We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for everything”
Review of Woodcroft Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodcroft Cottages
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Ballyclare
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Handy for everything”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Met by owner Mrs Hardie who was very helpful with everything. 2 bedrooms, 1 twin & 1 double, roomy enough, plenty of storage space. Adequate size of living room & kitchen which included small dining area. Enclosed back garden, patio area.
Situated 5min walk from shops, 10 to beach. Very quiet area.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
raymond, nh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the woodcroft cottage and loved it. !!! The living rooms was beautifully deocrated and very romantic with the gas stove. I loved the kitchen and bedroom. My favorite was the beautfiul gardens in the back yard where my husband and I would sit in the conservatory and enjoyed every moment we were there. The place was immaculate!!!! Ms Hardie was very friendly and I sat with her for a spot of tea. It is a wonderful place to stay. My inlaws live in Ayr and we will definately go back again. No need to worry about this cottage. It is beautifully decorated and very clean. We loved it.....Best of it was a very quiet area of town. It was well worth it for us to be there. Stef and Dan USA

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smullaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We rented the Dairy cottage twice this year. 3 weeks in January and 2 weeks in May. We really like this cottage. The location is very good. Walking distance to beach and town centre. . There are also several hotels and restaurants nearby, where you can have very good meals. The cottage is located in a quiet but very upmarket part of Ayr. The cottage itself suits us very well. We always have family from Glasgow and Edinburgh staying over a couple of days. With the two bathrooms an three bedrooms there is plenty of space for everyone. The place is clean and perfectly equipped with Sky television and WIFI.
We also like the fact that the owners live nearby. When you arrive for the first time they give you a warm personal welcome and instruction of the heating, Kitchen equipment, Sky television, WIFI etc. We experienced also that they react very quickly and friendly if you need more help or when you have questions about the cottage or the area.
We certainly recommend this holiday cottage!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koos772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Dairy Cottage for one week. The first thing that struck us on arrival was the homely feel of the cottage, and how immaculately clean it was. On arrival, Mrs Hardie had a tea tray lined up with the most scrumptious home made fruit cake for us all to enjoy, as well as fresh flowers on the table. The kitchen was spotless, with sparkling cupboards and appliances, big family fridge-freezer, and everything one needs to make cooking whilst on holiday, a pleasurable and efficient experience. All appliances of the best quality. The huge sitting room has wonderfully comfortable sofas, cushions and tartan rugs for snuggled evenings by the fire!The bedrooms had comfortable, fluffy, beds and boy, were they warm! You are spoiled for choice: you can either relax in bath, in the bathroom downstairs, or enjoy a nice hot shower upstairs. My dog Johnny, felt perfectly at home in the pretty garden that he claimed for himself and had a great time playing ball in the lawn. The cottage is just a stone's throw from Ayr's city centre, located in a quiet neighbourhood of beautiful tree-lined streets and, oh, so very peaceful and quiet. Mr and Mrs Hardie (the landlords) welcomed us warmly and were there for us with useful tips for exploring the area. We had a wonderful, restful, and extremely comfortable stay at the Dairy Cottage. In order to appreciate it, you have to experience it yourself. Do it! Edna, Beto and Vania- London

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many cottages over the years with no problems.
The state of this place on our arrival was a surprise and shock!

Main issues, (see photos).

- 2 pairs of the owner's dirty slippers in hall to greet our arrival!
- beds were not made up in all rooms.
- toilets stained with faeces and urine.
- dirty windows and mirrors covered in fingerprints and dust.
- mouldy shower head, with hairs!
- mouldy shower seals.
- mould in bedroom ceiling and around window.
- butter and crumbs on kitchen table.
- bedding throughout did not look fresh, or even clean! Hairs in beds.
- drawers were very dirty inside and had some rubbish within.
- coffee stains on bedside units and flaking surfaces.
- switches and sockets throughout were stained, grubby and sticky!
- dirty and stained towels.
- lighting falling out of kitchen pelmets.
- lots of light bulbs not working.
- taps in bathroom were filthy in grooves and didn't work well.
- cupboard door handles all felt sticky and dirty in kitchen.
- chewing gum stuck to window upstairs.
- ash tray with cigarette butts on outside table.
- carpet in lounge stained in various locations with orange (vomit?).
- smell of sick around sofa nearest door in lounge.
- lots of old children's toys in garden.

We were in the fortunate position of having only paid £150 deposit, not full
amount before arrival. This meant we were not captive tenants and were able to leave the following morning and pay for alternative accommodation at short notice without having to seek refund. We left quickly desperate for a shower! Most of the morning however was spent looking for accommodation as the area was busy over Easter. We did end up in an hotel nearby with a lot of additional expenses.
Owner apologised and did promise us full refund of deposit following discussion and exchange of emails, however once cheque arrived they had retained £50 cleaning!!

I have had an apology from the owner, but no acknowledgement of poor standards!
All very unfortunate as they are nice buildings in good locations!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rr960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anneh23, Owner at Woodcroft Cottages, responded to this review, 25 December 2014
This family stayed 1 night and asked for the full amount back. I gave him £100 back and held £50 for the 1 night they stayed with their dog, which I thought was fair. They pulled all bed covers off all beds leaving them on the floor.

The toilet has been completely changed as the loo seat had metal fixings they had gone rusty and were bleeding rust so the whole thing has been changed so it was not the dirt that he described but just rust from the metal fixings.

The shower has been retiled as had been planned.

The slippers were not the owners they were airline slippers left by a guest, and have been removed.

The crumbs on the table were just where the cleaners basket was and she lifted it without wiping under is so there was very few crumbs.


There was not mould on the ceiling but there was paintwork stains from a very difficult to fix leak this leak has been repaired now.

The bedside tables have been painted over.

The kitchen units are Almilmo and beautiful shiny red. the housekeeper takes great pride in keeping this lovely kitchen clean.

The carpet had a spill of Iron Bru (a sparkling orange fizzy drink) which has been attended. The carpets are all cleaned regularly and look clean and fresh. There was no sick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Garden cottage was not to our expectations. First of all we were disappointed with the living room, which was really smal and did not have a 3 seater sofa as it was advertised on their website. It has only 1 two seater wooden sofa and two wooden chairs. The Television is small and did not have much choice of channels. The carpet in the living room was dirty. The cups in the kitchen were dirty. The bedrooms upstairs had spider webs and spiders all over. My kids did not want to sleep in those bedrooms because of the spiders. The floors are squeaky and you can hear speaking from these bedrooms when you are downstairs. The owner asked us to bring our own towels because she likes to keep the laundry down, which we thought was really strange request as we stayed in a lot of places in a lot of countries and never had to bring our own towels (you don't travel with your own towels..). Unfortunately you can not see all these negative sides on the website.We were very disappointed by our experience in this cottage, it is not worth the money (no Internet either) and we would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't trust all what you see advertised on the websites. Read as more reviews as possible before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna72Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anneh23, Owner at Woodcroft Cottages, responded to this review, 25 December 2014
This family from Dubai did not pay for the 2 weeks that they had booked. The family was supposed to be a group of 4 or 5.However another family group of daughter and at least 1 child were comming to stay so they could not put them all up in Garden cottage so they had to find a larger property.

They were asked to pay but moved away and refused to pay.

The lounge is large enough for 5 people but not more.

There is now a 3 seater sofa.

There is a new slimline television.

I have a new very good housekeeper .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Garden Cottage for a full week over Christmas 2011. Mrs Hardie (owner) made the booking process very easy and was more than happy to accommodate any other requests we had prior to arrival.
The cottage itself is beautiful, very clean and so well equipped. I found it a very comfortable stay with our two small children and would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. It is located at the end of a quiet cull-de-sac and so we didn't have to worry about people walking past or any noise. We had a wonderful stay and I am looking forward to going back to Prestwick to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky and Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.3 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
0.1 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 54 in Ayr
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miller House Guest House
0.7 mi away
Daviot House
Daviot House
#4 of 54 in Ayr
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodcroft Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodcroft Cottages

Property: Woodcroft Cottages
Address: 23 Midton Road, Ayr KA7 2SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Woodcroft Cottages Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing