We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food”
Review of The Old Mill Inn

The Old Mill Inn
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Old Mill Inn offers a menu to delight every palate. We pride ourselves on serving the best fresh local produce and our dishes have been created to offer a wide choice, incorporating everything from old favourites such as golden whole tail scampi & golden chips through to a smorgasbord of delectable salmon on our popular Tay salmon platter - all with the Old Mill Inn's own twist, of course! We also have a daily specials board to choose from. The Old Mill restaurant is open each day from 8am for breakfast and we serve delicious meals between 12pm - 9pm daily. From November to April the kitchen may be closed between 3-5pm. We offer indoor and outdoor seating - if the weather is nice, there's nothing better than enjoying a cold drink on the decking watching the world go by to the sound of the mill wheel. If you have any dietary requirements please inform staff on arrival. We are delighted to offer free WiFi access* throughout the Bar & Bistro.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was the finest meal we had in our three weeks of travel through Scotland. Try the King Prawns in panko crumbs with chili sauce. My husband had the "feather blade" of beef - it was the most tender beef we've ever eaten. We shared a ceasar salad that was crisp and cool and perfect for a hot day. My husband topped it all off with creme brulee and he said it was better than any we had in Paris a couple of years ago. Excellent value for the money, but a bit costlier than most.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeriR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    663
    143
    49
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“average food for an above average meal”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Quite pricey for what you get, but then this is a tourist town so there will not be too many return customers. food was average, nothing exciting, the sticky toffee pudding was expensive so our expectations were high...sadly they were not met!! Very noisey due to high volume on the CD player, the singer came on.....must be doing it to earn money for singing lessons.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here yesterday and it was so good we came back again tonight. Yesterday we enjoyed a sharing fish starter, it was huge with lots of smoked salmon and various other fish treats. Alex had Pork belly for her main and I had braised beef cheek and both were amazing. Today we both had duck breast main and again the food was really really great. Service was prompt and with a smile. We can only heap praise on the service and the food. A big thumbs up from us :-)

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great meal here on the last night of our holiday. Prior to our meal I enjoyed my first ever 'beer bat' from the good range of real ales. We were then shown to our table which looked directly onto the water wheel. The menu was quite varied and had a few unusual things on it. I had lamb tagine and my husband had braised beef cheek which were both beautifully cooked. The staff were polite and attentive and I have already recommended this place to dome friends travelling to Pitlochry soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna231262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Popped in for a quick bite early in the evening. Welcoming staff showed us quickly to a table. Took a wee while for our food order to be taken (drinks order taken very quickly!!). Food however was served very quickly. We both had the haddock and chips - excellent although the mushy peas noted on the menu weren't present.

Reasonably priced menu and good quality food

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill Inn also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Old Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing