We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pitlochrys finest”

Restaurant at Knockendarroch
Ranked #13 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$55
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Restaurant at Knockendarroch has been awarded 2 Rosettes by the AA. The restaurant is open to non-residents for dinner from 5:30pm - 8:30pm seven days a week. Our 3-course menu changes daily and is £42.00 Per person including canapes. To avoid disappointment, please be sure to make a reservation by calling the hotel. Our welcoming and luxurious 4 Star hotel offers contemporary country house style in a quiet elevated position in central Pitlochry. Most of our 14 bedrooms benefit from stunning panoramic views of Pitlochry and the surrounding hills of Highland Perthshire. Log fires help to make our luxury guest lounges wonderfully relaxing spaces to enjoy your pre-dinner drinks and canapes before taking dinner in our two AA rosette restaurant. At Knockendarroch we pride ourselves on excellent food, comfortable rooms, scenic views and friendly service. Free Wi-Fi througout.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pitlochrys finest”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great surroundings and food served by freindly staff

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alimactoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Restaurant at Knockendarroch, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear 'alimactoo', Thank you for sharing your positive review of our restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed the food and service and hope to see you again.
Best wishes, the Knockendarroch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth booking up for”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had dinner here and can find no critcisms. From the initial callback from them to confirm they could fit us in, to the welcome, the pre dinners drinks in the lounge, the food itself and the post dinner relaxing in front of a real fire, it is worth calling ahead as they must be one of the best quality restaurants in Pitlochry.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knockendarroch, Owner at Restaurant at Knockendarroch, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear 'MichaelO36', Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted that you decided to eat at our restaurant and are glad you enjoyed the whole experience. We do get busy and it is a good idea to book ahead, but we always do our best to accommodate requests to dine with us.
Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable meal.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Well cooked, well presented, good choice for a vegetarian. I would have liked a few more minutes between courses - they're too efficient!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morageckford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding three course meal for £26 per head”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great menu, with a choice of four starters, four mains and four desserts. Lovely canapes in the lounge. Sea bass was excellent and perfectly cooked. Lovely staff who were attentive without being fussy. Great choice of whiskies for a digestif. Beautiful dining and lounge rooms which were very well presented in a modern classic way. Minor point to be aware of is the lock on the bathroom, which is unconventional and slightly tricky to fathom after a couple of glasses of wine!! I would thoroughly recommend a dinner here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tonkatruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scottish food at its best!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Restaurant food superb - beautifully presented, freshly cooked and delicious served in elegant surroundings by friendly staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank finsathazellodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Knockendarroch also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Restaurant at Knockendarroch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing