We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with fabulous food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Murrayshall House Hotel and we were very impressed. The food is definitely the high point, the chef is amazing and the presentation is out of this world. We were unsure on our first night if this would be our type of menu but must say we tried some different things and thoroughly enjoyed them. The staff at reception were friendly and accommodating and the restaurant staff were lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were slightly disappointing but the views more than made up for this. The room we stayed in was in need of upgrading and we would have liked a separate shower rather than one above the bath. However it was clean and comfortable and had lovely toiletries, teas, coffees, shortbread etc. I noticed when I read the reviews before we went some people mentioned a problem with Wifi, I would just like to say this has been resolved and there is now free Wifi available.

I would have no hesitation in booking in to this hotel again as we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay and I would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona24210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overnight stay to meet relatives. Everything excellent from Annexe room to restaurant. Comfortable night sleep and nice breakfast.
Meal in restaurant was very tasty and everyone enjoyed it.
Room was a large suite in the Annexe just a minutes walk from the front of the house.

Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedandBreakfast90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place attempts to be all things to all men and not surprisingly fails. You can not try to sell yourself as a romantic or relaxing getaway for couples - then host golf tournaments, +/- stag weekends and prom dances in the function suite not 40 feet from the allegedly superior room.
We were looking for a relaxed second night having been woken by the lack of blackout curtains and a lawnmower and staff chatter for the Golf course at 6.30am that morning. So, lets just say that by midnight as we vicariously ''enjoyed'' Runrig's loch lommond and the proclaimers' classic 500 miles we were feeling decidedly jaded by the ''pleasures'' of Murrayshall and feeling very much NOT the discerning travelling couple for our choice. Just when we thought it was all over back came the golf boys from Perth's finest hostellries full of the joys of life. Alcohol fuelling their door slamming, lock failing dyspraxias - hilarious as it was to them.
While this was the worst of it, the rest of the experience was also lacking- for us. The staff varied from very good to exceptionally bad and the restaurant was adequate without being anything to write home about.It felt like eating and staying in the clubhouse of my local golf club. Undoubtably, the best thing about the hotel is the food which was of a high standard in bar and restaurant - though telling which was which was perhaps not as easy as it should have been.
If you were a golfer this is a great place for a break. If you were a 6th year leaving school this is a great place for you send off. As a couple looking for a relaxing break go somewhere else. There are plenty of nicer places for the money. That said if you catch this place between golf tournaments and functions it would be able then to be what it purports to be for couples. So ask before you book.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior or better in the main body of the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Murrayshall is a beautiful old building in a lovely setting with two good golf courses. We chose to stay in one of the suites which was huge, tastefully decorated and reasonable value. Dinner was tasty with a good variety of options. I thought the wine list was good value for quality served. Breakfast was a typical Scottish hotel offering. Nothing wrong with it - but nothing special. Both dinner and breakfast were spoiled by poor service. There was one experienced server accompanied by two complete novices. They made many mistakes and food arrived at different times. Cooked food at breakfast arrived 20 minutes apart - not great when you're trying to get to the tee. We played the lesser of the 2 courses; the Lynedoch, which we found a good challenge and it was in very good condition. It is very hilly and may not be suitable for everyone. We booked a dinner, b&b and golf rate which felt fair value. The poor service did disappoint us; I think the hotel should have invested in better staff. Almost a 3 star review but the rest of the experience was very good and we will probably return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here may half term, beautiful views abound, very quite tranquil area exellent golf course super friendly staff, good food loads of local history scone palace is a must as is Blair castle and gardens our 7 year old loved it. We stayed in the master suite and the view from the window was magnificent all in all a top class 4 star hotel, we will most certainly visit again and hopefully book the same room.
Satisfaction guaranteed......

Room Tip: Master suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our daughter's wedding reception was at Murrayshall. The service was superb from the very start. Every detail had been meticulously set out in advance and everything went without a hitch. The staff could not do enough to help and the meal was excellent. Those who stayed overnight found the rooms very comfortable and breakfast was good. We could not fault the service and would recommend Murrayshall without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

So let’s go through it:
The Place – a manor house set in beautiful surroundings, and next to its own golf course, and a very good location for touring the Perthshire countryside.
The rooms – While our room was not large it was well furnished, comfortable and had enough room for two large armchairs and overlooked the gardens.
Cleanliness – Immaculate.
Food – We were at a wedding so did not sample the normal restaurant fair but what we had was above average for that type of event. There were a few golf parties in the hotel that seemed to be sending back, well scraped, empty plates. Breakfast while good did not live up to expectations – You would expect the ‘Perthshire Platter’ to have a fairly large selection of local delights i.e. the ‘tattie scone’ but it turned out to be a fairly normal bacon & egg type breakfast.
Service. The place was busy but well-staffed with good and competent people.

Room Tip: We saw a few of the rooms and did not see a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,416 reviews
1 mi away
Sky Lodge Perth
Sky Lodge Perth
#1 of 2 in Scone
229 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 17 in Pitlochry
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: £80 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing