We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from home,”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from another stay at the Claymore Hotel in Pitlochry. It is the ideal choice for a relaxing break or a comfortable room to return to after a days fishing or walking and we all ways receive a very friendly welcome from Graeme and Diane. I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to any one visiting Pitlochry.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
DearPaulH Thankyou once again for choosing the Claymore on your fishing trip. As always
it is lovely to see you and look forward to seeing you and Tina soon. Di and Graeme xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
457
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday and we stayed in Killiecrankie apartment. We were travelling with our dog and we have to say this is the best place we have stayed in. A lot of accommodation can advertise itself as dog friendly but they aren't really. Our apartment was on the ground floor which our elderly dog appreciated! Di had said when we checked in that she could provide us with an extra rug if Clover (our dog!) was struggling to get up on the wooden floors we really appreciated this & so did Clover - it was a really thoughtful gesture. the apartment was spotlessly clean and very well equipped & furnished. We also had breakfast in the guest house on our last day & this was beautifully cooked with a good variety on the menu. Graeme & Di are very friendly hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We will be back and we have been telling our friends & family what a beautiful place to stay this is. Thank you for a wonderful holiday, Nigel, Helen & Clover

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi Helen B A huge thankyou to you guys for leaving such a fab review of your stay
at the Claymore apartments. So glad you and of course Clover enjoyed your week and
we would love you to come back and visit again. Best regards Di and Graeme and of
course woof woof from Deano and Manny x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macmerry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

just back from a lovely weekend break with friends, for my husbands 40th Birthday, beautiful, spotlessly clean hotel, the owners Graeme and Diane could not be more helpful, even leaving a little note and chocolates in our room for the birthday 'boy' lol, a really nice touch. Graeme an excellent host, fantastic choices for breakfast and food served beautifully, the young staff so nice and friendly as well, and the wee dog a joy :) i cannot recommend the Claymore highly enough, we love Pitlochry, and would definitely stay here again, xx

Room Tip: all the rooms are gorgeous, but the four poster room upstairs at the front of the hotel has the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Maggsk1 Thankyou so much for leaving us a review of our stay, and picking the Claymore
for your hubby's big birthday. It was a pleasure in having you all stay and maybe next time
you will bring your wee dog too. Saw a picture of it in the bedrooms it looks lovely, and a bit
like Manny. All the best hope to see you again Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I booked for seven nights, added three more and ended up staying for sixteen!!! That surely says it all. On arrival Graeme left his beautiful garden to welcome us and then carried our luggage upstairs to our room. Rooms were sparkling clean, comfortable and well serviced daily. Breakfast was consistently excellent - served hot and everything cooked just as we wanted -and what a choice. Graeme, Diane and their staff were always at pains to ensure that we were happy -which we always were. This is an exceptional gem which we have no hesitation in recommending. We will certainly be back. Alan & Jenny

Room Tip: Front facing rooms and luxury apartments especially good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
My dearest AlanT thankyou and Jenny so much for taking the time to give us a fab
review. We were so sad when you left as got used to seeing you around the place.
Glad the baby arrived on time and you got time to spend with him. Would love to see
you both in the future. Take care of yourselves All the best Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We are just back from a five day break In the Killiecrankie apartment with our pooch Holly and what a beautiful place to stay so friendly and they cater for your every need. We be back again.
for another break. A big thank you from us and a big Woof Woof from Holly.
Iris & Eddie Farmer

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweep049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear sweep048, Thanks so much for the fab review of our apartments. Would love to see
you back in the future and of course Holly, after all she needs her holidays too and Pitlochry
is a dog heaven with all the walks. Haste Ye Back Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We enjoyed 4 wonderful nights at Claymore and couldn't have picked a better place. We went out from here to visit Edinburgh, Glencoe and Carnoustie. The accommodation was first class and the friendliness and excellent service provided by Graham, Jules and Di was greatly appreciated. Visiting in the conservatory at night (after our travels and sightseeing) with the other guests ( David and Liz- "the regulars") was a great way to unwind and learn more about the area. We took away the best memories from this visit as a result. We would definitely return here and recommend it to anyone who wants a warm welcome, great sleep and a hearty breakfast in a beautiful town. Pam and Gord

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysandjeeves19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear gladysandjeeves19 Thankyou both for the lovely comments it was a pleasure having
you stay with us and glad you made friends with Dave and Liz, theres not a lot in Scotland
they don't know about. Would absolutely love to have you back one day. Take care Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levenmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Second stay for us, 4 nights this time, glad to report standards are just as high as last year, great hospitality, fine hosts, excellent breakfasts, nothing too much trouble, we will be back, Thanks from Ken and Linda

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor front, plenty room and nice views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennivw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi there Kennivw48 Thankyou for returning to stay at the Claymore and also for the
lovely review you have given. It does have an influence on future guests choosing somewhere
to stay. Hope to see you both next year. Take care Di and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Property: The Claymore Guest House
Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing