We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay just south of the Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigroyston House and Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigroyston House and Lodge
Ranked #17 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay just south of the Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is one the best places we have ever stayed. Wonderful people in a great location in a great small town. Our room was perfect, the breakfast (with a beautiful view) was great and it was all within a very brief walk of everything in town. I would recommend this to anyone staying in the area. Quiet, beautiful and a terrific, I guess my wife would say "charming".

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyshedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    43
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
134
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was the best B&B on our two week trip in Scotland. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and also had a canopy. The location was excellent and a path and stairs led down to the city center.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and were on our way to the Isle of Skye when we got to Pitlochry. We decided on the spur of the moment to spend the night in Pitlochry and continue to Skye the next day. We went to the Scottish Tourist office in Pitlochry, and the lady there helped us find a room at Craigroyston House. Greta, the host, was very gracious and accommodating. We wanted to get on the road before breakfast was served the next day, so she put a continental breakfast in our room while we went out walking. Our room was nicely decorated, very clean, and very modern. Greta also recommended a lovely restaurant (The Fern Garden) for dinner, and we had a nice meal there. We had a restful night at Craigroyston house so we were able to finish our drive to Skye in fine form.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, B.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

A beautiful old home one block away from downtown Pitlochry. Bedroom was clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast was made to order with a side table of cold cereal and fruit. Our host, Douglas, was very friendly and helpful. He recommended a very old pub (the Moulin) for dinner and it turned out to be a highlight for atmosphere and food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed just one night, sorry it couldn't be longer, beautiful room with a nice view and a very spacious shower room, very comfortable and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic and served with a smile! We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatapex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here our first night in Scotland. The 4 poster bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the food was very good. Great location for walking into town. I recommend the whiskey walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billvaubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This beautiful guest house is perfect for anyone planning a trip to Pitlochry. Only a few minutes walk to all the local pubs and restaurants and set in a beautifully kept garden. My boyfriend and I have stayed here a few times, we have been in a different room each time and all are immaculate; a perfect balance between old fashioned and modern decor with all the amenities you could wish for. The breakfast in the morning was superb, just what was needed after a long night in The Old Mill and McKay's! Our hosts, Douglas and Greta, were warm and inviting and add a certain Scottish charm to their wonderful accommodation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinn_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigroyston House and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigroyston House and Lodge

Property: Craigroyston House and Lodge
Address: 2 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigroyston House and Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Craigroyston House and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigroyston House And Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing