We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First class treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I took a party of 14 people for a one night stay and playing golf for two days, the treatment we received in the clubhouse on arrival from Murray was first class and we were made to feel more than welcome, this treatment carried on in the hotel with the staff being very friendly and polite, rooms were excellent as was the food. Would definitely recommend this hotel and courses to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit and we hope you return to Murrayshall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    165
    66
    26
    9
See reviews for
64
239
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The special included one night B&B and two rounds of golf. We booked this through a Travelzoo offer of £99pp but later discovered that if we booked direct with hotel we would have got deal for £89pp! That said, we enjoyed our stay as hotel, accommodation (in separate annexe - only 200 yards from hotel), staff and meals were all excellent. Enjoyed golf but the climbs on the shorter Lynedoch course were somewhat tiring but nevertheless an interesting layout which we liked. We would do this again.

Room Tip: Didn't mind staying in annexe as it was very roomy and quiet - so can't comment on hotel roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are delighted you have enjoyed your recent visit to Murrayshall. Both golf courses are challenging and offer a varied and interesting round of golf. The wildlife and views on Lyndoch are in our opinion a great feature of the course and yes it is a reasonably physical course to walk.
There are of course motorised buggy's for hire from the pro shop which may be booked in advance. The Murrayshall suites which you stayed in offer a lot of space and are ideal for golfers , family's or a quiet peaceful break. Thank you once again for taking the time to give your comments, please check our website for seasonal offers for golf and short breaks during quieter periods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had an overnight stay with friends. Minot glitch at check in when our friends room was not ready even though we arrived after the published check-in time of 2 p.m.

Rooms were large and comfortable.

I had forgotten toothpaste and it was provided immediately (along with a complimentary toothbrush).

Meal at night was delicious - lots of clean plates!

Breakfast the next morning was delicious - great choices!

The hotel is surrounded by two golf courses (we're not golfers) but nice surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for the very positive comments ,it is a great staff incentive to know that guests have been happy with the service and facilities provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Food poor, service awful - do not waste your money going here. Not 4 star/2 rosette for food. Have been in better places which do not have as many stars and the service has been wonderful. They need to take a good look at themselves!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sui669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We have tried to trace your visit to Murrayshall without any success , A review of this nature is very disappointing, we invest a lot of time and money into ensuring the property is maintained to a high standard, staff training is always paramount. A review posted 3 months after a visit does not allow us any option to rectify any complaints or issues raised. If a guest is unhappy with any service provided please raise it at the time and we will endeavour to rectify the issue if possible.
The management and staff are dedicated to ensuring we maintain 4 star facilities and standards and we are fortunate to have consistently maintained a 2 AA rosette restaurant for over 18 consecutive years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have dined at the hotel (The Old Masters Restaurant) before and have always found it to be very nice. On this occasion we were looking slightly deeper as to service, taste and presentation of the food. We found that on this occasion, as others, the food was of very high quality and presentation. The service was impeccable. The views from the dining room are magnificent, over the golf course to the mountains beyond. If in the Perth area this is a perfect treat.

For more informal dinning Stutts Bar within the Hotel is equally as nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future. I will pass your review on to Chef and the team in the Old Masters Restaurant , thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed recently as we attended my friends . Upon initial contact we were given a very good rate on the room ( 26 ) and assured it would be held for us , which it was . After arrival we went down for a meal in the bar area that was okay but nothing to write home about. The room itself was lovely and had all we needed for our stay . The drink at the bar on the night of the wedding I feel was and is over priced but the staff are friendly. Breakfast in the morning was okay , I didn't have the scrambled eggs as they were floating in some sort of greenish liquid and everything is on hot plates , drying up quickly . It's not a bad hotel but it certainly could improve itself

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auchterarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed overnight in this beautiful location as a couple. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent as was the breakfast the following morning. Every member of staff encountered were superb, very attentive without being obtrusive & very professional....I should know, I've worked in such places.
If there has to be a negative comment it would be that the decor in the bedroom & bathroom was a bit jaded though we were led to believe that the rooms are undergoing refurbishments. The bedside tables were a little dusty but other than that our room was clean & very comfortable.
We would definitely return. The Sunday night deal looks very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 891free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHManager, Manager at Murrayshall House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, Chef and his team will be very happy to hear that you enjoyed dining in the Old Master Resteraunts and Stutts Grill. We have a rolling programme for refurbishing some of the bathrooms in the main hotel of which we only have a few left to complete.
Service is something we try very hard to achieve and its nice to know that we have succeeded in making your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
2.9 mi away
The Lodge At Perth Racecourse
2.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing