We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bythesea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bythesea
Ranked #18 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mid Calder, West Lothian
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We returned from Bythesea this morning and would have liked to stay longer!

We booked a three night stay and were very impressed. The family room that we occupied was extremely well appointed and spacious, light and airy with heavy dark curtains which were useful on the bright sunny mornings that we experienced.

The bathroom housed a large shower and toiletries of a higher standard than one would usually expect for a similar price.

Our room was attended to on every day of our stay, surpassing much of the accomodation we have previously used in Ayr.

The weather allowed us to venture out every day of our stay. However the enclosed patio area and lounge with games console, television, board games and stereo would have made for an enjoyable stay should we have needed them. We were also provided with a front door key which allowed us to come and go as we pleased.

Breakfast is of an extremely high standard with a large choice; full Scottish breakfast, a vegetarian option or smaller options including croissants and breakfast rolls alongside a selection of fresh fruit, juices and cereals.

Our eight year old daughter has asked that I add that we would stay again, and from the visitors book in reception I would recommend booking in advance - with no reservations!

Many thanks to the staff who made us feel extremely welcome.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam_mclean71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you to The McLean Family for your positive review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again in the near future ....if you take a trip to Ayr.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay! The room I had was roomy and well decorated and quite comfortable. I was impressed that the room had among other amenities a small electric fan. Though Ayr doesn't usually get warm enough to use one it's good to have in the room. The entire hotel was very clean. The breakfast was cooked to order by a lovely lady who made me feel right at home. The Manageress was also very friendly and very approachable. The lounge area had a very large TV (the rooms had smaller ones) and a stereo. I will definately stay here again when I return to Ayr. By the Sea is a clean friendly place to stay where I feel welcome!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsamymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Amy

Thank you for your positive review.
We hope to see you again if you are visiting colleagues in Ayr.
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine and Vanessa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

This B&B was so lovely. We were in Room 6 on the ground floor, so the easiest of access for late nights (we attended a wedding reception in Alloway during our stay in Ayr) and was spacious enough for the two of us. Tasteful decor, extremely comfortable bed, very very clean, superb power shower and complimentary toiletries (which we didn't need to use) and a welcome tray with Tea, Coffee etc. The little touches of toiletries and biscuits with the Tea etc really mean a lot in terms of making a B&B more like home. The communal area was well equipped for cosy nights with huge screen TV, HiFi and comfy couches. The breakfast area was clean and bright.....and believe me when I say that the choices you could have at breakfast were endless.
If I return to Ayr, I will definitley return to bythesea, as the hospitality was fantastic and for a 4 star B&B like this, the rates are unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bee04121981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Bythesea.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic time at the wedding. The Brig O' Doon is an excellent venue.
We would love to welcome you both again!

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Beautifully finished throughout and with comfy beds, this place was a real find. Lovely B&B with a great breakfast - perfect if you're staying close the night before a ferry crossing. We stayed in room 3 - it was comfy, had a good ensuite and was a good size. It was very windy when we were there - bit of a draught from the windows, but not really an issue when the curtains were pulled. Would heartily recommend this place to anyone staying in Ayr. Now if the town could just scrap their ridiculous voucher parking system...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Bythesea.Your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Julie and Wilson McIlwaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed here while attending a wedding nearby. We called the evening before to find out if we could check in early (around noon) and they were happy for us to do that. We stayed in the attic room, which was lovely. The room wasn't huge, but it was beautifully furnished with a really comfy bed with lots of nice cushions. The bathroom was small but very clean and toiletries were provided (a nice bonus in a B&B). Cooked breakfast the following morning was really good, although you had to pick what you wanted to have the day before. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Great location for Ayr town centre, beach etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MhoMho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bythesea.

When guests are attending weddings we do our utmost to ensure they can have early access to their rooms so they can get ready.

We have recently up- graded our en-suites to a new luxury brand of toiletries and we are getting really good feedback on this.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Was a nice enough place to stay but did not like the fact that there was no one to meet us when we arrived. Had to telephone the owner before we got in. We had the attic room which was ok but shower on the small side. No room for our own toiletries. Breakfast was lovely and enough for us.Our stay was nice but would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferguson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bytheseaAyr, Manager at Bythesea, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Unfortunately I was picking family up from Prestwick Airport when you arrived at the Guest House. If we have to 'go out' we have procedures in place so our guests can get direct access to their rooms. We did try to contact you prior to your arrival but unfortunately we couldn't get a hold of you and I do remember apologising on the phone that we were not there when you arrived and that i would see you both within the hour.
With regards to the lack of facilities we have installed new bathroom cabinets in all our en-suites.We listen carefully to our customers and try to improve our business to meet ther individual needs where possible.
We are disappointed your stay was not to your expectations and would love to welcome you back to see if we could perhaps change your mind about Bythesea!

Kind regards
Julie McIlwaine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

What a gem of a place.!! We were very impressed. Our twin room was in the attic. Not massive, but very comfortable. Tastefully decorated, as were the public rooms. Large bathroom with enclosed shower. Toiletries were provided, also lovely clean fluffy towels. Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Terrific breakfast. Something to suit all tastes. This has to be the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in, and puts some of the bigger hotels to shame.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassimocoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burnside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing