We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont miss the chance to try this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just back from a three night stay at the "Claymore Hotel" in Pitlochry. We have stayed in the Claymore three times now and it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Graham and Di are excellent hosts and are always friendly and welcoming. Our room was excellent with all the facilities you could need. Hotel has a great location (5 minute walk to the town) and lovely gardens. Really good meal in the Old Smiddy and an even better one in Fern Cottage - dont miss this experience. We really like Pitlochry for a short break - cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: room 1 has just been fully refubished - excellent decor - lovely new shower room - roof velux window...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iain j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for The Claymore Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

18/20 May 2012.
Booked on line using the hotel’s own web site. As we had never stayed in Pitlochry before, it was a bit of a leap of faith, one which I am glad to say, paid off handsomely.
Located on the edge of the town, and only minutes away from Loch Faskally with its nature trails and the town with its amenities, the hotel is ideally suited for peace, quiet but with only a few minutes stroll to the nearby restaurants.
Upon our arrival we met Graeme the owner (with one of his dogs- well behaved pooches welcome). Right from the start we received a warm and genuinely friendly welcome. Graeme showed us our room, a large bright and airy room, overlooking the manicured lawns to the front. The room was well equipped and amongst other essentials, it contained a beautiful four poster bed, TV/DVD combo with free view, tea and coffee facilities.
The view from the bay window extended beyond the road and took in the stunning green dappled hills beyond. What a view. (The following day a steam locomotive travelled through the town and the puffs of smoke just added to the magical vista).
During our stay, we were amazed as to quietness of the hotel. Having spent the first night in quiet tranquil bliss, we honestly thought that we were the only guests. Not so. The following morning we made our way into the breakfast room and were surprised to see many other couples there. There was a mixture of American, German, Dutch and Italians all of whom were as relaxed and refreshed as we were.
I have often heard about ‘Scottish hospitality’, now, at last I can honestly say I have enjoyed it.
Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and speak with Graeme.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_SouthLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Claymore for three nights over the Etape Caledonia (a cycle event) weekend, and we really enjoyed our stay. We had a very spacious room with everything we needed and a great view over the lovely garden. Graeme and Diane were very friendly and welcoming, and helped us with anything we needed. The breakfasts are great too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

After reading other reviews we recently spent a long weekend here. We had a deluxe room on the ground floor Faultless! Fantastic breakfast Hosts have got it just right Leaving you in peace to relax but always there to advise on places to visit,restaurants etc Try the Strathgarry for a meal excellant value This is the place to stay if your visiting Pitlochry Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was our second visit to the Killiecrankie apartment at Claymore in Pitlochry. We had another excellent extended break, bagging several munros, playing golf and practising ice climbing at Kinlochleven. Good access to wifi and always great to come back to our warm, well-appointed apartment. Very well located in Pitlochry, everything is within easy walking. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkmunro133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Claymore has been our first choice whenever in the Pitlochry area since 2001. Since our first visit, the Claymore just keeps getting better. Our last 2 night stay was the best yet!!
Owners Diane and Graham really make you feel welcome. The staff are all very friendly. The location is great (2 minutes walk from the centre). The views are excellent. The standard of accommodation is fantastic, the rooms are extemely well decorated, very comfortable and well appointed, the four poster suites provide great space. There is also ample off street parking.
There is outdoor seating areas at the front of the property enjoying the sensational views and also the Claymores own garden which is extremely well maintained.
The breakfast selection is great. You get breakfast selection sheet in your room each day to drop off at reception for the next morning. Start of with cereal or porridge (choice of cream, honey or whiskey to top)Then on to kippers, salmon, continental or full cooked. Plus the usual tea/coffee, fruit juice and toast. Quality is excellent. You can also use the facilities in the conservatory for eating take aways/socialising.
We would absolutely recommend the Claymore for anyone planning a visit to Pitlochry and will certainly be staying there again ourselves.

Room Tip: Any of the four poster suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Claymore. My father was given an upgraded room as he could not manage the stairs. He was bowled over as we were, he has never stayed in a room like it. We all had a fantastic stay. The fact we could have our dog with us, and nothing was to much trouble for Graham and Diane. So friendly and we were made to feel at home. Breakfast was very good. What more can I say, but we would go back any opportunity we can and hopefully will.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosiHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,835 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,994 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#4 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £88 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing