We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect choice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Claymore Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #3 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect choice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

On arrival we were greeted by Graeme and Di and after a few minutes it seemed as if we had known them for ever.
The hospitality and room comforts they provided were first class along with their excellent knowledge of the area and local eating establishments.
A lovely array of breakfast delights including the whisky porridge seemed to be very popular with other guests but we were really spoilt for choice.
Take a walk down to the river and have a drink outside the little pub on the far bank along from the hydro plant and the famous salmon steps. Keep your eyes on the water and you will possibly see a salmon leap. We saw three in the short time we sat there.
All in all a great guest house in a wonderful location, the perfect choice.

Gill & Dave, Chelmsford Essex.

Room Tip: At the front of the house for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Dave8456, a big thankyou for taking the time to air your views of your stay with us here at the
Claymore. Do come back and visit again. Best regards Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
416
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife & I really enjoyed our two night stay. Excellent room, brilliant hosts and Graeme's breakfast was first class especially the porridge!
Look forward to returning, it was a real joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Try room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear PeterF, it was also a joy for us having you stay. You taking the time to write
a review is very much appreciated. Haste'ye'back Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delgany, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are on small weekend getaways regularly and therefor see a lot of B&B's. And this is without doubt in the top two (the other being in Ireland). If you are looking for a big comfy bed, great breakfast and a warm welcome this is it. Add to that the perfect location for day-tours up into the highlands, a quick dash down to Edinburgh or just a stroll through the beautiful Pitlochry and you are all set for a great holiday.
We will certainly be back .....

Room Tip: Rooms will all be quiet given the nature of the village but ours was the bay-window room out front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thorsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear ThorstenF Thankyou so much for your fab review, much appreciated. So happy
you wee delighted with your stay, and would love to have you come back in the future.
Best regards Graeme and Di
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

everything about this was first class.would highly recommend it.great service,lovely room very friendly staff.as it was my birthday i had a little card and some chocolates in my room when i arrived.much appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliemac1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi there elliemac, cheers for taking the time to give your thoughts on the Claymore, would
love to welcoming you back another time. All the best Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Claymore hotel. The owners are incredibly hospitable and friendly. Our room was top-notch, super-clean, and updated with high quality construction. The location is perfect, just 1 block away from all the shops, restaurants, and bars. I HIGHLY recommend staying here - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hockeybull22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Hockeybull22, Graeme and I were delighted to read your fab review of the Claymore
much appreciated and please come back and visit again. Best regards Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my sister last week. Staff were very friendly, rooms were amazing, Everywhere was spotless. Had fantastic choice for breakfast. Beautiful house with amazing gardens and views. Staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 922fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear 922Fiona Thankyou so much for take the time to leave your review of the Claymore.
It has a huge influence on future guests choices of places to stay, and although they reckon
80% read our reviews less than 1% of customers get round to writing one. Thanks again
and would love to have you back in the future. Best regards Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Obviously in high season, it would be well to book in advance. This is an extremely well appointed and comfortable guest house. We had a room on the ground floor which was ideal for getting all luggage trailed in and sorted for rest of trip. It had also been recently renovated and everything was spanking new with great colour schemes. It is family owned and we were met with a wonderful welcome from Diane. Dinner is not served in the evening but there are loads of restaurants to chose from 2 mins walk into the town of Pitlochry. Hubby Graham was our waiter at breakfast and the scrambled egg and smoked salmon went down a treat. For 40 pounds per person bed and breakfast I would highly recommend this establishment without hesitation.

Room Tip: For me personally the ground floor was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fair_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
Tigh Na Cloich Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Property: The Claymore Guest House
Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing