We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic week-end in wonderful accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Secret Bothy

traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century fully equipped for fine dining at home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century
fully equipped for fine dining at home
wood burning stove with complimentary logs
each double bedroom has own TV and en suite
walk-in showers and underfloor heating
each double bedroom has hair dryer and bathrobes
spa bath, walk-in shower, toiletries, bathrobes, heated mirror
nespresso machine and complimentary coffee capsules
complimentary hamper on arrival
no need to bring the kitchen sink, all the essentials (and extras) are already here
rebuilt back of cottage overlooks productive walled garden
neighbouring Blair Castle, 10 minutes from Secret Bothy
local resident
nearby Carn Liath, the lowest of Beinn a'Ghlo's 3 summits
nearby Glen Banvie, an easy walk through woods and open moorland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
fc123216
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic week-end in wonderful accommodation.”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second stay at The Secret Bothy and yet again the welcome we received was outstanding. The pack of goodies greeting us on arrival was perfect, the accommodation delightful and general attention to detail just superb. Loretta and James are so attentive and made the week-end very relaxing. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and facilities
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thank you very much for your terrific review. We must try to fix the weather to warm sunshine for every visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very stylish
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Thank you very much for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you (and bicycles) back to Killiecrankie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jayne M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional Quality”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were made to feel extremely welcome with a lovely welcome pack including drinks, bread and some little extras. The bothy is really high quality with lovely finishes throughout including underfloor heating, the log fire and sky TV! The place was immaculate and we would highly recommend! It was a lovely relaxing week and perfect for getting away from London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality
Liked least: Proximity to the main house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for such a positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back when you are looking for a comfortable getaway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soozytroo...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The small touches really counted!”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Taken by the marketing, I booked this months earlier in readiness for a weekend that included visiting The Enchanted Forest attraction. We travelled as a family and were greeted on arrival by Loretta and James. The bothy is delightful; set in its own grounds with stunning views. We immediately felt at home. Nicely laid out and thoughtfully decorated including all mod cons and underfloor heating that was comfortable at all times. A welcome pack including basic, fresh, locally sourced food greeted us - including some delicious chocolates. Slippers, robes and a choice of pillows to suit even the fussiest sleeper! For me, it was those added touches that really made it. Just lovely - we'll certainly be hoping to stay there again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you very much for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Killiecrankie soon. You comments about the chocolates are noted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLennan2...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage in an outstanding location!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you are looking for either a place to get away and relax and do nothing or a place to base yourself in Perthshire to enjoy what it has to offer in the great outdoors this is the place to come. From the warm welcome from Loretta, James and Red to the fantastic accommodation and wonderful setting you will not be disappointed. Don't think about it, just book it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: Nothing, it was all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Many thanks indeed for such a glowing review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Killiecrankie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crustyjug...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, quiet...and red squirrels.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having rented holiday cottages for over 20 years, for us, this cottage raises standards to a whole new level. The luxurious cottage in its superbly tranquil setting, with the ability to watch red squirrels chasing through the trees as we had our breakfast, is another world. Yet it is very conveniently placed to visit the local attractions.
Our host, Loretta, gave us a most comprehensive introduction to the cottage and lots of information about things to do. Her advice regarding a Nessie hunting trip was quickly followed up and she also kindly printed off the necessary paperwork for our on line booking.
We were particularly impressed with the welcome pack we received and, yes, the bread is delicious. We too visited the Watermill, twice, making sure we had supplies to take home with us.
Without repeating all that has already been said in other reviews, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to Killiecrankie soon. The red squirrels will be here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had high expectations based on the excellent reviews, but the reality was so much better than I could have imagined.

First, the cottage is absolutely stunning. You'll drive onto a private road, pass a small, gorgeous waterfall, and enter Loretta and James' beautiful Victorian estate. The bothy overlooks a thriving garden and orchard, with an outside dining area right out the door. The two bedrooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Both have fabulous showers, and one room has an amazing bathtub with spa jets. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including gorgeous slate place settings, lovely stemware, and good cookware. There's even compost! They also gave us a wonderful hamper with wine, biscuits, locally baked bread, olive oil, and much more. They specially bought entirely vegan treats to accommodate us (we didn't even ask, they're just that thoughtful!). The wood burning fireplace was wonderful and easy to use. The furnishings are absolutely gorgeous. The entry room has easy-to-use laundry facilities, which came in very handy. Throughout the bothy, everything is extremely stylish, well appointed, and easy to use. It's nicer than most posh hotels, and more private, too.

Second, Loretta and James went above and beyond to make us feel welcome at every turn. They let us pick fresh herbs from their garden. James made us a jar of fresh rhubarb compote for our arrival. Loretta called her favorite restaurant and got us special dietary accommodations and a reservation. They helped us plan day trips in the area, and were just incredibly kind, warm, and helpful. Their sweet dog, Red, is also a charmer.

All of this in the middle of the most beautiful place on earth? My friend and I couldn't believe our luck. The trip was so easy and so wonderful. I can't recommend the Secret Bothy highly enough. You'll love it here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Wow! What can I say? I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Secret Bothy and hope that we can welcome you back one day. Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing