We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ardgowan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardgowan House
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at Ardgowan for five nights recently. Overall it was a very nice stay. We arrived on a Friday so I'm not sure if the weekend staff differs from the weekday staff but we saw a few different people during our stay. We did have to ask for more toilet paper for our room but we had fresh towels everyday and the room was always clean. The room we had was a very nice size and had a private bathroom. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The House is just a short walk down to the town center and train station. This was my second stay in Paisley but my first at Ardgowan and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glitrberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Whilst working in Glasgow I stayed here. It has plenty parking is quiet even though on a busy road. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and refreshingly cool in this recent heat wave. The facilities are also clean and there is a very hot shower. Will definitely give it a top recommendation. Very good breakfast and very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlostico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

after staying here for a couple of days it has been the best hotel i have stayed in within paisley. would defiantly recommend it only 5 mins drive from the town center you cant go wrong. clean rooms done out to a high standard with good size TVs would recommend for contractors working away from home of for any one wanting to visit the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were warmly welcomed, the room was clean with en suite shower, no bath. We had a huge breakfast, freshly cooked. We were given good advice on where to eat in the evening. They have off road parking. Just what we needed before an early flight.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was my third stay here and would recommend it to all.Great location for Paisley center airport, and all trains into glasgow.This is a lovely b+b very warm and friendly spotlessly clean,with a great breakfast served by equally nice people. Hope to be back soon, thanks for another wonderfull stay. Kevin

Room Tip: simply explain what you need,the staff will look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevint667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardgowan H, Owner at Ardgowan House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Many thanks for your review, I appreciate you taking the time to do that and we look forward to hopefully seeing you for a 4th visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 13 year old son whilst back in Scotland for the second time on holiday. The staff there made our stay most enjoyable. Nothing was too much bother for them. The rooms we had were spotless; the food was good, especially the big breakfast. It was nice to relax at night in the cosy lounge with a wine & beer and my 13 year old also enjoyed it. 5 minutes from the Airport and an easy 10 minutes into the City Centre. For us as a family this B&B was ideal. There was nothing we could fault at this B&B. We will definitely be back when we return later this year for a 3rd time. A great experience. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardgowan H, Owner at Ardgowan House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, nice to see you back with us and all the way from Australia. See you here again soon I hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Of all the the years i have beeen travelling this has to be the worst place ever . Froot door of window was smashed, it was boarded at the back looked like it had been like that for some time. Place did not seem safe to stay in. Staff very rude and cold. asked to use the internet to book a flight and said no. Room was damp, cold, furniture looked like it was very old and would even put my clothers in the wardrobe. Im very surprised this place is still open. I should have read this trip adviser so i would not have to experince a very unwelcome stay. Only stayed for 1 nite and found a much better place for cheaper the price.

M.L

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardgowan H, Owner at Ardgowan House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Firstly I thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor and I acknowledge your feedback. However having read the comments I am a little confused.
You mentioned the front door being smashed - the glass section of the front door had been broken earlier on that day and we had already arranged for a new pane of glass to be ordered and it was due to be fitted within 48 hours. Unfortunately this is something that was out of our control, the door did have to be boarded for safety and security reasons, at no point was the property ever unsafe.
You were unable to use our computer - you had asked our receptionist if you could use the computer to book a flight and it was explained to you that unfortunately this would not be possible as it is the business computer and not for customer access which is the case in all businesses not just ours. It was explained however that we do provide free Wi Fi facilities which has proved to be popular and useful to a lot of our guests.
Room cold and damp - Every day we have our rooms checked, cleaned and serviced to a very high standard so I am disappointed to hear that you found it to be unsatisfactory. We certainly have no damp in our rooms and the heating is on every day. Your stay was in January which is a cold time of year and if you had spoken to reception we could have seen if the heating was at its highest or if it could have been turned up for you or we could have given you a fan heater for your room.
Staff rude - Again this I am very disappointed to hear, as all the staff are friendly and courteous and always aim to help guests whenever possible.
Again thank you for your feedback and I hope this has clarified your points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.8 mi away
Watermill Hotel
Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Paisley
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Normandy Hotel
Normandy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Renfrew
2,225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan House

Address: 92-94 Renfrew Road, Paisley PA3 4BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range: £32 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Guest House in the heart of Paisley, situated in an excellent location for Glasgow Airport, Bus and Train Routes and roads to Ayrshire and the Loch Lomond area.15 minutes and you are in the heart of Glasgow City Centre one of the best shopping areas in the UK.10 minutes away we have Braehead Shopping Centre which also has Xscape where you can see a movie, play bowling or enjoy the Ski-ing and Snowboarding zone, there are also endless places to eat and drink before moving onto the next activity.Also don`t miss IKEA in the Braehead centre too.Stay with us for a friendly warm welcome, various room sizes to choose from and a delicious cooked Scottish Breakfast included in your price.Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ardgowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel Paisley
Ardgowan House Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing