We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed expectation”
Review of Bythesea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bythesea
Ranked #14 of 53 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Surpassed expectation”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Ideally situated , 5 minutes walk to the beach and close to the excellent Wellingtons Bar and West Kirk Wetherspoon. Very friendly staff with excellent attention to detail and a brilliant breakfast selection . Rooms were very clean with a wide range of tea's as well as locally made shortbread , bottled water and good quality shampoo and body wash. Highly recommended.

Steve N

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
50
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a fantastic guest house. I reckon it had everything from the chocolate éclairs in reception, fantastic bed and room to a delightful breakfast certainly the full works from cream with you porridge to bacon, sausages, square sausages, black pudding and haggis. The B and B is in a lovely terrace of similar B and B's very near the sea front and 5 minutes from town.
Mine hosts were all extremely friendly and helpful.
A brilliant B and B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone8906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

One block away from the Beach, this B&B is first class. Everything it has is quality from the type of soap in the bathroom to the massive cooked breakfast.
The bedroom was spacious as was the bathroom with a large shower room.
Check out was 11am which made a nice change to most of the 10am places.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a part sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyH1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Touring Scotland we decided to visit Ayr on an overnight stop - By the sea - It looked good on the net so we made a booking prior to leaving home especially as it was a bank holiday Sunday. We arrived early afternoon to a very pleasant reception by an excellent host was shown to our lovely clean and tidy room given a brief explanation of the area. You could just catch a glimpse of the sea from the window but still very pleasant - Given a street parking pass for the night and then we visited the highlights. It is very close to the Esplanade just a few streets back towards the town centre and less than a couple of minutes walk to the high streets restaurants and shops. The breakfast was first class and very plentiful - Porridge was out of this world. and the Black puddings and Haggis exceptional. Would definitely stay again this time for longer as it would make an ideal weekend or longer location for a break in Ayr and for touring the surrounding outstanding beauty spots.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked on-line, and called and emailed to confirm that we were booked at Bythesea for our three day stay in Ayr. This might sound negative, but please keep reading. When we got there, they had overbooked the hotel and did not have a room for us. But this is when good turned to great. They have another B&B down the street, and gave us a room there. They were very apologetic, and extremely accommodating. The owners could not have handled it better, I would highly recommend staying at either property just based on the service of the staff, let alone the beautiful rooms and accommodations. The breakfast that was served, was the best we had on our entire 2 week vacation. Well worth the visit. We hope that someday we can return and stay with them again. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden level or the upper level with the ocean view. Both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can a say ,room was beautiful , loads of selection for breakfast , very friendly , big spacey place , anyone that is looking to come to ayr this is the place , very quite place no noise , near the beach and loads of shops , loads of eating places

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Bythesea guest house is a clean and well run b and b with a spacious family room fully equipt with xbox and stuff for the kids,room nice and clean and comfy,and the breakfast alone would nearly be worth the amount we paid for a room for the night, which.was on laterooms for £40, friendly staff as well which means we will be back , thanks again !

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JonLinzyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Craggallan Guest House
0.0 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.0 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#6 of 53 in Ayr
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bythesea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bythesea

Property: Bythesea
Address: 16 Queens Terrace, Ayr KA7 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bythesea 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house has recently been fully renovated and tastefully furnished throughout to a high standard retaining many of the original Victorian features. bytheSea is a family run business and on arrival you will receive a friendly welcome from Julie and Wilson McIlwaine. bytheSea is situated within a prime, central location 100 yards from the beach, children’s outdoor and indoor play areas and a five minute walk from excellent restaurants, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bythesea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bythesea Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing