We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went to Murrayshall Hotel for Easter Sunday lunch.It was faultless. The setting is breathtaking .The dining room has lasrge windows looking out over the Perthshire countryside .The food was delicious and sttaff attentive and all reasonably priced about £20 per head.Definitely a great place to go for a Sunday treat ! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fangio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a weekend break here that was a little disappointing. To be fair, the weather when we arrived was pretty awful which never helps to show a place at its best. When we arrived the people in front of us appeared unhappy about something and had their room changed. We suspect we got the suite they didn't want as the printed room number on our hotel card had been overwritten by hand and changed. The suite seemed very nice on first sight but out of each window, we were staring at a wall only a few feet away. The wastepaper bin in the lounge was filthy, a used teabag was left on the carpet, the tv in the lounge area didn't work - lots of little things that should not really arise with proper attention but which serve to take the gloss off things. When we asked for the wi-fi access codes, we were informed that this would cost £5 per hour or £9 for 24 hours. This seemed to be a source of embarrassment to the staff charged with giving us this information - I assume because they receive gasps of disbelief on a regular basis! To be fair to the management, they sought to resolve our issues where they could do so and we reached a compromise. For future reference, I understand that the Wi-Fi will be free of charge in the next couple of weeks so that should not be a factor in future.

On the positive side, the cooked breakfast was excellent and the food generally was well presented though the 6 course taster menu was a little disappointing. The setting and the golf courses are all beautiful and must be wonderful in good weather. I think we'd give them a second chance in the hope that some of these issues would not recur.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pian0man51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at the Murrayshall for a birthday treat for my husband, stayed in one of the junior suites adjacant to the hotel which was really lovely with a great view over the golf course. All the staff were very polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Package included a 6 course taster menu, and being vegetarian I had asked if an equivalent menu could be provided for myself as the original menu was all fish and meat based. Was was delivered was outstanding and one of the best meals I have ever had, my husband was equally impressed with his meal.

Breakfast too was great, and impressed that they provided vegetarian sausages so I can have also have a cooked breakfast.

My husband played golf on the Murrayshall course which he found in very good condition for middle of April and clearly being kept to a high standard.

All in all a great hotel, will definately be back, only thing that could have improved the stay would be the provision of dressing gowns in the junior suites and blackouts on all the curtains.

Only disappointment was that a hotel of this standard did not provide free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here with old friends for a short break with a bit of Golf available.
We found the Hotel to be of very good standard though possibly in need of a bit of TLC here and there.
The Food was extremely tasty and prepared to High Standards though the Menu was not the worlds most extensive, but this means that what there is should be fresh and indeed we all agreed that this was the case.

Free Wi Fi as standard would be a distinct advantage, though I can understand that the cost of providing this would be high, but it would be needed to give the extra star rating, along with some refurbishing.

The setting is idyllic and it is only 3 miles from Perth City centre and even closer to Scone Palace.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank golfer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a suite room last minute via late rooms and was impressed as to standard of accommodation.The room was spacious and gave all 4 of us plenty of space.We ordered room service 3 times and each order was dealt with very efficiently.I found the staff to be courteous throughout our stay.I certainly wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Anar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a fantastic day golfing and the pro Murray was the exception to poor service, food was amazing but the staff were not interested in making the stay memorable. You were privileged to get a smile never mind a thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickyj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are normally complimented on the friendliness of the staff, following your comments we have held some additional training sessions with front of house staff to ensure guest satisfaction .
Thank you for notifying us and we are delighted Murray has been a positive part of your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I dined in the restaurant for our anniversary, we’d been gifted a voucher for the 6 course tasting menu.

This was our first visit to Murrayshall so had no idea of the lay-out or what the set up was for our dinner. Our welcome was not great. Without looking up from her computer a dismissive receptionist informed us that we should take a seat in the Lounge. There were 5 staff gathered at the bar in the lounge and not one acknowledged us. We found ourselves a seat and despite the number of staff we waited for over 10 minutes before a waiter approached to offer us a drinks menu (it was not busy).

We ordered some drinks and were given some nice appetisers (haggis balls and cheesy pastry swirls) as well as a note detailing what we’d be eating on the tasting menu. There were diners eating in the Lounge, yet there was no explanation of whether or not we’d be re-seated in a dining room? Eventually we were led to the dining room, 30 minutes after our reservation.

A welcome and a brief explanation of the form would have avoided the awkwardness we encountered upon our arrival.

Despite the poor welcome we both enjoyed our meal immensely. The food was lovely – we started with a beautiful celeriac soup which was one of the stand out dishes, not often the case with a soup. That was followed by a game pie, which was pleasant but would be better described as a game terrine. A trio of salmon followed which was as you’d expect but very nice all the same. The chicken main was beautiful with the comfit chicken leg and tatty scone the stand out components of the dish. The course of whipped Crowdie and cheese shortbread wasn’t to my taste but my wife cleared the lot. The dessert was great selection of little treats; white chocolate ice cream, honeycomb, a hot chocolate shot – A really nice end to a very good meal.

I found the dining room (particularly the music) and service a little over-formal for our taste but that purely down to preference.

To summerise - Lovely food but would have expected better service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R138D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
1 mi away
Sky Lodge Perth
Sky Lodge Perth
#1 of 2 in Scone
229 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: £77 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing