We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

No complaints. Stayed last week for five nights. Room 110 very nice with view over the mill race. Room was a bit hot but requested a sheet which was supplied. Bed very comfortable. Breakfasts had everything you could want. But the best thing was all the staff who were all extremely friendly. Special mention to the man who was on reception all night. Thanks a lot

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alix186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    108
    62
    59
    38
See reviews for
64
84
41
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a disappointing stay here in July 2014. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however the decor and furniture was very tired looking. We arrived late at night with some food but were told we could not eat it in the room so were left to eat outside in the rain.
The room was ridiculously warm when it wasn't even warm outside and you couldn't open the window for some fresh air due to the noise of the hammils outside.
That said, the view of the hammils and the old Cotton Mill is fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not take food with you as you will be left to eat it outside regardless of the weather conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markyboy1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paisley hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to stay for two nights after our wedding reception as it was in close proximity to the venue. We were allocated a room on the top floor, level 3. The room was lovely, nicely decorated with a good comfortable bed. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower was very good. The bedroom also had a flat screen tv with plenty of channels, a trouser press, kettle with tea and biscuits and also a hair dryer. There was plenty of storage for clothing if needed but as we only stayed two nights we didn't require them. We put the do not disturb sign up and the maid respected this by leaving clean towels outside the door. There was no noise other than traffic but if you close the windows then you heard nothing. The only reason I didn't rate 5 stars is down to the price. We were charged £126 for a two night room only stay which I felt was a little high, I think I was expecting a little more for my money. Staff were all pleasant and polite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Watermill for 1.night on the 13th June. The shower was just warm l, but the room was clean but with tired furniture in it.
Breakfast was really poor, considering you ordered your breakfast at the table, when it was brought to you it was not hot, and the bacon tasted funny.
I did tell the receptionist who took on board my disappointment and there was other customers who felt the same.
I have stayec in thia hotel 2 yrs ago and was satisfied with my stay.
On this occasion I felt that the price did not match the service or quaity of our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Tracey K,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We always have a lot of compliments about breakfast but this seems not the case this time.

I am sorry to hear your breakfast was served cold. This is not our usual standard as cooked breakfast must be served piping hot. I will check with the chef why he served you cold breakfast and why the bacon had a funny taste as we use the best butcher who supplies very high quality meat.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and I hope we get another chance in future to put this right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Old character hotel, great location, friendly helpful reception and bar staff, especially Paul our favourite bartender. A five minute walk to downtown Paisley, the Abbey, museum and library. Close to supermarket, which has a self serve restaurant. Great value!

Room Tip: No swimming pool or children's activities but could not back out of the selection on form, Trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Sheena B,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

I am pleased to hear that the building did not disappoint as it is a fabulous building full of character.

I have passed your kind words to Paul and he appreciates them.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked in for two nights as we're a fan of historical buildings. I'm pleased to say it was not disappointing. Very friendly and helpful staff when checking, the room was clean and had a wonderful view of the river and Anchor mill; an historical building which is a key sight of Paisley. The rooms were clean and breakfast comprised of a large selection of hot and cold food included in the price - non of this £10+ for breakfast extras which you are charged in many large chain hotels

Special mention must be made of the beds and pillows - the best mattress and pillows we have ever experienced in an hotel leading to two excellent nights' sleep

We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing a central hotel, that is cheaper than a chain hotel, and more character.

Room Tip: For a wonderful view ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisureTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Leisuretraveler 2014,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the area.

Once again, thank you for your time and for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a pretty stone building in downtown Paisley. The staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel pretty basic but the beds comfortable and the breakfast good. Nothing to rave about, but more character and fun than the airport hotels

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlSbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Watermill, General Manager at Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear KarlSbeck,

Thank you for taking time to review us.

Yes, the hotel is very centrally located, so ideal for anyone who wants to explore Paisley and the neighbouring areas.

I am pleased to hear that you found my staff friendly and helpful as they take much pride in their work.

Once again, thank you for the review and for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.4 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Paisley) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Hotel

Property: Watermill Hotel
Address: 1 Lonend, Paisley PA1 1SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Paisley and on the site of a 17th century Flour Mill The watermill Hotel preserves some of the original character and features of the Mill inside and out of the building.49 en suite bedrooms with freeview TV and views overloking the hamills river or paisley abbey and the historic town of Paisley. We have a restaurant and lounge bar on site along with a new built extension for holding functions upto 140 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing