We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place..”
Review of Torrdarach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Torrdarach House
Ranked #14 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A magical place..”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I've been fortunate enough to have stayed in locations across Scotland but I have to say without doubt Torrdarach House is the best B&B I've come across for comfort, service and value for money.
I made an date error with the booking but this was not a problem, we were given a beautiful room and hosts Graeme and Susanne made us feel welcome. In addition the location for breakfast is quite stunning.
I would highly recommend the Torrdarach House.

Room Tip: We saw two of Torrdarach's 7 room, both were equally impressive so I would expect all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hyndlandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi hyndlandman,

Thank you for your wonderful review. The date issue did throw us both a little but I am pleased that it turned out OK. It was great meeting you both, keep up with the music!
thanks again

Graeme & Susanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
266
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent a wonderful long weekend at the Torrdarach House B& B in Pitlochry. The recently new owners welcomed us with open arms and we immediately felt at home, a real 'family' atmosphere!

The location was ideal for exploring both Pitlochry town and the surrounding forest and nature trails, set on a hill just off the Main Street within 5 minutes walk of a variety of restaurants and bars serving food. Our room looked onto the gorgeous garden, with gorgeous tall trees giving the impression of being in a secluded forest!

Breakfast delicious and very satisfying; buffet of fruits, cereals, and croissants followed by a choice of home cooked goodies such as full Scottish breakfast, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, porridge etc.

Rooms absolutely gorgeous - our room had been recently renovated with brand new bathroom suite and very stylish decor taste. Tea and coffee, tv and DVD player provided. Dining room for us was the highlight as it overlooks the gardens and being slightly elevated gives a kind of treehouse feel, looking down over the grounds with excellent views of all the wild squirrels coming to feast on the nut boxes.

All in all a terrific weekend! Thank you both so much for a great stay!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme F, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi A H,

Thank you for your kind comments, it was a real pleasure meeting you both.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. We are also happy that the squirrels kept you entertained at breakfast. They really are lovely creatures!
Thanks again, see you soon,
Graeme & Susanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

It is remiss of me not to have written this review earlier. Out of 5 places we stayed at during a 3 week holiday to the UK with my family in July of this year, Torrdarach House was without question the finest lodging we experienced.

This is a B&B run with detailed care and enthusiasm. Absolutely nothing to fault. Breakfast was superb, the rooms were clean and modern (yes, modern) and I think we will go back just to see Struan and Louise again as they were so welcoming (hope the boys get lots of Lego for Christmas!).

Best accommodation choice in Pitlochry and the best we encountered in Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerobajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have not been to Scotland for 5 years and we are impressed with overall 'upgrade' the country experienced. It has become cleaner, more modern, more comfortable. Torrdarach House is a perfect example of the 'new type of Scotland accommodation'. Combining tradition with modern design in a way you find in best BBC series, it gives impression of both solidity and comfort, history and 21st century view on high grade accommodation. Recent renovation brought everything to high level, while retained the character of the house and its integration with the nature and the town. The owners are real 'hospitality professionals', with everything, from the first welcome to the restaurant advise and the evening dram, just perfect.

Room Tip: All are good. If you have heavy luggage, select a room at the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi IIya1967. Thanks for the great review. Delighted you liked the style of Torrdarach House and enjoyed your stay. I hope your trip home went well. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

So glad we picked this B&B for our one night in Pitlochry, wish we were able to stay longer. The house and surrounding gardens are lovely, even with the fog and drizzling rain. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and the view was awesome. Great breakfast, probably the best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Louise and Struan made us feel at home, and since we didn't have a car Struan gave us a lift down to the bus stop.
Would definitely recommend Torrdarach House.

Helen & Siobhan Beeton

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Siobhan. Good to hear from you and great hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you managed to get those big bags all the way home! Thanks for the kind review, Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

It is difficult to add much to the many wonderful reviews of this place but they are all very well deserved. My husband and I had a lovely weekend here, the hosts were very warm and friendly. We stayed in room 3 which was small but very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was lovely and we saw red squirrels both mornings that we were there. The house is in a great quiet location away from the high street but only a short walk from the shops and restaurants. This is absolutely the best b+b we have ever stayed in and we would not look for anywhere else when we come back to Pitlochry.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Gemma. Thanks for the great review of your stay at Torrdarach. Red squirrels on both mornings.....now that's more like it! Delighted you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early October on our way to the far north of Scotland. Our room was furnished to a very high standard with a lovely en-suite facility and a lovely view of the garden. We were made to feel right at home by the Louise and Struan who provided us with helpful information regarding places to eat for an evening meal and also regarding the local walks. A nice touch was the complimentary cafetiere of coffee we received after a hard days walking. Unfortunately we did not see the red squirrels during our stay which provides us with another good reason for paying a return visit, which we will surely do

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLoth41, Owner at Torrdarach House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello DACStaffordshire. Thanks for the kind review. Delighted you enjoyed yourselves. Bad luck with the red squirrels! As you say, you will need to make a return visit. Thanks again, Struan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrdarach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrdarach House

Property: Torrdarach House
Address: Golf Course Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrdarach House is our stunning, four star GOLD, contemporary bed and breakfast in Pitlochry. Quiet woodland garden setting close to Pitlochry town centre. Our guest lounge with open fire overlooks the garden and has views beyond to the Tummel Valley. Breakfast is served in the brand new south facing dining room also overlooking the garden where you can observe the resident Red Squirrels. Local Cairngorm Brewery beers, over 30 whiskies and Austrian wines by the bottle or glass can be served to guests in the lounge or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Torrdarach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrdarach House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing