We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Paisley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashtree House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Found the hotel relatively easily and then enjoyed our five day stay at this lovely hotel during the Commonwealth Games. Easy 10 minute commute by train into Glasgow each day. We had a large room, Number 1, with an en suite shower room. Slept well in a huge king size bed, with very comfortable pillows - much better than most hotels.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and whilst my husband likes a cooked breakfast I am not a fan but thoroughly enjoyed my poached eggs on toast each day. We also enjoyed the fresh fruit and yoghurt each morning. The staff were very accommodating and we came down to breakfast early so we could get away to Glasgow for early starts at the Hockey and Netball.
We found it difficult to find places to eat in Paisley so ended up at the Pub next to the station on three occasions where we were impressed with the choice of food and prices(including drinks).
One or two little improvements in the room might be in order - a longer piece of string on the left hand blind so it's easier to pull down, two packs of biscuits and two drinking chocolates instead just one of each. Having said that these were minor things, the bed sheets were changed daily, the towels were lovely and fluffy, it was a great shower (but again we would have appreciated more than one shower gel over the five day stay) so thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RayLynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

An elegant guest house on a quiet street where we had a bright spacious guest room. Very nice hospitality and personal service by host Maureen Stewart. Good breakfast in lovely breakfast room. Cannot comment on dinner as we were there on a weekend when it is not served, but Maureen booked us for dinner all four nights we stayed there (two weekends), and within walking distance since we were without a car. The hotel is also within walking distance of the train station, where we were able to use the superb ScotRail network to get to Glasgow and other destinations. Paisley itself is a fascinating town with a number of historical attractions which should be given a little time to explore. Great alternative to staying in pricey Glasgow, especially with Paisley's proximity to the airport. Excellent value. The only caveat, the hotel is located at the top of a steep hill, which could prove a bit challenging for someone with a mobility issue like myself, but I managed it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We2love2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for one night at the end ur trip because we wanted to be close to the airport for the following morning's flight home. What a great find. We were given a very nicely furnished room with a beautiful bath! The staff was very friendly and while it's right in town, it's sits up a small hill tucked away from the main bustle of town. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRJLAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 night at the very end of a recent Uk trip - fantastic place. We were allocated a big room with 2 queen beds in it and a lovely bathroom. We stayed and had dinner aswell which was really nice and well priced. Staff were very helpful and as we had to leave very early in the morning to catch a flight they showed us where all the breakfast stuff was so we could have something to eat before we left. Great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed overnight en route from Carnoustie to our home in Campbeltown.
The welcome at Ashtree House was friendly and sincere. Our room was beautiful, spacious and tastefully decorated. There was absolutely no sound from neighbouring rooms or outside. We had a luxuriously comfortable sleep in our huge bed.
Breakfast before our departure was delightful, whatever we chose was freshly cooked and served with a friendly smile.
We felt thoroughly spoiled by everyone at Ashtree House.
Looking forward to the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a couple if colleagues. Very quiet area of Paisley, however nothing in area was open on a Monday eve (to eat) Staff very friendly and rooms were spot on. The best is left till morning. Breakfast was fantastic. Definitely Recommend to anyone planning a stay in the area. Lenny Henry eat ya heart out :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Methleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

What a lovely Georgian Hotel tucked away from the bustle of the City. Plenty of parking, a very warm welcome from this family owned and run hotel. Huge bedroom, bed very comfortable, warm, excellent shower, all amenities. Dinner presented in a gourmet way, and breakfast excellent. Great value for money. This gem of an hotel is only two miles from the airport. It is a little difficult to find due to the one way traffic system in Paisley. Get instructions from the owners if you do not have a GPS system. Business people as well as tourists were staying at this venue when we were there. Also a great place for meetings and gatherings. Ashtree House made our last night in Scotland so special, one to remember before we departed for Seattle. D & D, Redmond, WA., USA

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet, some overlooking a church, some a garden, some the shaded circular drive, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 591Daphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paisley
0.4 mi away
Watermill Hotel
Watermill Hotel
#9 of 9 in Paisley
362 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Glynhill Hotel & Leisure Club
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Airport
1 mi away
Travelodge Glasgow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashtree House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtree House Hotel

Address: 9 Orr Square, Paisley PA1 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Renfrewshire > Paisley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Paisley
Price Range: £70 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashtree House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful listed Georgian regency townhouse hotel with 15 en-suite rooms with all modern facilities. Located in the Central conservation area just minutes from the high street, museum, university and other town center attractions. Glasgow central is only 10 minutes away by rail. Glasgow International Airport is 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ashtree House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtree House Hotel Paisley, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing