mod cons and there was even a DVD movie library available to choose from. Torrdarach House does luxury so well. And breakfast in the morning? It was a revelation. The food was wonderful enough but the location was just priceless. The breakfast room overlooks a mature garden and multiple bird feeders in the trees ensure a steady stream of birds and even a treasured sighting of a red squirrel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA_LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello WA_LCD. Well that's a great review! Thanks very much indeed. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
262
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely small inn. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were very helpful in planning activities and suggesting dining options. The room was immaculately clean and warm. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept on during our holiday. Breakfast was a highlight, with freshly made delicious choice of food served in a room with beautiful views of the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Sandrichie. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Torrdarach. Thanks very much for the kind review. Regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have much enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Torrdarach House in Pitlochry & especially the great service Louise & Struan provided to us in a warm & friendly atmosphere. They do run a 5 star B&B with excellent large clean rooms & great views over the village & beyond. Nothing was a bother, even when my wife had the flu & needed to rest up. The best local dining is within easy walking distance. We plan to re-visit them & the local area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Denis. Thanks for writing a great review of your stay. I hope your wife is feeling better and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in Scotland. Sounds like we might see you again on a return visit from Australia. Kind regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights in September. The house itself is lovely, having been most beautifully renovated. Room 2 which is at the front of the house, although not large, is stylishly furnished, with a lovely shower room attached. The room has a large bay window which offers great views over the garden and Pitlochry.

The gardens are large and a haven for wildlife and it was great to watch, red squirrels, deer and a whole variety of birds whilst enjoying our excellent breakfast served in the most delightful of conservatories.

The house is a short walk from the centre of Pitlochry and provides easy walking access to many local restaurants and bars.

Struan and Louise are the most pleasant and helpful of hosts, providing great service and hospitality. The breakfasts were great - porridge with whisky and locally produced bacon and black pudding were treats to savour.

Highly recommended as a stay over if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Room 2 offers great views over the gardens and the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello bobagreen. Thanks for the comprehensive review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your three night stay with us. Maybe we will see you again sometime. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After a (very short) stay at this beautiful B&B I can confirm its #1 ranking! The hosts are friendly and easy-going, and the house and the surrounding garden are well-maintained and furnished in a stylish and luxurious manner. The room and bathroom are comfortable, clean and again give this luxurious feeling that marked the entire stay. The tasteful breakfast with fresh food and delicious (local) products such as honey and jam were the cherry on the cake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi wouty. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay and I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks again, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is how B&B's in Scotland should be but sadly aften are not. Being in the Scottish tourism industry I have seen many B&B's and this is up there with the best.

My wife, who is a cleanliness fanatic, pronounced it spotless which coming from her is high praise indeed. Rooms are very well appointed and beds are very comfortable.

Breakfast is very good, did not have cooked breakfast but saw no reason the suspect that this would not be up to the high standard.

Readers may find this all a little gushing but its rare to find a gem like this.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Jeremy. Thanks for the great review. Delighted to hear you liked the place so much. Maybe see you again sometime. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 3-night stay in Torrdarach and it was by far the best place I've stayed. The room (Room 2) was amazing: big comfy bed, brilliantly powerful shower, lovely decor and a beautiful view from a bay window, across the garden and down the hill.
During the day, the view was lovely and at night we turned out the lights and watched bats zip back and forth chasing the moths around the garden. Even though there is a road outside, it was so quiet we were able to keep the windows open the whole time we were there and take full advantage of the fresh country air.

Breakfast in the conservatory was just as wonderful, everything seemed to be either homemade (including the granola, my breakfast of choice) or local produce and Struan cooked up a storm in the kitchen from a traditional cooked breakfast to smoked salmon, done in his homemade smoker. Watching the red squirrel enjoy his breakfast in the garden made it that bit more special.

Overall Struan and Louise did a wonderful job, managing to be invisible most of the time but always popping up just when you need them or to make sure you're enjoying your stay. And they are more than happy to have a chat and point out the best places in town.

Even after three nights I didn't want to leave and I'm already looking for another oppourtunity to get back out of the city and will more than likely stay in Torrdarach again...if they're not fully booked of course.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hi Mashphat. Well that is a detailed and generous review! Thanks very much for taking the time. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you are the first to point out we have bats in the trees. I had no idea. See you next time....Thanks again, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Property: Torrdarach House
Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing