We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #1 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed in the Kiliekrankie apartment last weekend. Beautiful clean modern apartment with everything needed for a relaxing break. Lovely quiet area and in walking distance of everything. The owner was very friendly and informative of walks and places to eat nearby. We have stayed in several 4/5 star places in Scotland and this has to be one of the best self catering accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
446
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is our 2nd time at these apartments. First time we stayed in the Killiecrankie and the most recent in the Faskally apartment. We have a 19 month old toddler. On both of our visits we have found the owners very friendly and helpful - nothing is a problem for them. The apartments are well equiped, modern, tastefully decorated, spotless and very comfortable. The owners have thought very hard into the small detail of these self catering apartments. Everything you need is here, even ice made up in the freezer for a cheeky wee drink!! With having a toddler we found the washing machine and tumble drier very useful!! The apartments are ideally located just 2 minutes walk away from the centre and local amenties. Will have to say the bed is the most comfortable bed we have slept in. This is now going to be an annual trip for us and would recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Pitlochry.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have just returned home today from a weekend in the Kiliekrankie apartment. This was an excellent apartment,very clean, comfortable and furbished to a very high standard. It is in walking distance of all amenities. I would highly recommend this apartment to couples looking for a quiet comfortable place to stay in Pitlochry. Graeme was very friendly and offered good advice on the local area

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the claymore.
The room we were given was spotless and view was beautiful. We chose this bed and breakfast as they allowed pets and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival by Graham, as well as throughout our stay.
The breakfast was perfect and helped cure the hangovers this morning.
Its in a great location, just mintutes from the town and a lovely walk over the dam. We would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imoathenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here with our dog for 3 nights and enjoyed everything about the apartment and Pitlochry itself. The apartments are a short walk from the train station and ideally located to all the local amenities. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the apartment itself was exceptionally good. We stayed in the Faskally apartment where we had everything we needed; TV, Wi-Fi, microwave, oven, etc. The apartment was clean, comfortable, full of space and was well heated. We would definitely return to Pitlochry again and would certainly choose to return to Claymore again.

Room Tip: If travelling with dogs, Faskally is a very good apartment to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Great location . The hosts were very welcoming. Room 8 was a good size, the bed was very comfortable. Had a nice view from our room. Breakfast was lovely. A short stroll to shops & retaurants. Has very nice apartments to rear of guest house, which are beautiful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at claymore apartments in January, we had the large ground floor one that allowed dogs, it was beautiful the decor was great and everything was there that you needed.
It was such a pitty that we could here everything going on in the upstairs apartment, chairs being pulled out walking room from room.
It might help if upstairs was carpeted.

Walks in pitlochry were fab:)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 21 February 2015
Hi there Just getting round to acknowledging trip reviews and wanted to thankyou for taking the time to do one. I guess with apartment living you are always going to hear noise from round about, don't think it probably helped that you had the building to yourself for most of the stay and then when having someone above for a couple of nights would of been annoying. Have since
taken steps to put felt on the surface of all furniture. Do hope it wont put you off coming to visit
us again in the future. All the best Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
2.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Property: The Claymore Guest House
Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing