We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Back again. This is our third visit and it is as good as the first. The flat is perfect and very well appointed. Graeme and Di are so welcoming. Everything is catered for and absolutely spotless. It is a great base for touring about and just excellent for a walk into town. See you in September

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caroliam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello Caroliam88, Thankyou both so much for giving us a fab review, we also looking forward
to you returning in September, and not forgetting the lovely wee Poppy too. Take care Di and
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Myself and my partner enjoyed two nights here with our dog.the guest house was beautiful from the minute we drove up the drive.all the staff were very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away.our room was room 4 which is a dog friendly room.the room was massive and absolutely spotless.the little extras at the guest house were also superb.plenty of information in the surrounding area, where to eat including menus, where to visit, and very useful information on local walks.could not fault this guest house at all.loved every minute of it and will definately be returning soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lauramarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear lauramarieH , thankyou so much for taking the time to give us such a fab review, would
love to have you both come back and visit in the future and of course your lovely doggie, who
is amazing for her age. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were greeted with a warm welcome on arrival at the hotel. The sun was shining and the hotel looked perfect and we knew we weren't going to be disappointed. Once we had checked in Graeme suggested a walk over the dam and salmon ladder and highlighted a few nice eating places for dinner. We walked into town (literally 1 minute) and decided to follow the walk Graeme had recommended, it was so picturesque. Our room was huge, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast on both mornings was delicious with such a varied choice and the hospitality and service from all the staff was exemplary. Graeme & Di are such lovely hosts. I really can't speak highly enough of this hotel, give it a try you won't be disappointed! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Rossichick, thanks a million for your review, has got my day off to a good start.
Would love to see you both again in the future. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

On arrival we were greeted by Graeme and Di and after a few minutes it seemed as if we had known them for ever.
The hospitality and room comforts they provided were first class along with their excellent knowledge of the area and local eating establishments.
A lovely array of breakfast delights including the whisky porridge seemed to be very popular with other guests but we were really spoilt for choice.
Take a walk down to the river and have a drink outside the little pub on the far bank along from the hydro plant and the famous salmon steps. Keep your eyes on the water and you will possibly see a salmon leap. We saw three in the short time we sat there.
All in all a great guest house in a wonderful location, the perfect choice.

Gill & Dave, Chelmsford Essex.

Room Tip: At the front of the house for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Dave8456, a big thankyou for taking the time to air your views of your stay with us here at the
Claymore. Do come back and visit again. Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife & I really enjoyed our two night stay. Excellent room, brilliant hosts and Graeme's breakfast was first class especially the porridge!
Look forward to returning, it was a real joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Try room 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear PeterF, it was also a joy for us having you stay. You taking the time to write
a review is very much appreciated. Haste'ye'back Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are on small weekend getaways regularly and therefor see a lot of B&B's. And this is without doubt in the top two (the other being in Ireland). If you are looking for a big comfy bed, great breakfast and a warm welcome this is it. Add to that the perfect location for day-tours up into the highlands, a quick dash down to Edinburgh or just a stroll through the beautiful Pitlochry and you are all set for a great holiday.
We will certainly be back .....

Room Tip: Rooms will all be quiet given the nature of the village but ours was the bay-window room out front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thorsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear ThorstenF Thankyou so much for your fab review, much appreciated. So happy
you wee delighted with your stay, and would love to have you come back in the future.
Best regards Graeme and Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

everything about this was first class.would highly recommend it.great service,lovely room very friendly staff.as it was my birthday i had a little card and some chocolates in my room when i arrived.much appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliemac1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hi there elliemac, cheers for taking the time to give your thoughts on the Claymore, would
love to welcoming you back another time. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £83 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing