We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Souter Johnnie's Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Ayr
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western House Hotel(Ayr)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
55
29
6
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
29
6
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunch visitcajun salmongorgeous surroundingssoup of the daysundaefantastic mealcoursescostleytelevisionfab
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Renamed as Souters after a recent refurbishment due to a fire. The place has a light and airy feel about it.We had a meal here with friends mid week. What a great menu and wine list. Needless to say the food and service were first class. A must visit if you are in this neck of the woods. The Indian Spiced Beef lived up to its name. Excellent. Good sized portions made sure nobody went home wanting more. Reservations are not necessary but I would suggest booking as not to be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As many of the reviewers have said, the food was really great value for money and of a high standard. In a group of six we opted for a range of different starters including a half scotch egg - we were surprised it was only a half scotch egg but when the plate arrives you will understand why! Good sized portions all round. For mains we also tried several options, the slow cooked lamb stew was superb and the highlight of the meal. Service was very good, not rushed in any way nor left to wait too long. Staff friendly but not really necessary to share personal details with customers in order to come across as such! All agreed we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We called in last Wednesday for what we thought would be a nice pub food feed...... 6 hungry golfers having just played 36 holes around the challenging Turnberry resort. Wow how wrong we're we.
We all chose to eat from the set 3 course menu as it was only 6.30pm we could take advantage of this (it finishes at 6.45) 3 courses for £15 absolutely awesome value and the food quality Michelin star quality in my opinion.
Soup of the day liver and bacon followed by Apple crumble, old favourites been given a modern twist wow.
We were that impressed we went back again the following night on our way back from Royal Troon golf club.
Please try this place it's top notch food with star quality service......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Knocker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Service was excellent, even although the place was very busy. The set menu food was also excellent and very good value. Especially liked the fresh water prawns with the ginger and garlic and crispy veg., Will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited last week, very busy & fortunate to get a table. As others have said the bang bang calamari is lovely, king prawns & squid in a tangy sauce. The Asian salmon was cooked perfectly, maybe a bit much coleslaw- nearly a full plate of it!! Friendly staff, quick service. Lovely decor. The cakes & ice cream to purchase to take away looked amazing.will be back, would maybe book before hand to ensure a table.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sc0ts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews