We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base to take in the peaceful and picturesque coastline of Ayr”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #16 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A perfect base to take in the peaceful and picturesque coastline of Ayr”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Our family of 3 (including a 19 month old little girl) stayed here having travelled north from Leeds to attend a friends wedding. The bride and groom had recommended this guest house and it easily met the expectations. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming and relaxed and the staff were extremely helpful and kind. The room was impeccably clean and extremely comfortable and also offered all the important appliances/luxuries like hairdryer, tv, kettle, iron (with board), shower gels, not to mention generous supplies of coffee, biscuits and toffee. The breakfast was lovely with a wide range of cooked or cold options available, all served with a smile and well presented. The communal lounge was also v relaxing and comfortable. Parents thinking of coming here with kids might also like to know the cots/bedding were of high quality and high chairs were available. We used the opportunity to walk along the coast at Ayr the day before the wedding and the morning of it, and both times we were taken aback by the natural beauty of the area. Overall, if we came back to Ayr we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHammerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
50
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Also stayed for a couple of nights in May and had a very comfortable stay, room at the top was
fairly small but not too small to feel uncomfortable. The bed was big and we slept like logs, everything clean and tidy with lovely decor. The breakfasts were awesome (thanks Julie) with plenty of choice for everyone. Brilliant stay and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismac045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at Bythesea for a couple of nights in May and we had a very pleasant stay. The twin room we had was small but perfectly formed - the space was utilised very well. The décor is modern - some B&B's can be a little shabby, but not this one. It is very well kept, clean and tidy. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious - not rushed at all and the staff were helpful and friendly. The Guest House is a short walk from the sea and the main town, so it was an ideal base for us to explore Ayr although the weather was a little iffy, but nothing could be done about that! The mainline station is close by, so was quick and easy for us to get to after our long journey from Kent. We thought it was excellent value for money and we really can't think of anything negative to say about it - don't hesitate to pay Bythesea a visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a great little bed and breakfast hotel sited very close to the seaside and the local ammonites of the town of Ayr.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our requests.
As a family group we occupied the three double rooms on the first floor and each of them was well appointed, warm and spotlessly clean. There is also alight and airy lounge on the ground floor in which to sit with a book.
The breakfast was well presented and plentiful served by very attentive and friendly staff.
I couldn't fault this hotel and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I made reservations online and arrived after flying from Oregon. The keys were left by the front door- but we did not get instructions to that effect and no one answered our phonecall or the at the door. Another guest came by and showed us where the keys were. There was an envelope with our name on it. We got a downstairs room . It was tiny- two single beds with a small desk that there was no room for as well as a chair which also crowed the room. There was really nowhere to put our luggage (one small suitcase each) even on the floor. The en-suite bathroom was also tiny. Like a small head on a small boat.
The next morning the breakfast was good. Plentiful and tasty if not fancy. The next night they put us in an upstairs room- very different experience. The room was bigger and quiet and comfortable (although the walls were a bit thin.) The wifi had reasonable bandwidth but the water heater didn't well with no instructions on how to use it and the symbols were not intuitive- or the thing was just broken.
The folks that run it are earnest and friendly,and tried to address things quickly when brought to their attention.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardg820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elvanfoot
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our family group took three rooms at Bythesea and we all had a lovely time. It's well located, spotlessly clean, has wonderful beds, serves fantastic breakfast and the staff are friendly and warm - we found nothing wrong at all during our stay.

One of the highlights for me was hearing the sound of banter and laughter coming from the kitchen while we waited for breakfast. It's not often that one comes across people so happy in their work and it makes a big difference.

Room Tip: We were in Room 4 and the bed in there was superb. It's firm, but I like it like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Lovely wee guest house 5 minutes walk from Ayr town center. Made feel welcome. We were in an attic room which may have been a challenge had we been any taller but room was spotless and very well equipped. Bed was very comfortable and room was cosy. Breakfast was lovely and there was the widest choice I've ever seen in such a small B&B. I would certainly go back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amasco8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#15 of 17 in Ayr
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
1.2 mi away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing