We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building but Room was very tired and basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely building but Room was very tired and basic”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night over the weekend. The building is lovely as you drive up and the golf courses and grounds look great. Lovely location, just outside of Perth.
However, the room we were in (5) was somewhat tired and sad. It was very basic with a small tv, no fridge or mini bar and tired looking decor. Wifi cost £9 per day - poor in this day an age for a hotel I would say.

The staff were friendly enough and the bar at the clubhouse was very nice to sit and have a drink. The public rooms looked far nicer that the room we stayed in.

Breakfast was in a nice room and was very tasty.

Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: the standard one we were in wasn't very nice - i have heard from a friend that the suites are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Sorry that you did not enjoy your room, our rooms in the main house are all individually decorated in a country house fashion using premium fabrics and furnishings. The hotel rooms do not have mini bars or fridges in them but our external suites are all furnished with a small fridge and microwave oven as well as seperate lounge areas. Perhaps next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    166
    66
    27
    11
See reviews for
66
244
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were at the same Works Christmas Do as the reviewer below ( I think) and indeed it was a good night. The dinner arrangements were very smoothly organised, the tables looked lovely and the staff were very friendly and efficient. We thought most of the food rather average - my starter featured under-ripe melon, tiny prawns and wilted lettuce and looked as if it had been sitting about for a long time. The turkey dinner looked rather processed. The sea bass I had was well cooked but with dry cous-cous and a couple of very crunchy vegetables it was unexciting - even a bit of lemon might have been nice. However, the meal was redeemed by the fabulous desserts, so well done to the pudding chef! The crème brulee with Armagnac was to die for and the other puddings excellent too. A good selection of liqueur or Macallan was offered afterwards, which was a nice treat.
The bedroom was wonderful with huge and comfortable bed and super bathroom. It was great that the fan did not go on automatically! The downside of this is that probably nobody uses it enough so there was a minor mould problem.
Breakfast was very civilised but sadly let down by cold soggy toast and disastrous scrambled egg which was so overcooked in the microwave that it was bouncy and had large blue-green lumps through it. That anyone should have put it on a plate indicated a problem with breakfast staff! The waitress looked at me impassively without smile or apology and asked whether she should fetch more, but I had been put off eggs by then.
It's really only the eggs which prevented me giving 5 stars, and I do hope the Christmas Do will be repeated next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuilean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I'm very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay and are keen to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here with husband for his works do . Fabulous ceilidh band, very good food . Waiter knew exactly what was gluten free and the best gluten free bun I have ever had appeared . Superb soup , sea bass served on mash ( couldn't have Cous Cous :( ) followed by creme brûlée . The most wonderful bed ... Comfy and very large !!! Only niggle could not see tv which was on a small table . Could have been better higher up . Lovely bath room .

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mathsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed the Christmas party night and over night stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated, hope to see you again next Christmas if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If we had a complaint it would be that the lighting to the lodge house isn't great and staff just said its over there!! Where!! However, when we found our room we were very pleased, spacious, warm, comfortable and quiet. Dinner was first class as was breakfast. Staff in the diningroom were very professional and pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and all that we offer. I look forward to seeing you again.
p.s. I've had all the lighting to the suites checked and it's all fine now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well I only stayed here for a few hours on a work journey. I arrived at 0400 and was pleasantly welcomed by the night porter. He was very helpful and polite and let me beg a drink. He then lent me his touch so I could find my way to the room as the storms were kicking in and it was pitch black.

The rooms were amazing. Big, comfortable with all you may need. Although I didn't get to use the facilities I would have been happy to stay.

Breakfast was great. Continental or full Scottish. The mini haggis was amazing.

This will be a place I will return to for pleasure not just as a flying stop over.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hopefully next time it will not be such a short visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

What a little gem! The house is beautiful especially with all the Christmas decorations up. My room was amazing. Huge huge windows, massive bed - I felt very grand! The en suite was a wet room and the elemis toiletries are a really nice touch.

Ate in the bar and thought the food and service were right on point. The foods very good value for money in comparison to other hotels I stay in.

Definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireylou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Pro's
1. GREAT location
2. Beautiful country house
3. Fantastic views
4. Reasonably priced
5. Suite (self catering apartment) great for families with children - if it was on the ground floor.
6. The other guests were great


Con's
1. When we asked if we could have a starter from the Lounge menu in the Restaurant we were abruptly told that 'it's a two rosette restaurant' so no. As a compromise we suggested eating starters in the Lounge and mains in the Restaurant we were again abruptly told that one of the starters couldn't be from the Restaurant menu as 'it's a two rosette restaurant' and we aren't allowed to do that...... Nonsense!! We weren't the only guests that the abrupt waitress made an impression on. Several other guests mentioned her 'manner' in conversation and our two year old unfortunately mistook another similarly dresses employee with her when he advised 'that not a nice lady daddy' when a different waitress walked past - much to the distress of the innocent party!
3. We started a bottle of wine in the Lounge but they kept it behind the bar trying to chill it. When we finished the wine in the glasses WE had carried through to the Restaurant we mentioned to the abrupt waitress that we had a bottle of wine in the Lounge. It had obviously been taken through when we were pre-occupied with the children but instead of lifting it and topping up the glasses, she pointed to it and said 'it's there'. Hardly the two rosette standard she was so abrupt to advise!
4. We were offered a choice of rolls - granary or cheese. Our two year old son picked a cheese one and quickly advised us that it was burnt - if a two year old can tell, why couldn't the staff in a 'two rosette restaurant'?!
5. The food in the restaurant was otherwise good but portion sizes completely inconsistent. The venison was two small slices on a small stack of ingredients yet the partridge served to my wife was a plate full. The spelt risotto was labelled as gluten free yet spelt is low gluten and not gluten free - not the inaccuracy you expect from a 'two rosette restaurant'
6. When presented with the bill for dinner, we had an extra child's meal and had been charged the adult price for the ice-cream rather than the child's. It could have been a simple mistake but anyone could have counted how many children we had....
7. Breakfast was probably the poorest we have had. No offer of brown or white toast - you get two small bits of each. Poached eggs were hard rather than runny. Sausages were certainly not from a local butcher. Haddock was beautiful but swimming in a plate of water and the coffee.... Couldn't be called coffee!
8. Despite booking a suite in the hotel we were 'upgraded' to a suite in the building across the car park. On the whole it was a great size - particularly when we had two children with us - but it did lack the character of the hotel and it is still a mystery why they put a family with a two year old and a 3 month old baby - and associated pram - in a first floor apartment. The ground floor ones were empty and there is no lift so carrying the pram up the stairs was unnecessary.

Last but not least... What was with the Panpipe music on repeat?! We listened to it over and over and over and over. It was even on at breakfast! The short time we were in the lounge (say for three drinks) we heard the same song four times.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNBScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your review after you recent stay. I am glad that for the most part enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be comfotable and good value for money. The suite that you were allocated was one of our larger ones which it was felt would have been more accomodating for your stay. I am sorry to hear about the challenges encountered when dining with your children. We are renouned for the quality of food and service which we provide which unfortunately has not met your expectations on this occasion. Thank you also for pointing out the menu error which has now been rectified. Our music system will also be getting updated next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
2.9 mi away
The Lodge At Perth Racecourse
2.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing