We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #15 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early October on our way to the far north of Scotland. Our room was furnished to a very high standard with a lovely en-suite facility and a lovely view of the garden. We were made to feel right at home by the Louise and Struan who provided us with helpful information regarding places to eat for an evening meal and also regarding the local walks. A nice touch was the complimentary cafetiere of coffee we received after a hard days walking. Unfortunately we did not see the red squirrels during our stay which provides us with another good reason for paying a return visit, which we will surely do

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello DACStaffordshire. Thanks for the kind review. Delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Bad luck with the red squirrels! As you say, you will need to make a return visit. Thanks again, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
254
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (9 to 12 October) in a lovely, clean spacious room. The setting is perfect - an easy walk to all amenities, but very quiet and an absolutely beautiful garden. We were lucky enough to see red squirrels at breakfast time on the second day and that was a real highlight. Louise and Struan are friendly and helpful without being obtrusive and there were lots of added touches at no extra cost - having a cafetiere of coffee brought out to us in the garden was much appreciated. We will certainly return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Gill. Thanks very much for the great review and great to hear you will be returning to Torrdarach. See you next time.....regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. Struan was helpful with information and Louise even dried our clothes after a walk which turned out a bit rainy! Our room upstairs was spacious and comfortable with an amazing view. We also had a great local pub at the end of the street. Breakfast also amazing with whisky porridge on the menu, a great local touch. We stayed in a few B&B's in Scotland and this was the best of them. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger_Ninja_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Ginger_Ninja_888. Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay, Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Maybe we will see you again in Pitlochry sometime. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I can add little to the reviews you read about Torrdarach House and its owners Louise and Struan. The have been hoteliers for many years (3 in this location) and know their business. Since we have been in Scotland for 2 weeks and stayed in several inns and b&b, here is a list of the things that were the BEST ON CLASS at Torrdarach. Welcoming cheerfulness on arrival; beautiful house; best smoked salmon and scrambled eggs (using hot smoked salmon in a good quantity balance with the eggs); wonderful shower in very new bathroom; comfortable bed; garden view. What was average, but still desirable included: size of the room (a bit cramped if you stay a few days); location (you can walk to many restaurants and attractions but it is a steep walk back). We considered the cost very reasonable. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Compuvideo. Thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. I love the look of your home town by the way. We will have to make a visit one day. Thanks again, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

What a shame my husband and I only spent one night in Pitlochry en route from Northumberland to Loch Ness. Torrdarach House was absolutely fantastic. Both Struan and Louise were very generous with their time, ensuring we were comfortable on check-in and giving us helpful tips on where to go in town, even making an evening dinner reservation for us at a recommended restaurant (wonderful). Our room was cosy and comfortable - being enveloped in piles of soft bedding while listening to the pitter patter of rain on the window pane was just magic. The bathroom was clean and modern, the room had all the mod cons and there was even a DVD movie library available to choose from. Torrdarach House does luxury so well. And breakfast in the morning? It was a revelation. The food was wonderful enough but the location was just priceless. The breakfast room overlooks a mature garden and multiple bird feeders in the trees ensure a steady stream of birds and even a treasured sighting of a red squirrel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA_LCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello WA_LCD. Well that's a great review! Thanks very much indeed. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Scotland. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely small inn. The owners went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and were very helpful in planning activities and suggesting dining options. The room was immaculately clean and warm. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept on during our holiday. Breakfast was a highlight, with freshly made delicious choice of food served in a room with beautiful views of the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Sandrichie. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Torrdarach. Thanks very much for the kind review. Regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have much enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Torrdarach House in Pitlochry & especially the great service Louise & Struan provided to us in a warm & friendly atmosphere. They do run a 5 star B&B with excellent large clean rooms & great views over the village & beyond. Nothing was a bother, even when my wife had the flu & needed to rest up. The best local dining is within easy walking distance. We plan to re-visit them & the local area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi Denis. Thanks for writing a great review of your stay. I hope your wife is feeling better and that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in Scotland. Sounds like we might see you again on a return visit from Australia. Kind regards, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Property: Torrdarach House
Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 40 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing