We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely hotel”
Review of Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Watermill - the first was a year earlier for our son's wedding, with around 30 family members also staying three or four nights - and we returned for another family function, but just for a night. The bar area had been remodelled under the new owners and gave it a much-needed uplift. The restaurant remains unchanged but everything is spic and span. The bedrooms really are a little fried and tired and need some serious investment, though everything again was perfectly clean and functional

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear to watch the fishermen in the river.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnofHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Watermill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I spent 16 nights at the Watermill Hotel in July and August. Although the room was 'tired' and in serious need of decoration, it was clean and secure and the bed was comfortable. The windows only opened a little due to a rainwater gutter running horizontally across the window (top floor in converted loft space) but fans were available.
The food was of a very good standard and the bar was well stocked. Both a bar menu and restaurant menu was available.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and were willing to go that extra distance to make a long staff away from home for myself and my colleagues more comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble.
This could be a quaint hotel if some time and money was spent on the decor and the dreadfully slow lift.

Room Tip: small lift which is very very slow.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at The Watermill hotel in Paisley for six nights at the beginning of August this year. We wanted a hotel that was central and convenient for trips and visits in the area. This hotel was perfect in that regard. My expectations of a hotel are that it is clean and comfortable, the food is good, but, above all, that the staff are friendly and professional. This hotel ticked all of those boxes, particularly the staff, who were excellent at reception, in the dining room and bar and even the housekeeping staff when we met them around the hotel. We had a lovely stay and I was very impressed. I would definitely stay here again on any future trips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for five nights (30th July-4th Aug). The hotel is a very old building and the decor suits the building. The hotel is charming.
We were in a room which overlooked the river with the water cascading down the weir. It is noisey especially during heavy rain but it did not keep us awake and was a marvelous view. We saw an unusual breed of goose which we have still not managed to identify.
The hotel is clean and comfortable with a good working shower.
The breakfast was great. Plenty of choice and very hot and fresh. Tea and coffee were made fresh for each table of guests as the arrived.
There is a bar which was pleasant to use in the evening when we eventually returned to the hotel.
Every member of staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly.
The railway station is just a few minutes walk away with regular trains to Glasgow city center. Buses to the airport also run from the train staion. We got the bus from the airport to Paisley and then took a taxi back. The taxi was not much more than the cost of the bus fare.
Thankyou to the staff at the hotel, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valashby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No complaints. Stayed last week for five nights. Room 110 very nice with view over the mill race. Room was a bit hot but requested a sheet which was supplied. Bed very comfortable. Breakfasts had everything you could want. But the best thing was all the staff who were all extremely friendly. Special mention to the man who was on reception all night. Thanks a lot

Stayed: July 2014
Thank alix186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a disappointing stay here in July 2014. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable, however the decor and furniture was very tired looking. We arrived late at night with some food but were told we could not eat it in the room so were left to eat outside in the rain.
The room was ridiculously warm when it wasn't even warm outside and you couldn't open the window for some fresh air due to the noise of the hammils outside.
That said, the view of the hammils and the old Cotton Mill is fantastic and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not take food with you as you will be left to eat it outside regardless of the weather conditions
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markyboy1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband and I to stay for two nights after our wedding reception as it was in close proximity to the venue. We were allocated a room on the top floor, level 3. The room was lovely, nicely decorated with a good comfortable bed. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower was very good. The bedroom also had a flat screen tv with plenty of channels, a trouser press, kettle with tea and biscuits and also a hair dryer. There was plenty of storage for clothing if needed but as we only stayed two nights we didn't require them. We put the do not disturb sign up and the maid respected this by leaving clean towels outside the door. There was no noise other than traffic but if you close the windows then you heard nothing. The only reason I didn't rate 5 stars is down to the price. We were charged £126 for a two night room only stay which I felt was a little high, I think I was expecting a little more for my money. Staff were all pleasant and polite.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.4 mi away
Ashtree House Hotel
Ashtree House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Paisley
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
1.6 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Ardgowan House
Ardgowan House
#8 of 9 in Paisley
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Hotel

Address: 1 Lonend, Paisley PA1 1SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Paisley and on the site of a 17th century Flour Mill The watermill Hotel preserves some of the original character and features of the Mill inside and out of the building.49 en suite bedrooms with freeview TV and views overloking the hamills river or paisley abbey and the historic town of Paisley. We have a restaurant and lounge bar on site along with a new built extension for holding functions upto 140 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing