We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than we could have wished for.”
other travellers have booked this property
Doonbank Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy River Doon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy
River Doon
The bedroom has lovely views through the Julienne balcony to the woodland and along the River Doon.
Woodland
French partridge visit us during the early summer
River Doon
Woodland area for your use
Walks along the river - just 30 seconds away from the bothy.
Woodland area for your use
Plenty of tourist brochures to peruse, along with a Samsung tablet to check out online websites.
During spring, the woodland is covered in wild garlic.
Fully stocked kitchen.
Occasional deer visit the garden areas
Our bothy sits within the grounds of Doonbank Cottage
The squirels are regular visitors
Phesants are regular visitors to the woodland
Betsy and Gemima, our two Aylesbury ducks will be happy to chat with you!
Betsy and Gemima, our two Aylesbury ducks love all things water!!
The view from the Bothy bedroom looking down the River Doon
As well as the woodland, you also have you.r own private back garden
Our free range chickens: Hetty; Henrietta; Mable; Millie and Bluebell.
Duel aspect patio doors open up to the back garden and patio area.
Modern bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dongerry5
Supply, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Better than we could have wished for.”
Reviewed 5 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

We have stayed in a few self-catering cottages in England over the last few years, but Doonbank certainly gave us more value for for our money than experienced in the past. For a golfer, the location is ideal. Alloway is a treasure - check out the local post office shop. It has many goodies. The Brig O Doon restaurant is certainly worth a dinner or two. For those of you who think a thatched-roof cottage is usually cramped, try out Doonbank. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are comfortable. On a cold evening, the lounge fireplace is perfect. By the way, Susan and Chris are wonderful about ensuring your stay is as enjoyable as possible. You won't be dissapointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charnick0
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with loads to do”
Reviewed 28 August 2010 for a stay in May 2010

We stayed here for half-term with two twelve year old girls(very fussy!) and our 14 year old son, and all of us loved it. There was so much space to explore and a great lawn area for games and sunbathing. I would echo all that has been said about the comfort and quality of the cottage which feels like a home from home rather than your average holiday cottage. In addition to the trips mentioned, we really liked Troon which has a lovely beach and great fish and chips in the harbour. We'd love to go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiceHolid...
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

The cottage and its beautiful setting easily get a 10 out of 10! We stayed there for our honeymoon and could not have made a better choice. The vast grounds were beautifully stocked with lots of shrubs, plants and trees. It was like being in your own private forest. We had a great time exploring the countryside which stretched out from the bottom of the garden and along the River Doon. Very tranquil and picturesque.

Every room was decorated beautifully and we really enjoyed the log fire.

The owners left us a bottle of champagne as they knew we were on our honeymoon. Very kind indeed and much appreciated.

I will recommend this cottage to all my family and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatsoOggl...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could never get bored of coming here. It is such a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 22 June 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Holidaying with adolescent boys always fills me with trepidation. We had a wonderful week. The cottage was perfect. We breakfasted outside looking down over the river every morning and sat out on the lawn enjoying our barbeque supper every evening. To have so much land with a rented cottage was incredible. The acres of woodland, with the river at the bottom, provided the opportunity to roam or stroll as we wished and for the more sedentary a beautiful garden to just sit and read in.

The accomodation was excellent, not a trace of dog anywhere! There are 3 pleasant , well furnished bedrooms and very comfortable beds. Televisions, freeview and dvd players in the twin bedroom and sitting room meant companionable, conflict free veging in front of the television was easily available when required. The sitting room was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and the dining room a pleasure to eat in. There is a study full of leaflets and suggestions of what to do.

We found lots to do in the area that left everybody happy and content. We went to the Turnberry Hotel where everyone played pitch and put whilst I had the most delicious afternoon tea. From there some of us graduated later in the week to playing 18 holes at Ayr GOlf Centre whilst others just enjoyed the driving range. We went on a very successful fishing trip with Mark McGrindle to Ailsa Craig where everybody managed to catch their supper and admire the beautiful island and watch the puffins and seals. There are so many wonderful walks here and beautiful beaches. 2 of my favouriteswere from Culzean Bay along the beach and up to Culzean Castle and along the beach at Dunure, a tiny yachting harbour with pub, cafe and ice cream shop, ruined castle and lovely beach walk.

I could never get bored of coming here. It is such a beautiful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yettiSell...
Sellindge
1 review
“The most amazing retreat a pure delight.”
Reviewed 19 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Doonbank Cottage was the most delightful find. The cottage is beautiful and we felt immediately at home here. It's the most dog friendly holiday cottage and the owners are so helpful and friendly. The walks around the cottage alone are amazing and the surrounding area was beautiful. Doonbank cottage has everything that you could possibly want for a relaxing or adventurous break and we can't wait to return again one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyMcCo...
Tamworth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best UK holiday cottage we have ever stayed out!”
Reviewed 9 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Yes it really is the best place we have stayed at in the UK. The cottage is just fantastic as is the location. We (four adults) stayed there with our three Tibetan Terriers who came home exhausted but happy. I would defintely recommend this cottage to anyone who want a relaxing place to stay and who enjoys nature. The quality of the beds are wonderful as was the quality of the bedding (and has made me want to buy Dorma egyptian cotton for my own home .... one day!)

Ayrshire is just brilliant. There is plenty to do and see; in fact you will need longer than a week to fit everything in. There are plenty of walks to do and the beaches are wonderful - very peaceful and quite which meant we could let the dogs off their leads!

You must try the Balgrath and have a steak; it was a bit expensive but worth every penny. We would NOT recommend the Chinese in Ayr called Shanghai Rendezvoux - it really is as bad as it looks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxyNorth...
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, dog-friendly, thatched cottage in beautiful woodland”
Reviewed 20 March 2010 for a stay in March 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Doonbank Cottage is a very pretty thatched cottage in its own woodland in Alloway, with views of the nearby River Doon. We stayed with our three dogs first in September last year and returned this month for a second visit. It's hard to find anywhere to rent where more than one dog is welcome but this place exceeded all our expectations and we would definitely go back again. It is spacious, full of light, very comfortably furnished with nice wooden floors, quality bedding and towels and every facility you could wish for including an open fire, plenty hot water, dishwasher, washing machine, freezer, tv, dvd, hifi, wifi and lots of books and games. The surrounding woodland is quiet and lovely, with masses of snowdrops and wild garlic while we were there. We frequently heard and saw pheasants, woodpeckers and owls and we were lucky to have very mild weather for March. The dogs had great walks along the river and on the beaches nearby and all sorts of useful bits and pieces were thoughtfully provided for them too. TV reception was too erratic to be really watchable but plenty other things to do. We would go away with our dogs much more often if we could find more places of this quality where responsible dog owners are welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing