We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent weekend of golf!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great golf, excellent staff and really nice food in fine surroundings. Will definitely be back. My room was very clean and spacious but a little dated. This wasn't a problem though as I was hardly in it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Murrayshall House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

It's disappointing the management of this establishment are unable to take criticism, if customers have suggestions on how to improve on the quality of service and rooms Etc surely this should be welcome to the management instead of making excuses, Any suggestion on how to improve my business I welcome because I want it to be the best.
Murrayshall house is lucky to be in such a beautiful spot. it's disappointing the hotel isn't trying to be as high quality as the grounds.
Something isn't working because the staff seem miserable, which isn't a welcoming friendly atmosphere. you can see they are working hard but seem under a lot of pressure.
the hotel needs some refurbishments, new carpets and rooms updating.
This hotel could be great. the management just need to care.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therightopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is situated in my nearby locality and while there is no need to be resident my wife, self, family, and friends, meet here frequently and mainly in the golf club. We have been regulars since 1970 so have witnessed many changes yet overall the standards have been very good. I cannot recall ever meeting a disgruntled member of staff. My late wife and I had a few excellent evenings in the Old Master's Restaurant where the food, the music, nor the service could be faulted. I have so many fond memories of this hotel and would recommend it to all who visit the area; it certainly leaves the Crief Hydro and the Dunkeld Atholl hotels in the dark! While the Hilton at Dunkeld is an excellent establishment the Murrayshall has the edge except possibly that there are more facilities at the Hilton (but it does not have golf).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for one night with our two Labradors. The hotel is dog friendly and they don't charge - a bonus. The location is lovely and ideal for the event we were going to the next day. The building is old and grand but is certainly more shabby than chic - we had a room on the front with a magnificent window. Don't try and open the bathroom window - when we did we realised it was filthy. I'm not that picky about that sort of thing but it was really bad. The bedroom curtains were torn and the bathroom very dated. To be fair though the room was spacious which was good as we had two large dog beds with us.

There are a lot of staff who don't have English as their first language and there were many 'lost in translation' moments in the restaurant which was in turn amusing in a Fawlty Towers sort of way and frustrating in the extreme. The service was poor which wasn't what we expected.

We stayed in peak season and we wouldn't go back for what we paid - if you got a really good deal it might be OK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labrador_Mum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Loved the setting and the golf course. The outside of the building Nd grounds are magnificent but internally requiring upgrading. Bedrooms are gloomy although beds very comfortable. Bathroom large but with cracked mirror and a bit yucky tiling. Food and staff very good and generally good value for money. Would have paid a bit extra for more up to date rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes2golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Booked two nights DB&B with 3 rounds of golf through your golf travel.

Given key to room 2, opened door and wife shouted "wow"! We had been upgraded to the bridal suite overlooking the 18th green.

Played the Lynedoch course in 1st day - mountain goat territory needing precise drives and pitch golf!

Loved the 19th hole - great service from Stuart and team.

Both evening meals in the Old Masters restaurant with excellent service.

Breakfast couldn't be faulted.

The Murrayshall course completely different with plenty if room to open the shoulders but plenty of hazards to catch the wayward shot!

Really enjoyed the stay and only criticism of the hotel is main light wasn't fixed in suite, but it was cosy and intiment without!
Our big grip though was the last round if golf - we knew it would be slow as Pro shop told us wedding party ahead. This turned out to be 9 four balls with buggies but sharing clubs and playing a slow scramble comp! At the tenth we gave up the will to golf as we had been out 3 hours and it had been raining heavily for two holes. We met the manager and he accepted our complaint by getting the Pro to get out and speed up the course plus offered us a free future round.

Looks like we will be back?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is located in a wonderful setting. Sitting out the front in the nice weather made the stay worthwhile on its own. We went down as part of a group for a golf outing and the courses were fantastic, some great holes and will definitely be back. We found the hotel to be a bit hit or miss. What was most noticeable was that most of the staff particularly in the hotel all appeared to be miserable and it would have broke their heart to break a smile. At least the bar staff in the clubhouse were friendlier. Lack of wifi at a reasonable rate was disappointing as well. Particularly when people are looking to use apps on their phones as a golf gps etc. The room was reasonably clean but very hot. It is difficult to fit air con into older buildings but our room was oppressive and it was not even the height of the current great weather we have had. The shower was pretty poor as well, very under powered. Another strange one was when a member of our party had their room stripped before they had checked out in the morning. Very strange.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyrtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
784 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,304 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
286 reviews
18.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
23.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: £76 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing