We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless Weekend - Ally and Kim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Husband and I stayed at The Claymore on Saturday 8th March for my husbands birthday.

From the moment of arrival until we left on Sunday the attention to detail was perfect. The deluxe double room was perfect and huge! The bed so comfortable that I even asked for details so we can purchase the same mattress at home.

Di and Graeme recommended the Fern Cottage for our evening meal and we took their advise and we were not disappointed. The food was heavenly.

Both Di and Greame were excellent hosts at breakfast which again was perfect. The nice touch was the choccies they left in the room for hubby for his birthday...... really lovely.

Cant wait to go back and having tried a few other places in Pitlochry in the past, The Claymore is the jewel we shall visit again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello there
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write about your visit to the Claymore, its much
appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you both back again in the future.
All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having happily stayed in The Claymore B & B many times, we decided on our recent five night visit to have a change and try the Ben Vrackie self catering apartment. This is one of the two upstairs apartments. The first experience on entering the accommodation was the welcome warmth (on a very chilly February night). The luxurious fixtures and fittings in all the rooms together with the cleanliness throughout does nothing but impress. Worthy of particular note for future would be visitors is the state of the art bathroom with brilliant shower, the bed in the double bedroom is simply massive and very comfortable. The kitchen is equipped with every appliance and utensil you could wish for. Not wishing to do a great deal of cooking, and by arrangement with the Owners Di and Graeme, we opted to take breakfast in the conservatory in the main building which set us up for the day. For independance, tranqulity and luxury at affordable rates The Claymore appartments are highly recommended.

Room Tip: The four appartments are in one building, however we did not hear any noise from any other occupants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed with friends for an overnight in February. Check in was easy and our room was on the ground floor. The room we had was a lovely spacious room and spotlessly clean. My friends room was upstairs and was also lovely. We followed a recommendation from the owner and went to Fern Cottage for dinner and it was fabulous. After a lovely evening out in Pitlochry we returned to a warm cosy room with an extremely comfortable bed. After a great nights sleep we had a nice breakfast in the conservatory, with good quality produce and great service.
Only thing I felt a bit uncomfortable when the owner said in front of another guest as we were putting our luggage out in the car that he hadn't received payment and would he charge it to my card. I had in fact paid in cash prior to that. I would stay again next time I visit Pitlochry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi Angela T, thankyou for taking the time to write your review on the Claymore, so glad
you were happy with your stay. Graeme sends his apologies for the mix at check out. Remember
to book direct for best value.. Hope to see you in the future. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in a four poster room very spacious and beautifully furnished everything you need was in the room like iron,hairdryer,shampoo,conditioner,shower gel etc.
Very friendly they make you feel so welcome and the choice for breakfast is outstanding. We would
Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be back here.

Room Tip: You would not be disappointed with any room you got allocated (I was shown around other rooms) Dogs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mary2k164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi there, thankyou so much for your fab review of the Claymore, so pleased to read it.
Come back and visit us again. Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Claymore hotel is set in an ideal location just a few minutes walk from the town centre. My husband and I stayed in one of the four poster bedrooms and it was beautiful. Fantastic view from our window across the front lawn and onto the hills and a very spacious room with a sofa to relax on. The bed was incredibly comfy and we had a great nights sleep. The breakfast is the best iv ever had in a guest house and we have had our fair share of bed and breakfasts. The owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome. I certainly got the impression nothing was too much hassel. I would definitely recommend this guest house for those that want to be centrally located to pitlochry town centre, and for those that enjoy good quality, locally sourced food.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jacandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write us such a lovely review of your stay at the Claymore.
Would love to welcome you back one day. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we spent another weekend in the apartments at the claymore hotel. these apartments are fantastic, including well equipped kitchen with top of the range appliances, dishwasher, and washing machine, excellent furnishings, flat screen tvs in lounge and bedroom and an absolutely giant shower in bathroom. we had breakfast in the hotel which is delicious and nothing is too much trouble. the owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible and they always succeed. we have stayed in most hotels in pitlochry, but the claymore is by far the best, we will be back in october or november for another relaxing stay.

R & B Carroll from Glenrothes

Room Tip: we have stayed in the main hotel and the apartments, and all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skullbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hi there, thanks so much for visiting us again and taking the time to write such a fab review we
are delighted. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We are regulars at the Claymore and maybe a bit bias but the other reviews reflect why the Claymore is popular and highly rated. You just cant fault this gem of a location and the owners are lovely too and are more than welcoming to all.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear CraigD thanks so much taking the time to comment on the Claymore. Always look forward to seeing you folks and good luck with the wedding plans. Hope to see you again soon.
All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £86 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing