We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day by The Seaside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Ranked #11 of 61 Ayr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkintilloch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day by The Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have stayed here now three time and each time we are presented great rooms with great service, Cant fault this bed and breakfast, Jackie and her husband are lovely hosts. The breakfast is excellent plenty to chose from. Will be poping back down definetly when hopefully there will be a race meeting also the guest house is a stone through away from the sation as well great location, Recommened this guest house strongly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stets211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
54
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Myself and my partner enjoyed a visit to this guest house the rooms are 1st class there is everything you need hairdryer/toiletries/ tv and all rooms are ensuite the breakfast menu is amazing fantastic choice something for everyone,highly recommend staying here Jackie is a great host

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelly1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many b&b's but this one by far is the best one ever. Great service from both owners, they are a great laugh and very helpful. The breakfast was top class, very wide choice off food. Coffee was fab and the Billy's pancakes with syrup is to die for. Room was very comfy and very clean. This bnb comes with little extras like cotton buds, tissues, mints and water in a lovely jar. Very personal touches. I will be back and telling everyone about this great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was a spare of the moment booking for an overnight stay in Ayr on the way back from inverness, the price was very reasonable so I booked after seeing only good reviews.

The Guest house is amazing feels like luxury as soon as you enter the front door and you get a very friendly welcome and shown to your room. The room was large with a beautiful bathroom with so many bathroom products you would never need to ask for anything extra. The facilities where great with plenty of tea and coffee and a bottle of water which makes a nice change.

The breakfast was out of this world with so much choice including black pud, potato scones, French toast, haggis, fruit pud...it goes on and on so I won't bore you apart from saying the chef was chatting to us about his French toast and pancakes and I can say they didn't disappoint. If you are staying in Ayr don't look at the large overpriced hotels check in here without a second thought...perfectly located to get into the town, free parking and its clean, quiet and perfect breakfast.

The Wi-Fi worked great and check out was easy and quick.

Thank you for making the stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights - we arrived earlier than the checkout time but Jackie was so accommodating, she gave us our keys and allowed us to drop our bags in the lounge and provided a parking permit so we could begin our day without any delays, we had a very pleasant surprise when we arrived back to our room and Billy & Jackie had moved our bags into our room for us.
The room was spotlessly clean, beds were the most comfortable we've ever experienced and we have stayed at some five star hotels in the past.
We had breakfast on our second morning which was fantastic, Jackie provided additional portions for us and we then had a long conversation which left us feeling like one of the family.

When we visit Ayr, before we book our travel we will make sure we arrange to stay here again, we cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and it was lovely. Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely as well! If your going to stay in ayr then i woukd highly recommend this than a chain hotel. We had a family room with a lovely little ensuite which was spotless and comfortable, very homely atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wok38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Jackie is very caring and had some good chats. For what it costs its well worth a stay there and is conveniently located for the station.
Would have been nice to have a bath rather than a shower on the cold days. Breakfast was a good selection.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmalcolm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.8 mi away
Beaches Guest House
0.3 mi away
Inverlea Guest House
0.4 mi away
Miller House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosemount House
Rosemount House
#8 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Afton Villa Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
26 The Crescent
26 The Crescent
#6 of 61 in Ayr
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Turas-Mara Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Turas-Mara Guest House

Property: A' Turas-Mara Guest House
Address: 25 Castlehill Road, Ayr KA7 2HY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A' Turas-Mara Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Billy look forward to welcoming you to Turas-Mara their beautifully maintained and comfortable Victorian Guest House. A place you can relax and enjoy the homely atmosphere while sampling the famed Scottish Hospitality. Less than a 5 minute walk from Ayr Town Centre and Railway Station and only 5 miles from Glasgow Prestwick Airport (direct rail route). Turas-Mara is only 5 minutes from the wedding venues of Brig O'Doon or Western House. We offer a complimentary lift to these hotels for wedding guests (please let us know if you require this service at time of booking). An ideal base to explore Burns Country or enjoy a golfing holiday. All our rooms have been decorated in a modern but homely style yet retain original features. Our bedrooms are all en-suite with free WiFi , flat screen digital TV with Freeview, DVD player and many extras to help you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your A' Turas-Mara Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A' Turas-Mara Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing