We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Venue for a Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would highly recommend Murrayshall House Hotel for a wedding. We held our daughter’s wedding reception there in June and we could not fault it. Planning for the day was made so easy with the expert and very efficient help of Carol Taylor and Alan Reid. Every detail had been meticulously set out in advance and went without a hitch. The atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Guests commented on how well everything flowed on the day. The meal which was served under the watchful eye of Alan was excellent as was the service. Those who stayed overnight found the rooms very comfortable and breakfast was good. We could not fault the service and would recommend Murrayshall for a wedding without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MotherofBride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at Murrayshall a few days ago. It was a perfect break - the hotel was lovely and I felt like I was living in "Downton Abbey"! The staff were very friendly, polite and most helpful. It certainly had a touch of real class - the staff even wore lovely white gloves to serve dinner! The food was excellent in every way and the golf courses were in a perfect setting with superb views from the Lyndoch course. My children had a superb time and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of having a short golf break, a wedding or even a longer break - quite frankly I really did not want to go home! Many thanks to all the staff in the hotel & the golf club.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for such a positive review, it means a great deal to all the management and staff, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having attended a conference recently held at the Murrayshall House Hotel, I was dismayed that after approximately 15 years of using this hotel for our conferences the recent service was not poor... it was absolutely appalling!

Our lunch was the bare minimum. Being vegetarian (well pescatarian actually, but no fish was available) I was given (on BOTH - of two - days) a smaller than even a starter size portion... AS THE MAIN COURSE. On the first day it was pasta, but it was well-overcooked and certainly not al-dente! The second day was actually a very nice risotto... but also a RIDICULOUSLY small portion!

At one point I asked if we could have some more bread at the table. The waitress left, and returned with the information that there was no more bread left! Hah!

During awful watery, insipid and tasteless coffee - in fact, the coffee supplied for the whole weekend was exactly the same... bad! - I again asked the waitress if she could supply a few biscuits for us to have (yes, I was still hungry from the lack of food). It was pretty obvious to myself and others that she immediately looked at the maitre'd' who blatantly gave a scowl of a look, enough to make the intimidated waitress realise that was not to happen.

As far as the carnivores amongst us were concerned, well, they certainly fared better but still somewhat lacking.

Thinking of holding a meeting or conference there? I wouldn't recommend it. Yes, it's an attractive venue but there are better places in the vicinity, places that *do* care about their clients.

Personally, I'm going to strongly recommend to our organisation that we look for an alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We endeavour to ensure all guests requirements are met to ensure satisfaction during their visit to the property. we have not been made aware of your complaints during your visit During any conference we maintain a close liaison with delegates and organisers. As part of our routine follow up we have contacted the organiser whom has confirmed the conference went well and will be re booking the event for next year at Murrayshall.
If anyone wishes additional food served please just ask , it will never be an issue. During the event we served a 2 course lunch with tea and coffee and 2 additional servings of tea ,coffee and biscuits each day. We have received no other adverse comments during this event, if we are not made aware at the time we cannot rectify an issue. Our coffee supplier whom we have used for many years is Mathew Algie whom have an excellent reputation as a high quality supplier.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Around 70 people function, one night
Beautiful old house with lovely stone and wood, well groomed garden and grounds to charm you. Dinning room with lovely views.
Function of 4 courses with some choice was adequate with one dish outstanding.
Bedroom small but comfortable with everything you may need. Not as clean as you would like it (someone spilled what looks coffee on the bathroom door, this dried out, cleaner probably does not check bathroom doors both sides)
Old world grandeur fading so attempts to update (new bathroom fittings) are visible but look odd as more needs doing. Decor done by an amateur designer.
Front staff had no smile or a nice word,bordering on rude. Breakfasts staff untrained and unhappy (probably underpaid as well). They need lots of training and a new manager there.

Room Tip: Ask (pay) for a big room and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkwatch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We have received many other excellent reports regarding the quality of food and service at the event you attended at Murrayshall.
However we have not met your expectations and your issues have been discussed with management and staff.
But I would like to add that comments regarding staff rates of pay of which you have no knowledge or justification to comment on are I feel inappropriate and unhelpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Murrayshall House Hotel and we were very impressed. The food is definitely the high point, the chef is amazing and the presentation is out of this world. We were unsure on our first night if this would be our type of menu but must say we tried some different things and thoroughly enjoyed them. The staff at reception were friendly and accommodating and the restaurant staff were lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were slightly disappointing but the views more than made up for this. The room we stayed in was in need of upgrading and we would have liked a separate shower rather than one above the bath. However it was clean and comfortable and had lovely toiletries, teas, coffees, shortbread etc. I noticed when I read the reviews before we went some people mentioned a problem with Wifi, I would just like to say this has been resolved and there is now free Wifi available.

I would have no hesitation in booking in to this hotel again as we had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay and I would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona24210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overnight stay to meet relatives. Everything excellent from Annexe room to restaurant. Comfortable night sleep and nice breakfast.
Meal in restaurant was very tasty and everyone enjoyed it.
Room was a large suite in the Annexe just a minutes walk from the front of the house.

Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place attempts to be all things to all men and not surprisingly fails. You can not try to sell yourself as a romantic or relaxing getaway for couples - then host golf tournaments, +/- stag weekends and prom dances in the function suite not 40 feet from the allegedly superior room.
We were looking for a relaxed second night having been woken by the lack of blackout curtains and a lawnmower and staff chatter for the Golf course at 6.30am that morning. So, lets just say that by midnight as we vicariously ''enjoyed'' Runrig's loch lommond and the proclaimers' classic 500 miles we were feeling decidedly jaded by the ''pleasures'' of Murrayshall and feeling very much NOT the discerning travelling couple for our choice. Just when we thought it was all over back came the golf boys from Perth's finest hostellries full of the joys of life. Alcohol fuelling their door slamming, lock failing dyspraxias - hilarious as it was to them.
While this was the worst of it, the rest of the experience was also lacking- for us. The staff varied from very good to exceptionally bad and the restaurant was adequate without being anything to write home about.It felt like eating and staying in the clubhouse of my local golf club. Undoubtably, the best thing about the hotel is the food which was of a high standard in bar and restaurant - though telling which was which was perhaps not as easy as it should have been.
If you were a golfer this is a great place for a break. If you were a 6th year leaving school this is a great place for you send off. As a couple looking for a relaxing break go somewhere else. There are plenty of nicer places for the money. That said if you catch this place between golf tournaments and functions it would be able then to be what it purports to be for couples. So ask before you book.
.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior or better in the main body of the old house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
823 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
997 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
265 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
305 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing