We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claymore Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Another relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed last year and decided to treat my parents to a couple of nights at the Claymore for their wedding anniversary.

Once again Graham and Diane were the perfect hosts and we had a great stay. We booked the four poster suites on the second floor with super views. The rooms are massive and have plenty space to sit at the window and enjoy the view. There are also tables and chairs outside to enjoy the gardens.

Breakfast was lovely with everything freshly prepared and of a great quality. Graham and Diane put a bottle of fizz in mum and dad's room to help with the celebrations - this was a lovely touch - thank you guys!!

About a two minute walk takes you to the centre of Pitlochry and the Dam and salmon leap are about a 10-15 minute walk away.

There isn't really much to add, clean, comfortable, great food and a warm welcome. Fantastic value for money and a stay here is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
415
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just done 2 weeks touring London and Scotland - this was the best hotel we stayed in out of them all - infact the best in a very long time! I will do a 4 in the bed commentry (useful only if yuo have seen the programme)!.
Hosts - perfect! Excellent customer service by all the staff which has in our experience been lacking. The owners are pleasant, interested, knowledgable, care about your stay, pleasure and enjoyment.
Cleanliness - the room we had was amazing lovely and big with a 4 poster bed and settee. It was nicely presented and spotlessly clean. The only tea and coffee making facility that actually provides enough milk for more than 2 drinks too! The rest of the hotel was also spotlessly clean.
Breakfast - superb choice cooked to order and no extra for salmon or kippers etc. Porridge with whiskey is also worth trying - as a non whiskey drinker it was quite nice. Beautifully cooked, presented and very tasty also the best breakfast this fortnight.
Location - perfect! You are on the Main Street and within easy walking distance of the main attractions i.e. festival theatre, the dams and fish ladder. There are plenty of places to eat and lots of lovely little shops if you get time!
Overall - we wish we had stayed longer in Pitlochery and less time in Edinburgh, glad we hired a car as there is sooooo much to see around here all assisted by the owner, We will be returning as many others that have visited the hotel - which also has self catering facilities too.

Chuffed to bits with this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with a beautiful room overlooking the garden and across the loch to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The owners and staff here are the most friendly folks. We moved here because we had to reschedule and our previous hotel in Pitlochry didn't have any vacancies. The Claymore only had one and we were happy to switch over. As it turned out, our stay at the Claymore was much more pleasant. The owners (Graeme and Di) were most pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were spacious and extra clean. The included breakfast was cooked to order and was of excellent quality. Book ahead for this wonderful experience. It is just half a block from town and several restaurants. Parking is free.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 4 or 8 or 9 on the ground floor if they are available for extra extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay here again. First rate will definitely be staying again. The weather was quite good and the apartment was excellent and lovely and clean. Pitlochry area is lovely with lots of great walks and the theatre is a must. Our dog Poppy is so happy here and she enjoyed her biscuit that was left for her. Diane and Graham are so welcoming.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caroliam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Pitlochry at The Claymore. First impression when turning into the drive was"Wow", beautiful grounds and building, obviously looked after with love.
When we went in Diane greeted us and told us the room we had booked was unavailable but she had upgraded us. We had a huge room with a fantastic bed, two sitting areas, a dressing area and a bathroom to die for. The shower was amazing. There was also a small fridge in the room which was really great.
Both Graeme and Diane were very kind and helpful, very knowledgable about where to eat and things to see in the area.
The lovely glassed in sunroom made a wonderful dining room for breakfast. It was so beautifully decorated. And then came the breakfast. For me it was the first time in 2 weeks that my eggs were cooked the way I like them. Everything was perfect.
I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone I know travelling in the area

Room Tip: We were in room 9 just off the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked this hotel last minute as part of a touring break in Yorkshire and Scotland and what a result - this place is exceptional! I wanted B&B because we were only staying 2 nights and opted for a ground floor apartment (one of 4 purpose built apartments each accommodating 2 people - 2 ground, 2 first floor - in a single building just behind the main house) which are used as overflow for the hotel if not booked out as self catering accommodation. This proved to be a very good choice! Our apartment, Killiecrankie, was spacious, spotless, well equipped, modern but not characterless and very comfortable. There is a large open plan living/dining/kitchen which overlooks a great view and has a leather sofa, large coffee table, large flat screen TV with DVD player, IPOD dock, dining table for up to 4 people, large fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher plus all the necessary kitchen equipment (including clean/new chopping board, washing up brush and dishcloth - small details that show a high level of hygiene is observed). The shower room is large and fully tiled with double size shower tray, power shower and heated towel rail and is spotless and a pleasure to use. The bedroom is at the back of the apartment and, whilst it is compact and has no great view, it is beautifully appointed. It has twin beds or a super king size bed as requested (very comfortable) with good quality pillows and bedding, a 2nd TV, a good size dressing table and mirror, side tables and lamps and huge mirrored wardrobes incorporating a chest of drawers. We do not travel light and usually moan about the lack of wardrobe space and hangers in hotels - no such gripes here! In case you should need more storage space for luggage or outdoor gear etc, there is also plenty of space in the walk in cupboard in the hall which houses the vacuum cleaner, iron & ironing board and cleaning stuff. Outside the dedicated parking space is about 10 yards from the apartment door so loading/unloading is a doddle and there's no looking for a parking space when you come back after a hard day's enjoying yourself! There is a small garden right next to the apartments (in addition to the large and very beautiful garden at the front of the hotel) and garden furniture is provided for guests' use. The Claymore is dog friendly and the resident dogs Manny and Dino are lovely but they'll eat you out of dog treats given the chance - Manny was particularly fond of my Airedale's charcoal biscuits! The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the centre of Pitlochry so is central but quiet and Pitlochry offers plenty of choice for dinner (the hotel does not serve dinner). The superb breakfasts are served in the sunny breakfast room in the main house overlooking the beautiful garden and the great view. There is a great choice and the quality of the food, the cooking and the service is excellent. The hosts Dianne and Graeme are friendly, most welcoming and very informative and are truly a credit to the Scottish tourism industry. As you might have gathered from the length if this review, we were very impressed with this place and asked to be shown an example of a room in the main house (as there may be more of us next time). We were cheerfully shown several rooms which, whilst all different, were all spacious, comfortable and of the same high standard that is demonstrated in the apartments.
If you are looking for hotel or self catering accommodation in this area, you will not be disappointed with the Claymore!
Finally, many thanks for a short but fabulous stay and we hope to visit again!

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front of the hotel are probably the largest and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

You know when you turn up at a b & b or hotel and all looks great until you sit on the bed.... oh no plank!! well not here. Without doubt the most comfortable bed we have every slept on (except our own of course). Not forgetting our fantastic hosts, Diane and Greame. Great staff and yummy breakfast. Didn't really want to let the secret out, as we may not be able to get a room next year! oh... and thanks Di for rescuing my 'pink' dressing gown which I left behind.
Carol and Ray George

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Property: The Claymore Guest House
Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing