We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #17 of 54 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here 29th March 2014 for 1 night with my husband and cannot complain about anything.
Our room had a very very comfortable double bed, tea & coffee facilities, en suite bathroom and flat screen tv. It also had an iron & board, hairdryer, mini hair straightners & hot water bottle which we didnt need as the room was lovely and warm.
The room was spotless. The breakfast was lovely.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
49
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

booked 2 double rooms for an overnight stay with friends in ayr for my husbands birthday guesthouse is in a good central location. We were all made to feel very welcome upon arrival Rooms were beautifully decorated comfortable and clean and had tea/coffee facilities hairdryer, iron, ironing board and even a hot water bottle. We went down to the spacious lovely lounge to watch tv and have a wee drink and a chat before heading out for dinner. we enjoyed a great nights sleep beds were big and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and it was good to be able to order the night before and get exactly what you wanted cooked fresh even the slight mix up was quickly laughed of by ourselves getting a pot of tea instead of coffee but was quickly rectified . We will certainly book here again on our next outing to ayr .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scully2052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdour, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great location, , excellent value and friendly hosts. The room was very clean bathroom large. The breakfast was superb with a great choice. Stayed only one night but will definitely be back next time we are in Ayr

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Myself my wife our 4 year old daughter and 11 month old son.stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting christian around britain on his walk around the entire coastline of Britain. The room was lovely and clean,the location perfect, the staff efficient and friendly and the breakfast was superb.they even gave christian breakfast on the house to aid his 23 mile walk to girvan on behalf of help for heroes as he was sleeping rough to highlight the plight of homeless ex servicemen and they made him welcome to join us in our room for coffees. Brilliant guest house with brilliant facilities and service at a good price. Thanks the inbo, s

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inboaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went here for an overnight bed and breakfast deal to the by the sea hotel in Ayr Ayrshire,I can't say a bad thing about this hotel everything was brilliant and very clean all the staff are very helpful and friendly,all in all great wee hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 992Chrisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Booked originally on the web through booking ,com had workforce booked in excellent they could not say anything bad so I went and had a super room clean tidy warm bathroom was great willbe booking my workforce to stay through January fir Extra four week 6 men ps breakfast really starts the day off well thanks

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank srwhit1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This family guest house is stylish and staff are friendly and helpful. The quality of rooms and breakfast is outstanding and the overall ambiance and atmosphere is excellent. The rooms are stylish and very clean with a warm and friendly welcome at breakfast. The staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Overall, this is an excellent accommodation and they deliver the promise of quality and excellence. Definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fambach1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 54 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing