We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ”
Review of Ayr India

Ayr India
Ranked #19 of 189 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Ayr India Restaurant In Ayr is well established and prides itself on quality authentic Indian cuisine and has the enviable position of having 2 beautiful restaurants in the heart of the seaside town.The long established Sea front restaurant, which is open daily from 4pm and more recently the restaurant in Alloway Place which is open for lunch as well as evening meals.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant ”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Just back in from a meal hear and would recommend to everyone. I'm not normally an Indian lover but i will be going again. Foods fantastic, staff was amazing only thing I would say is the price is slightly steep.

Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    65
    29
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and lovely staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had dinner here after the Scottish Grand National. The views are spectacular, out to sea and the food is reasonably good but the place, and it's menue probably needs updating, or a least a refresh. Nice place though and the staff are lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good value take away, nice food, tandoori mixed grill was huge, be warned garlic naan is very garlicky.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LPKLPKLPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“shocking”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Oh dear... where do I start, clearly the other reviews have never experienced a truly delicious curry?? We come from the west midlands and even one of the worst curry houses in brum, would have kicked the butts of this place..
We stayed in Ayr for a couple of days for business and decided to try here on the back of the recent reviews. We arrived to what looked like some tatty old balti house in a backstreet of Bradford. But before I begin about the food, can I just say the staff are well dressed and very pleasant. But there it ends, this place is ripping people off big style!!! Starters onion bharji dry over spiced and tasted like dough pats... I had veg biryani small amount of rice with a hand full of peas hardly any onions no egg, it had two tiny bits of cauliflower and a small slice of potatoes cut in half and the sauce tasted like something out of a packet, my husband has a chicken dish, he said the chicken tasted dry and burnt thick gloopy dull sauce, the peswari naan had the oddest colour in the center of it?? We have at least one curry out each week at different indian restaurants around Solihull , Warwick , Stratford upon Avon, Birmingham. We would love the owner to come with us for a real curry experience. Great views but what a huge disappointment with the food. I am a well travelled person, both here and abroad and a senior reviewer, so please do take these comments seriously.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food lovely view”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Vert tasty food and really friendly staff. I would definitely recommend it! Complimentary drink given at the end of the meal.

Helpful?
Thank Mmacm358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ayr India also viewed

Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Ayr India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing