We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd visit and already booked the 3rd”
other travellers have booked this property
Doonbank Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy Doonbank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Cottage
River Doon
Woodland
River Doon
Woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd visit and already booked the 3rd”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Just returned from our second visit to this amazing place, we new what to expect this time and wasnt disappointed, we had to change our booking due to personal issues but Susan and Chris were very understanding and accomodating moving our holiday forward a week which left us less stressed.Visited a few different places this year, Croy beach was deserted (great for the dogs) also visited Stinchar Valley (definately recommend this one for stunning views) .
Roll on next November only 363 days to go.....and counting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmofud
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at this cottage, we have had a relaxing break in the spacious yet cosy place.
The open fire in the evenings was lovely, the view in the garden of the river Doon is amazing.
Our three Jack Russell's had a great time in the garden and walking along the river.
I would recommend this cottage to anybody especially if you want to holiday with your dogs.
My only complaint is that we had to come home!!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
db0310201...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dog Friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with friends in June for my 40th Birthday.
Cottage is very spacious which is a bonus when you have 5 dogs between you.
Good quality furnishings, (we take throws to cover sofas as our dogs do like to make themselves at home)
Good size bedrooms with comfy beds and plenty of hanging space, large bathroom plus 2 separate toilets.
Lovely kitchen with an excellent cooker, only draw back was the fridge was a bit on the small side for 4 of us.
Great dog walking on the door step and also to travel to, we liked Maidens Beach and the beach at Dunure, the pub at Dunure serves the most amazing food.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee E
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying in holiday cottages in most parts of Scotland for over 12 years now, and can honestly say Doonbank Cottage is without doubt the finest we have found for both people and their pets. We have just returned from a truly memorable week. The weather was better than we could have hoped for, indeed it was a Scottish record breaker for March while we were there. Which was wonderful for us and our dogs, as it meant we could really appreciate the garden and eat outside, and the dogs enjoyed thier daily swim in the river.
It was still warm enough in the evening to sit and watch the wildlife, we saw the deer on most evenings, with the rabbits and pheasants, and just sitting there listening to the river, was so special, the memory will stay with us for a long time. We did visit Croy beach, because of the unusually hot weather, and again another dog friendly place. We could have visited more, but the cottage was so special, we just didn't want to be away from it for too long, and it became our home from home.The cottage is furnished to a high spec, with comfy leather sofa's and luxury bedding and towels.The amount of information in the study is invaluable for planning a days walk. Chris and Susan have thought of everything, as though we were their friends who are coming to stay for a week. The only sad part is having to leave this magical place, but the memories will stay with us ( and our dogs) forever.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doonbank for dogs”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
5
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic cottage, gorgeous rooms, very spacious, had absolutely everything you need for a self catering holiday.We stayed with our 2 Tibetan Mastiff who had a fantastic time in the garden and woods.We stayed in November and were really lucky with the weather. Very close to Ayr beach and a short trip to Troon beach. Even though you were just off an estate you wouldnt know, even when we walked the dogs around the area we very rarely saw a soul.

The library is full of info on what to do and really helped us pick a few walks (and a very nice takeaway).

We will definately be returning, hopefully next year and would recommend (especially to dog owners).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catwolf72
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and then some!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My family plus our five boarder collies stayed here over the August Bank Holiday and had one of our best breaks yet. The house was clean, spacious and well set up with everything we needed and the grounds were absolutely fantastic for the dogs who I think had a better time than we did.
Easy to get to and perfectly situated for exploring the local area, we will certainly be revisiting the area and this property.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrminty10...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious Doonbank Cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

The house is set in wonderful grounds and having good weather for
the week meant we could use it to the full. Great walks along the
river. Very relaxing.Easy access to Ayr as well just 10 mins drive
away. Ample grounds for our dog Sweep to roam freely as well.
Spotlessly clean.
As I mentioned earlier we used the cottage to the full and therefore
only eat out twice during the week. We went to The Rupee room for our
'traditional' golf holiday curry night which was really good value and
good food. On the Friday we went to the Brig O Doon House hotel. Lovely
setting and once again good value and good food. My youngest son is a
chef so a bit of a busman's holiday for him .
My two sons and I played golf 4 times during the week and found the
cottage to be a great base as the courses are within easy reach. My
eldest son John got engaged to his girlfriend whilst we were there
making the holiday even more memorable.
We all agreed that it was one of the best holiday's we had and I
enjoyed it even more as I won the 'Crilly' golf tournament for the
first time in it's 6 year history. So the cottage did me some good.

Once again many thanks for allowing us to use the property.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;