We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what Scottish food should be!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Souter Johnnie's Inn
Ranked #24 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Sandstone walls, natural vibe, but with quirky industrial features, the decor is super. But the service allied to the quality of the produce is where this place excels. Eg, I liked the look of two dishes on the specials board, the response, "not a problem sir, surf and turf we can do". Fillet and lobster that were amazing. I'm 43 and it's one of the best meals I've had in 20years

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank StuartTelfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Souter Johnnie's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Staying a few miles away we went for a drive and stumbled on this wonderful place, fantastic food, good prices and it was so good we went back a couple of days later! The choice of food was great for all 4 of us

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Julesthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stumbled upon this gem of a restaurant while staying at the Turnberry resort down the road. Our dinner and desserts were so delicious we kept going back every night until we left the area. This restaurant will not disappoint your taste-buds and also not strip your wallet as prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We called in for coffee and scones early morning after recently arriving off the boat from Northern Ireland. It was our first time to visit the Inn. It is lovely inside with a very good menu. Honest opinion - the staff were not that welcoming and friendly. Coffees were delivered without comment. Scones were very nice. We decided to give it a second chance on our journey home. There was a good busy atmosphere in the restaurant. Staff just okay. Most disappointment was the coffee! We ordered Americanos - one to be decaf. Had to wait a while and we then saw a waiter carry a large tin of Nescafe from the kitchen in the restaurant to the coffee bar in the entrance way. We then received 2 very black looking coffees which were clearly not proper Americanos made with ground coffee. We were charged the same. The decaf was so strong we had to add lots of milk and it tasted disgusting and was basically undrinkable. The decaf was left barely touched and we clearly did not look happy. Nobody passed comments to us and we were both too tired at this stage to raise the issues. Not sure if we could recommend this place to anyone which is disappointing as it is lovely inside and the scones toasted were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinger321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We popped in around 2.30 for a coffee. Very modern decor - light and airy so we had great expectations. It had obviously been a very busy lunchtime - it took ages for our order to be taken and then the coffees were unceremoniously dumped on the far side of the table only just within reach with not a word spoken. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We popped in here for Sunday lunch after an overnight in Ayr and I have to say its just as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside. Decorated to a really high standard, the staff are friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent and roast beef in particular was lovely, albeit a tad too rare for my taste but great nonetheless. My husband had a sausage and bean cassolet and said it was so tasty. Only downside, we were too full to try the desserts, maybe next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First visit here since it had reopened after original restaurant burnt down. It was very good before so a bit cynical about new place.

Beautifully renovated and tastefully refurbished.
Coffee good - we didn't want a lot to eat so ordered sandwich for one which we intended to split. Pleasantly surprised as our one portion was served (without requesting it) to us on two plates, nicely arranged. Service good and good atmosphere.

Only comment is that scones are huge, but sometimes quality is lost in quantity.

Room Tip: Good two course lunch deal.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Ayr
Travelodge Ayr
#9 of 17 in Ayr
203 reviews
0.9 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.7 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craigie Guest House
Craigie Guest House
#28 of 53 in Ayr
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
2.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souter Johnnie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souter Johnnie's Inn

Address: 47 Main Road | Kirkoswald, Ayr KA8 0LQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Souter Johnnie's Inn Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing