We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little find with no prior booking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Obviously in high season, it would be well to book in advance. This is an extremely well appointed and comfortable guest house. We had a room on the ground floor which was ideal for getting all luggage trailed in and sorted for rest of trip. It had also been recently renovated and everything was spanking new with great colour schemes. It is family owned and we were met with a wonderful welcome from Diane. Dinner is not served in the evening but there are loads of restaurants to chose from 2 mins walk into the town of Pitlochry. Hubby Graham was our waiter at breakfast and the scrambled egg and smoked salmon went down a treat. For 40 pounds per person bed and breakfast I would highly recommend this establishment without hesitation.

Room Tip: For me personally the ground floor was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Have just arrived back home having stayed, yet again, at the Claymore. It really is nice. It's one of those very few places which really does make you feel like you're still at home instead of staying in a hotel or someone else's home. We have 'our' room - not telling which. All the rooms are really well done, we know because the owner showed us them all. Everything is done with nice simplicity. Good quality simply done. There are the stunning views. The location is really handy for those slow evening walks around the town (being situated just at the top end of the Main Street). Then there are the proprietors - Diane and Graeme, who are the most wonderful welcoming pair. They will look after you with the very best in Scottish hospitality. They will do anything to help you and make you feel welcome. Pitlochry has an abundance of places to stay, and I stayed in several over the last 20 years but all in all, the Claymore is fabulous, try it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good quality, but we always go for one at the front of the house, for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear ScottB
Loved your review of yet another stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you
both back to 'your room' in the future.
Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a lovely pace to stay, we were made to feel very welcome and our accommodation was brilliant, very comfortable and spacious. The location of the guest House is near to everything you would wish it to be and breakfast was lovely and in a beautiful setting. Overall would highly recommend this guest House.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albajolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi there
A big thankyou for reviewing your stay at the Claymore, cheered up my Sunday morning.
Hope to see you again. Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were driving south from John o'Groats to Cardiff and decided to break the journey at Pitlochry. We found The Claymore on Trip Advisor and called them direct. Diane could not have been more kind and helpful. We were given room 4 (I think?) on the ground floor with a fine view of the garden. It was a large bedroom with an excellent en suite. The bed was so big I lost my wife in it-! Breakfast the next day was memorable - porridge with whisky and good quality kippers for me. This was altogether a first class place to stay and I highly recommend the Claymore.

Room Tip: Room 4 was on the ground floor - no steps - large - garden view - ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Penarthguy
Delighted to see your review of your stay with us, and appreciate the great comments.
Would love to have you come visit us again hopefully for longer next time. Best regards
Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booked the Claymore for two nights and wished it could have been longer. Quiet and peaceful location but near enough to the Main Street. Excellent hosts. Very friendly and helpful. Fastastic room with great garden views. Great breakfast choices. Thanks Graeme for recommending the places to eat. Again great choices.

Many thanks

Joe and Cathy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear CathyM
Thankyou so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Claymore.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully can welcome you back again
in the future. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First class hotel. Diane and Graeme are wonderful hosts. Room was beautiful, views and garden stunning. I was going to book through a website but decided to call the hotel direct. I spoke to Graeme and glad I did. He was so friendly and welcoming. On arrival Diane checked us in and couldn't have been nicer. We booked one of the four poster rooms and I can't rate it highly enough. Spotlessly clean and very spacious, bright and airy. Sitting with our glass of fizz looking out on to the view made us feel relaxed and chilled within minutes. Less than 5 minute walk to the main hub of Pitlochry. Breakfast was amazing with lots of choices and locally sourced produce. I would definitely recommend The Claymore Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area (I already have) and will definitely stay again in the future. Thankyou for your hospitality.

Room Tip: We booked room 3, one of the 4 poster rooms and it was fantastic. Stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear LornaB
Thankyou so much for the fab review. And thankyou for booking direct, not only does
it save you guys money but us too. So happy you loved the room and our breakfasts,
please come back and visit again.
Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great B&B. Really, everything was perfect:
-very nice room and comfy bed
-delicious breakfast
-great location
-nice and friendly owners
I totally recommend it. You won't be disappointed. I'm surely staying there again if I come back to Pitlochry:)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrasseSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear BrasseSwe
Thankyou so much for your kind review, it always makes our day. So glad you enjoyed
your stay and would love to welcome you back one day to the Claymore.
Best regards, Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £86 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing