We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Unable to get booked in any of hotels we normaly stay in so tried the ** CLAYMORE ** wise decision Diane and Graeme our hosts were spot on even taxied us to the golf club for a nights entertainment when we could not secure the services of a local taxi , great stuff, excellent breakfast, black pudding not to be missed, even asked how we wanted the bacon cooked and how many eggs first calss. The room was perfect, all the staff friendly, really helpful when asked about entertainment locally, have recommended to a friend who is now going to book if available, We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights n then moved into self catering apartment. From start to finish everything was perfect. The breakfasts were really enjoyable n any leftovers r dog polished off. Our hosts Diane n Graeme couldn't do enough for us. Graeme even picked me up from the pub when my car wouldnt start. Nothing was too much trouble n i can highly recommend both the hotel n apartments

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mav38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This year we stayed in the hotel the third time. It´s always a warm welcome and great time to stay in the hotel. Scottish hospitality at it´s best. And the porridge with Whisky - a great start in the day!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We only stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in a self-catering apartment but wished we had stayed longer. The apartment was just perfect. The owners couldn't have been nicer, very accommodating, really nice people. Would reccomend a stay here anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The Claymore deserves the plaudits on this website - we could not have hoped for a more welcoming, friendly, relaxed place for a weekend stay. The staff were hospitable and genuinely interested in making their guests' stay as pleasant as possible, without ever being intrusive. From checking in (to find that my request for a quiet room had been noted and we'd been given the quietest room in an already very peaceful hotel) ,to the host making coffee for my workaholic husband first thing in the morning, to the quite outstanding breakfasts, this was a great experience from start to finish. I can't thank the hotel for looking after us so very well. Very happy to recommend and will be most happy to go back.

Room Tip: Room 7 is blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opera2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here for a quiet getaway and were very happy with our choice. A beautiful room overlooking well kept gardens in a stunning hotel. The breakfast was extremely generous and the manager had excellent people skills, nothing was too much trouble for him.

We highly recommend the Claymore Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoneylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We usually stay in 4/5* hotels like Sheratons and Hiltons, so the Claymore was a bit of a departure for us - and we certainly were not disappointed!

The location of the Claymore is ideal, just a few minutes walk to all of the amenities that Pitlochry has to offer, with easy access to the main roads if you want to venture away from the town.

We arrived mid morning, and received a very warm welcome from Graham. Because we were so early, our room wasn't ready which wasn't an issue and there was no problem with leaving our bags. Graham took some time to recommend a few restuarants and gave us a brief overview of the town.

When we returned a few hours later we were shown to our room (standard double) and our bags were ready and waiting for us. The room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Although we were at the back of the hotel, we still had a pleasant view and a couple of chairs to relax in. We were delighted with the room and really couldn't have asked for more!

Breakfast was a pleasant affair served in the conservatory with lovely views. With good service, great quality food and ample choice - this is a great start to the day. When breakfast isn't being served the conservatory is available if you want to enjoy a drink or bring back your own food, plates and cutlery are also available.

The gardens at the front of the hotel are lovely, with beautiful views and some chairs and tables - we were lucky to have some nice weather so took our own drinks outside to relax for a while.

We briefly met Diane when we checked-out and like the welcome from Graham, Diane was extremely friendly.

All in all, the Claymore offers superb value for money - friendly owners, clean, spacious and well appointed rooms with a great breakfast. A real find, and with it only being an hour and a half away from us, we will certainly be back for a de-stress!!

Thanks Graham and Diane!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £83 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing