We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth the money ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently as we attended my friends . Upon initial contact we were given a very good rate on the room ( 26 ) and assured it would be held for us , which it was . After arrival we went down for a meal in the bar area that was okay but nothing to write home about. The room itself was lovely and had all we needed for our stay . The drink at the bar on the night of the wedding I feel was and is over priced but the staff are friendly. Breakfast in the morning was okay , I didn't have the scrambled eggs as they were floating in some sort of greenish liquid and everything is on hot plates , drying up quickly . It's not a bad hotel but it certainly could improve itself

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auchterarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    184
    68
    29
    12
See reviews for
69
265
5
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed overnight in this beautiful location as a couple. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. Every member of staff encountered were superb, very attentive without being obtrusive & very professional....I should know, I've worked in such places.
If there has to be a negative comment it would be that the decor in the bedroom & bathroom was a bit jaded though we were led to believe that the rooms are undergoing refurbishments. The bedside tables were a little dusty but other than that our room was clean & very comfortable.
We would definitely return. The Sunday night deal looks very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 891free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, Chef and his team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining in the Old Master Resteraunts and Stutts Grill. We have a rolling programme for refurbishing some of the bathrooms in the main hotel of which we only have a few left to complete.
Service is something we try very hard to achieve and its nice to know that we have succeeded in making your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Food was awful. Breakfast ok but dinner was not as stated on menu and tasteless. Room was a little shabby but clean and cosy. No view and tv was on its way out as there were lots of lines. Room situated beside cleaning cupboards so were rudely awakened by cleansing staff! On a good not the grounds were nice and would be better suited to a golf group than a romantic weekend away. Final straw was being charged for meals we didn't have. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent visit. If we are notified of any issues at the time we can try to rectify them . You did mention on departure that there was an item missing on one particular dish served on Saturday evening but did not wish to complain at the time. You booked on a room only basis and ordered breakfast on arrival for 2 days, but you only eat once, the breakfast item was then removed from your bill on departure.
At the time you wished to make no complaint and we assumed you were happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I would highly recommend Murrayshall House Hotel for a wedding. We held our daughter’s wedding reception there in June and we could not fault it. Planning for the day was made so easy with the expert and very efficient help of Carol Taylor and Alan Reid. Every detail had been meticulously set out in advance and went without a hitch. The atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. Guests commented on how well everything flowed on the day. The meal which was served under the watchful eye of Alan was excellent as was the service. Those who stayed overnight found the rooms very comfortable and breakfast was good. We could not fault the service and would recommend Murrayshall for a wedding without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MotherofBride2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at Murrayshall a few days ago. It was a perfect break - the hotel was lovely and I felt like I was living in "Downton Abbey"! The staff were very friendly, polite and most helpful. It certainly had a touch of real class - the staff even wore lovely white gloves to serve dinner! The food was excellent in every way and the golf courses were in a perfect setting with superb views from the Lyndoch course. My children had a superb time and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of having a short golf break, a wedding or even a longer break - quite frankly I really did not want to go home! Many thanks to all the staff in the hotel & the golf club.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a positive review, it means a great deal to all the management and staff, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having attended a conference recently held at the Murrayshall House Hotel, I was dismayed that after approximately 15 years of using this hotel for our conferences the recent service was not poor... it was absolutely appalling!

Our lunch was the bare minimum. Being vegetarian (well pescatarian actually, but no fish was available) I was given (on BOTH - of two - days) a smaller than even a starter size portion... AS THE MAIN COURSE. On the first day it was pasta, but it was well-overcooked and certainly not al-dente! The second day was actually a very nice risotto... but also a RIDICULOUSLY small portion!

At one point I asked if we could have some more bread at the table. The waitress left, and returned with the information that there was no more bread left! Hah!

During awful watery, insipid and tasteless coffee - in fact, the coffee supplied for the whole weekend was exactly the same... bad! - I again asked the waitress if she could supply a few biscuits for us to have (yes, I was still hungry from the lack of food). It was pretty obvious to myself and others that she immediately looked at the maitre'd' who blatantly gave a scowl of a look, enough to make the intimidated waitress realise that was not to happen.

As far as the carnivores amongst us were concerned, well, they certainly fared better but still somewhat lacking.

Thinking of holding a meeting or conference there? I wouldn't recommend it. Yes, it's an attractive venue but there are better places in the vicinity, places that *do* care about their clients.

Personally, I'm going to strongly recommend to our organisation that we look for an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniele I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We endeavour to ensure all guests requirements are met to ensure satisfaction during their visit to the property. we have not been made aware of your complaints during your visit During any conference we maintain a close liaison with delegates and organisers. As part of our routine follow up we have contacted the organiser whom has confirmed the conference went well and will be re booking the event for next year at Murrayshall.
If anyone wishes additional food served please just ask , it will never be an issue. During the event we served a 2 course lunch with tea and coffee and 2 additional servings of tea ,coffee and biscuits each day. We have received no other adverse comments during this event, if we are not made aware at the time we cannot rectify an issue. Our coffee supplier whom we have used for many years is Mathew Algie whom have an excellent reputation as a high quality supplier.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Around 70 people function, one night
Beautiful old house with lovely stone and wood, well groomed garden and grounds to charm you. Dinning room with lovely views.
Function of 4 courses with some choice was adequate with one dish outstanding.
Bedroom small but comfortable with everything you may need. Not as clean as you would like it (someone spilled what looks coffee on the bathroom door, this dried out, cleaner probably does not check bathroom doors both sides)
Old world grandeur fading so attempts to update (new bathroom fittings) are visible but look odd as more needs doing. Decor done by an amateur designer.
Front staff had no smile or a nice word,bordering on rude. Breakfasts staff untrained and unhappy (probably underpaid as well). They need lots of training and a new manager there.

Room Tip: Ask (pay) for a big room and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkwatch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We have received many other excellent reports regarding the quality of food and service at the event you attended at Murrayshall.
However we have not met your expectations and your issues have been discussed with management and staff.
But I would like to add that comments regarding staff rates of pay of which you have no knowledge or justification to comment on are I feel inappropriate and unhelpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
773 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
933 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
278 reviews
18.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing