We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Souter Johnnie's Inn
Ranked #21 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Lunch today.
Had high expectations as this restaurant has re-opened and was always a favourite. Menu vas varied with some appetising dishes. Food was great from a slightly overpriced menu in my opinion. Hardly service with a smile and staff not that attentive. Took too long to take our order and initially only interested in what we wanted to drink. Won't be hurrying back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AYRTTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    26
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
36
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Went for coffee this a.m. to see Mr Costley's new premises and we weren't disappointed. Décor lovely, staff lovely & we will definitely be back after studying the menu! Well worth a visit and can't wait to return to sample the menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Found this delightful place on way to Turnberry. Stopped for a quick lunch and was not disappointed. Food, service and surroundings were excellent. Pity it is nearly a 2hr drive from Edinburgh. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbow601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

First visit after re opening, the place was brighter but not quite as homely as the previous Souter's, the food was very good, but preferred the atmosphere of the old pub. The new Souter's is aimed more for passing trade than special events.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milliespringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Took my ma here for her birthday as it was handy for her, nice staff but if you seriously think that 2 green beans, a spoon of turnip and 2 potatoes constitutes vegetables then you really are having a laugh at customers expense. Cozy enough pub, and they do try to do interesting food but better to offer less choice and not skimp.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buckersdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craigie Guest House
Craigie Guest House
#28 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souter Johnnie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souter Johnnie's Inn

Property: Souter Johnnie's Inn
Address: 47 Main Road | Kirkoswald, Ayr KA8 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Souter Johnnie's Inn Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing