We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great location . The hosts were very welcoming. Room 8 was a good size, the bed was very comfortable. Had a nice view from our room. Breakfast was lovely. A short stroll to shops & retaurants. Has very nice apartments to rear of guest house, which are beautiful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smilerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at claymore apartments in January, we had the large ground floor one that allowed dogs, it was beautiful the decor was great and everything was there that you needed.
It was such a pitty that we could here everything going on in the upstairs apartment, chairs being pulled out walking room from room.
It might help if upstairs was carpeted.

Walks in pitlochry were fab:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barnbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2015

Hi there Just getting round to acknowledging trip reviews and wanted to thankyou for taking the time to do one. I guess with apartment living you are always going to hear noise from round about, don't think it probably helped that you had the building to yourself for most of the stay and then when having someone above for a couple of nights would of been annoying. Have since
taken steps to put felt on the surface of all furniture. Do hope it wont put you off coming to visit
us again in the future. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stopped here over new year with family who had already booked this hotel. A very warm welcome from Graeme who was always avaiable for advice on the local area. A very nice room & a first class breakfast. Very impressed overall, & will visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Arrived at the small family hotel which was very central to the town & was pleasantly greeted by the owners daughter who gave us a map of the local area & gave us Advice on what restaurants & pubs were considered the best. Hotel was warm & cosy & our room which was a superior double was spacious & comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, fresh & warm. The owners, Graeme & Diane were very friendly & chatty. The hotel stay made our weekend.

Room Tip: Our Superior double was an extra large bed in a spacious en-suite room which included tea making fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela38186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stay in pitlochry 2 or 3 times a year and have stayed in several hotels , b&bs and apartments with our 2 dogs including the claymore itself which is one of the best but our stay in the apartments (killicrankie) was far and away the nicest ,most comfortable and relaxing holiday we've ever had . The apartments are done to a very high standard and have very modern kitchens , large tvs , huge shower and the most comfortable bed i've ever slept in . Close to the town centre and all amenities and with great walks for the dogs on your doorstep this is the perfect place to stay .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Here is a beautiful property set in well manicured grounds, a perfect delight to the eye when you approach the hotel. Nothing changes when you enter, a warm welcome from the owner and shown to a ultra comfortable room with a huge bed, tasteful furniture, a roomy wash space with a lovely enclosed shower and plenty of luxurient towels to dry off with.
Breakfast was delightful with a decent selection and plenty of it.
I got the impression that nothing was too much trouble for the folks who run this place and I would recommend it highly to anyone who is looking for a break away in this delightful small town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthseaRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Another great stay at The Claymore (we are so happy we have found this jewel), making a much needed long weekend so relaxing. The immaculate accommodation, fantastic breakfast and lovely friendly helpful service made the weekend a Real Treat.

Booking directly on your website really made the arrangements nice and simple as usual.

Congratulations on Winning the 2012 award for Excellence and for your fabulous garden - both awards are well deserved.

Thanks again Diane and Graeme for making us so welcome and we hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 17 in Pitlochry
722 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 66 in Pitlochry
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £87 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing