We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dalshian Guest House
Ranked #11 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“There are better places to stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We regularly visit Pitlochry and this was our first stay here. It is ok, a bit worn out. I would say that the other places we have stayed in have all been in a much better location (walking distance) and have been very central but to stay here you would need a car to get around.

Overall it was fine but outshone by previous B&B's we've stayed in within Pitlochry. It just doesn't meet the standard set by it's competitors.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mum2LeoAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d-h-p1, Owner at Dalshian Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Mum2LeoAri
Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on your recent stay at Dalshian House. Unfortunately it would appear Dalshian has not met your expectations.
Regarding our location, we do not mislead or hide the fact of where we are situated (just over one mile from town). Indeed we find the majority of our guests, new and return, have no issues with our location.
We are officially graded Three Star Gold with VisitScotland which we clearly advertise, and we endeavour to offer rates which reflect our location and this grading. We have looked at other properties you have reviewed in Pitlochry and are happy to see you are comparing us to Four Star Gold properties.
Kind regards and we hope you enjoy your future visits to Pitlochry.
Martin and Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    34
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
256
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay at Dalshian House. This is our second visit and it certainly won't be our last. The charming bedrooms and public rooms look out on woodland covered, at the moment, with clumps of snowdrops. Daffodils and rhododendrons are just waiting to burst into flower. Breakfasts are the best we have ever had for choice and quality. Most importantly, Heather and Martin are warmly welcoming and helpful and attentive to their guests. Throughout the house are delightful little design features to catch your attention and make you smile. Well done Heather and Martin! Dalshian is an excellent example of Scottish hospitality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joyceb2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great couple of days at Dalshian House. Very comfortable room and bathroom with extra little touches like a selection of teas, port in the lounge and a dvd library. We came on our bikes, arriving by train at Pitlochry station and it was a quick 10 minute cycle out to the place, where the owners quickly offered to put the bikes away under cover. There are many beautiful on and off-road cycling routes nearby so we would recommend this. Fabulous breakfasts and the owners went the extra mile when we asked a wee favour of them, so many thanks again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked a quiet stay in Dalshian House to recover from ill health and was quite simply overwhelmed by this beautiful house.
The warm welcome we received from Martin and Heather was terrific and made us feel relaxed immediately , very unusual these days when most forget the importance of that personal, sincere and genuine approach, totally uncontrived and a pleasure to experience.
The room we had, Edradour, was terrific and Heather had taken the trouble of heating the room for us, very cosy on a cold Scottish winters day. Lovely touch.
The room was amazing and immaculate. For me , its all in the detail......too many to mention!
Heather gave us recommendations for dinner, the Fonab Hotel and East Haugh Hotel.
We had a terrible experience visiting the Fonab, and cancelled our booking for dinner whilst still in their car park. Very rude and terrible manner (see review) .The latter was booked solid, but looked fantastic.
Martin kindly ordered us a car in to town and we ate in a great wee place , Mckays. The goulash was amazing and we sat on lovely sofa and relaxed after dinner!
We arrived back at Dalshian around 10pm and relaxed in the beautiful guests lounge with a glass of wine, stretched out in front of log burning stove, comfy sofas, complimentary sherry and wine at hand. So relaxed that we both blethered away for hours as if at home, that's quite something to achieve. Very special atmosphere.
Up early for a 5 star breakfast that was the best I've ever had, and that's no joke. Exceptional!
I've visited some of the self appointed "best" hotels in Scotland, and they could learn so much from a visit to Dalshian House. (take note Fonab Hotel!)
As I've already said, its all in the detail. Its no accident that our visit was truly exceptional.
Its down to hard work, impeccable standards and service that make this the best B&B I've visited, but its that something special, that ingredient you cant put your finger on that makes it so different......the x factor that you cant quite grasp, and if I could, I would be a millionaire!
It's a MUST stay if your visiting Pitlochry. Look no further for something special that will make your visit last long in the memory.
Well done to Heather & Martin. We will be back soon,
thank you
Ian and Gillian

Room Tip: If Carlsberg are looking for a B&B for their next advert.....this is it! Absolutely nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This beautiful old house has been made so welcoming by the owners, Martin & Heather who offer their guests all that is required for a comfortable stay. From the open fires in the lounge and breakfast rooms to the well equipped bedrooms. Quality bed linen and towels are provided along with a good choice of teas, coffees and shortbread. Fresh fruit and a jug of iced water are also offered in the bedroom along with a good hair dryer. The excellent breakfast was cooked to order and served by Heather. The owners have certainly put their personal stamp on every aspect.

Room Tip: The setting of this hotel ensures all rooms have a woodland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed in Dalshian house using an itison voucher. Oh my god, this place was so great! Helpful and kind staff, large clean rooms, very comfortable beds and huge bathrooms. Very tasty breakfast next to the fireplace. They accept dogs as well. Best itison experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McMar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed and loved it every bit as much as the first. Heather and Martin are so friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is undoubtedly the best we have had from any B&B.
We also opted for the afternoon tea which was served in the cosy lounge in front of the open fire. Homemade everything and we had this instead of dinner!
The bed was so comfy and, had it not been for a little person, I would have slept like a log!
Look forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weechooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
639 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,857 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,753 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalshian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalshian Guest House

Property: Dalshian Guest House
Address: Dalshian House Old Perth Road, Pitlochry PH16 5TD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century country guest house set within one acre of secluded woodland and gardens, conveniently situated on the outskirts of Pitlochry. Here Martin and Heather Walls extend the warmest of welcomes in a genuinely friendly, but unobtrusive, manner. Tastefully decorated with a mixture of contemporary and traditional furnishings, you will find yourself captivated by this tranquil house. Seven spacious en-suite bedrooms all individually decorated, in keeping with their original character are provided with every comfort one would expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dalshian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalshian Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing