We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We recommend Bythesea!”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #15 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elvanfoot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We recommend Bythesea!”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our family group took three rooms at Bythesea and we all had a lovely time. It's well located, spotlessly clean, has wonderful beds, serves fantastic breakfast and the staff are friendly and warm - we found nothing wrong at all during our stay.

One of the highlights for me was hearing the sound of banter and laughter coming from the kitchen while we waited for breakfast. It's not often that one comes across people so happy in their work and it makes a big difference.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 and the bed in there was superb. It's firm, but I like it like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
49
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Lovely wee guest house 5 minutes walk from Ayr town center. Made feel welcome. We were in an attic room which may have been a challenge had we been any taller but room was spotless and very well equipped. Bed was very comfortable and room was cosy. Breakfast was lovely and there was the widest choice I've ever seen in such a small B&B. I would certainly go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amasco8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hubby and I booked a cpl nights here,Saturday and Sunday, for our Wedding Anniversary, from start to end of stay it was great. The place is immaculate, We were in room 2 on first floor, lovely room, view wasn't great but that didn't bother us, the bed was soooooooooo comfortable, the room itself was lovely. I think it's great you get to order your breakfast the day before, you get exactly what you ask for and it is fab. I happened to mention it was our Anniversary and when We got back in from a shopping trip there was a lovely btl of wine a big box of chocolates, Thanx very much, We thought it was a lovely touch. We will be back soon. Oh forgot to mention the biscuits and the tablet was lovely with a wee cup of coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I agree with all the comments on here. Its just a great place to stay. The location is brilliant, so close to the beach for walking and easy reach for the town centre. Facilities were brilliant much more than you would expect in a guesthouse. Definately returning here.

Room Tip: First time staying here, room was on the front of house at road side but there was no trouble with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed in the twin room on the ground floor which I had requested for ease of access. The room was spacious and cosy. I enjoyed having the use of the lounge where I chatted to staff and other guests - when traveling alone this makes a difference. The Scottish breakfast was good and the shortbread biscuits melted in the mouth. Staff were warm and friendly and helpful in regards to directions and finding a place to eat. Being close to the beach was lovely and I was even lucky enough to enjoy some sunshine

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We booked this at the last minute, because of short notice and just needing a break away for the night, this was the first place I tried, and was told there wasn't any rooms available at first, then the owner called me straight back and said she accomadate us, (you would get that any where else!) I've been and worked in Ayr loads of times and always styled in hotels, but this guest house change my mind for the future! It was immaculate, welcoming, very well decorated and the room had everything you could ask for, iron board, iron, hair dry airier and straighters (not that I need them! Lol) and loads of stuff, the breakfast was amazing and anything you wanted was there! Brilliant stay and thanks again for calling me back, I'll defo be contacting you again, John & Lorraine

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JH03DUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Quiet avenue two blocks from the beach and a few blocks from the city center. Absolutely loved the rustic feel of the rooms and appreciated the use of reclaimed wood and fixtures. Breakfast was excellent. Check in & Check out was very smooth and the owners were attentive. We were only there for a night but the 80 quid rate for a family en suite was an excellent value

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#5 of 54 in Ayr
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing