We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor, DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!! you have been warned!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murrayshall House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murrayshall House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Certificate of Excellence
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very poor, DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!! you have been warned!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

This was the one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The only nice thing was our evening meal which was in fairness really nice. We booked a superior room and we were extremly disappointed. On the website the says all superior rooms have views over the golf course onto the grampian hills this is not true our room had a view out the back of the hotel and was very small and in dire need of refurbishment. the hotel in general was very old fashioned and needed updating in some areas we saw suspicious looking stains all up the walls and in our room what looked like a blood stain on the wall, we also had sewage coming from the waste pipe. I did after initially going into our room go back to reception to say we were unhappy with the room and the attitude was well tuff thats one of our best superior rooms!!!! (i would have hated to have stayed in a standard room!). Ontop of this we went for lunch which was well below standard, we had finished off and sat waiting for the bill for around 15mins and in the end had to go find someone so we could pay. Then that night there was some sort of party directly underneath our room the music was very loud and kept going until the early hours of the morning (we could still hear music @ 5am!!!!) not exactly the relaxing break we had been so looking forward to. Then to top it all off in the morning we went for breakfast there was only 2 other partys in the dining room and we were directed to a table at the back corner i asked if it would be ok for us to sit at the window so we could have a nice view over breakfast, the girl said she would have to speak to a manager (WHY??, NOT EXACTLY A DIFFICULT REQUEST!!!) the manager came out and she said well your tables set here, basically whats your problem, so i said we would like to sit at the window to get a nice view. She said well you will have to wait a while for us to get this sorted, (ye it would have taken them all of 2 seconds to move over the butter!!!!) I finally said to forget it as it seemed like such a hassle for them, this summed up our stay at this horrible place. Unhelpful staff who made you feel like you were causing them problems. I would never even if offered a free stay go back to this place its is so not worth the money and i cannot believe it has a 4 star rating it does not deserve it. there are so many other nice hotels in the area which represent great value. Please dont go here as you will be disappointed. It was meant to be a nice relaxing break but it was the complete opposite we now wish we had stayed at home with a takewaway we would have saved over £200 and not have felt like we had wasted our money!!!! You have been warned!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    162
    65
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
234
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

The manificent grounds of this hotel are unfortunately not matched by the room. My wife and I attended a wedding and were not impressed by the room the stained bed cover and stained and faded pink velure bed headbord with the roll together mattress did nothing to add to the ambience of our thankfully short stay . Also beware of the hotel policy of taking non refunable deposits.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clishmaclaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just had 1 night break here with friends. It is a lovely hotel, in a great location, the grounds and golf cousres are amazing and well looked after. We had a standard room which was more than adequate but some of the furnishing a little tired lookng. There is a lovely ambience about the place, a wee bit up market, suited for a more mature crowd. The only complaint is that some of the staff could have been more friendly and compitent!
Especillay in the clubhouse bar, for a start although there were 3 staff on, and not rushed off their feet, after pondering over the menu fo a while, we still had to ask if we could order! Noticed the next table had to do the same! The food was good though.
We then went to pay at the bar, the girl added up our bill on the till, did not show it to us and asked for £80. I thought this rather steep as we only had 4 main courses about £9 each and 4 drinks. She then looked it at it again and mumbled something, and went and got another member of staff. They re added it up and charged us £60.10! And gave us a look at the reciept which this time was correct. I am glad I had queried it as we would have been over charged £20. It is no big deal, but the girl did not seem very appologetic!
The staff in the cocktail bar and the restaurant were very friendly and good, and so was the food. The wine list had plenty affordable bottles to choose from.
Did think the guy at reception who I think looked like the manager, as he had a jacket on, could have been a bit friendlier!
It costs nothing to be friendly and to make sure your staff are friendly, it definately adds to a more pleasent stay and makes you want to come back again and recommend it to others!
The guys enjoyed the golf, and we took a taxi to Perth, cost about £8, to do abit of shopping which we enjoyed and had a coffee and wine in a lovely bistro.
The place is trying to portray up market style, which it very nearly succeeds, but needs to improve a bit on service and friendliness to everyone, not just its regulars!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

I'm just back from a golfing break at this great hotel and golf club. The hotel was lovely, the food fabulous and the staff very friendly. And as for the golf. We played both courses on this break and i have to say the courses are amazing. If your looking for a challenge then the Lyndoch course is for you. I has everything you could ask for, and the scenery is to die for.
I would highly recommend Murrayshall for a group or couples.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGolfinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Ever looked forward to going back to the hotel? The rolling green hills, serene countryside, activities aplenty and comfort to match? Set on a golf course, with fantastic service from the staff, great food, comfortable rooms, Murrayshall has got it all. Just a short taxi ride out of Perth, I just can't get past the beauty of the grounds to uplift my spirits after a day at work.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed overnight in a spacious comfortably furnished room with lovely views of the surrounding countryside. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast the following morning was equally good.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I arranged for a group of golfers to stay at this hotel and had a good well priced package including golf..The bill was settled on leaving ,but not checked,as we were travelling to another golf course .Review of the bill revealed an overcharge of £176 (£22 per head) and this was accepted by the hotel following my telephone query-advised this overcharge was due to a computer glitch.However despite several calls to the Hotel with reassurances that a refund of £176 would be forwarded to me( "I will post it tomorrow"),the refund has not arrived.This is 20 days since my original query. This is poor post sales service and because of this I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apucr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scone
6.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
18.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murrayshall House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murrayshall House Hotel

Property: Murrayshall House Hotel
Address: A94 Coupar Angus Road, Scone PH2 7PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Scone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Scone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murrayshall House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With forty-one bedrooms including sixteen suites, all our bedrooms are individually styled, furnished and decorated, giving a unique blend of tradition and modern day luxury. All rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped, colour TV, telephone, Wi-Fi broadband Internet, tea and coffee making facilities, plus complimentary mineral water and shortbread. Every bedroom also includes a trouser press, high quality linen and a spacious well-appointed bathroom with luxury Elemis products. We can also provide a gun cupboard, golf club storage, fishing tackle storage and a drying room. Whether you're staying with us on a weekend break, for a romantic getaway, wedding or honeymoon, or for a field sports or golfing holiday, our varying styles of bedrooms can accommodate all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Murrayshall House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murrayshall Hotel Perth
Murrayshall House Hotel Scone, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing