We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Scottish welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Claymore Guest House
Ranked #2 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Such a warm welcome from Diane on arrival,and given lots of valuable information about the area.our room was lovely and very clean. Greeted every breakfast by friendly staff and the lovely graham, choices were superb and presented beautifully,recommend the porridge! We only wish we could have stayed longer. Thankyou Diane and Graham for making our stay at the Claymore a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debs441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Hi Debs441 Glad you got home safely and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, please
come back again. Graeme says well done the posh!!
All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our second visit to the superb Claymore Apartments. Spacious, comfortable & oozing quality. Set back from the road in a peaceful & attractive setting, they are the ideal place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. Outstanding in every way & so too are the owners, Dianne & Graeme, who don't find anything too much of a problem to help your stay be a nice one.
We totally recommend the Claymore to anybody holidaying in Pitlochry or central Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi lesj Thanks so much for taking the time to review yet another stay with us in the self
catering apartments, Hoping to see you again next year. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Outstanding in every aspect.

Arrived late, my key was waiting with a note letting me know if I needed anything to let them know. Airline had delivered my lost luggage, was waiting for me in my room. Cloths were damaged. Graeme (proprietor) came by to see if everything was ok. When he saw our predicament, he immediately offered assistance. The next day when I offered to pay for the extra work, he refused stating we were in Scotland and he treated us like he would want to be treated.
Room was beautiful and clean. Grounds were beautiful. Breakfast good with nice selection, including vegetarian option. Easy to find.

Conclusion: A top notch guesthouse which lives up to their claim of ”True Scottish Hospitality.”

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maikai_hoaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi there Thankyou guys for the lovely review of your stay with us here at the Claymore.
Do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and arrived home safely. Please come back and
visit us again one day. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Claymore Apartments make for a superb stay in Pitlochry. They are well fitted out for self catering but you may not feel the need to do your own catering with so many good places to eat within a few minutes walk. Although they, and the B and B adjacent, are in the town they are just far enough out of the bustle to be also very quiet. Dianne and Graeme are excellent hosts, friendly and knowledgeable. But, they do not intrude into your holiday. Very well cared for and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Helo Jane"W Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Claymore self catering apartments. Please come back and visit us again they are open all year.
Best regards Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from our third visit to the Claymore, it's as good as ever and fully deserves the five star rating given by reviewers on here.We travel almost every year up to Pitlochry from Yorkshire to visit the theatre and having found this place would not want to stay anywhere else.Graham and Dianne are really nice people and make you very welcome, everywhere is spotless and the breakfasts each morning are top notch,looking forward to our next visit in 2015.

Room Tip: This hotel as Ground floor rooms which would be suitable for anyone with mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GLYN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi GlynG So happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Claymore again this year. thanks for
being a regular visitor and look forward to seeing you next year for your annual visit to the
theatre. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a beautiful Guest House - we stayed in the superior ground floor room and it was outstanding. Stunning large bright airy room. Spotless and facilities were fab - lots of local information provided. We overlooked the large impressive gardens - was a pleasure to view them from our bedroom. Breakfast was beautiful and service faultless with Graham (the owner) providing that personal touch and chatting with all his guests ensuring they had all they needed. Sadly we were only there for one night - would have loved a longer stay - Graham and Diane were great hosts - will definitely be back. Thanks xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi GillianK A big thankyou for leaving such a fab review, well happy. Please come back and
visit us again maybe stay a bit longer next time as there is so much to see and do in the area and
Pitlochry is a great base. All the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were having dinner in Oban and started talking to the couple on the next table. We had 3 nights to spend in the highlands but had no booking for the busiest time of the year. The couple recommended Pitlochry to stay and thought if we got there early enough we should be lucky enough to get a room somewhere. Once we got to Pitlochry we fell in love with the town and area immediately. We were fortunate to see Claymore and enquired within as to availability of a room. The traditional home and gardens looked magnificent. Greeted by Graeme who was absolutely accommodating with his terrific Scottish sense of humour. Fortunate enough to get 2 nights in the front room which was superb together with the bathroom. Breakfast each morning was fabulous, particularly the porridge with a touch of Scotch whiskey. Graeme & Dianne were great hosts and extremely helpful & charming. We loved it so much we wanted to stay another night knowing that it was fully booked. Pleaded for a cancellation but being such a magnificent B&B no one in their right mind would cancel. Short walk to town along the main street but far enough away to have no noise. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanobob, Owner at The Claymore Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello Neil-B Delighted to read your review of us here at the Claymore, it was also a pleasure
to have you guys as our guests and you never know, I know its a long way, but would love to
see you again.one day. Take care, and all the best Di and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Pitlochry
1,939 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claymore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claymore Guest House

Address: 162 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £86 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claymore Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly Scottish welcome awaits you at the Claymore Guest House in Pitlochry. Set in two acres of gardens the Claymore is conveniently situated on Pitlochry's main street. We have private parking and uninterrupted views of the Cluniemore Hills. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the Claymore Guest House.The Claymore is only a two minute walk from the town centre and the rail and bus stations. Personally run by Diane, Graeme and family, we are here to make your Pitlochry holiday as enjoyable as possible.We offer our customers a range of quality accommodation to suit all needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Claymore Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Pitlochry
The Claymore Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing