We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Being local this is a venue we visit often and it has never disappointed us in 7 years. All the staff are well trained and are more than competent. Owners friendly and welcoming every time. Early supper meals offer great prices but the proton size doesn't suffer unlike other restaurants early evening deals. Overall the food and service are great.
Recommended

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catastrophicend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. Both room and restaurant were good and, I thought, reasonably priced. We found the staff friendly and efficient. For example, they remembered that we had ordered a gluten free meal in the restaurant in the evening and then produced a gluten free roll for breakfast the next morning without being asked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 337Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday lunch - extensive menu choice and food all to an excellent standard. The staff couldn't have been nicer very friendly and helpful and willing to accommodate the small menu changes we requested.can highly recommend the Chestnuts as a great ,relaxed place to enjoy a meal with family and friends.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Moiracarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I have been to the hotel twice but didnt get the time to post my review as the saying is, its never too late to do the right thing. I must admit the cleanliness of the rooms are matched with high standards of the hotel industry. Location is great its hardly 3 mins walk to the beach. Their restaurant serves gourmet meal, staff is so helpful and completes your experience with a cherry on top. The hotel is run my Mrs. and Mr. Steel they really are great people do chat (if you get time) with Mr. Steel if you love rugby he the the right man with all details of sport. And now something i didnt Like which is truly Nothing at all they know what they are doing and how to provide the best experience to their guests.

Would surely visit very soon....keep up the good work

Room Tip: Corner suites have wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapilsingh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have visited this establishment twice recently. On the first occasion it was for an early bird dinner within the bar casual dining area which was excellent. My partner had haggis which she loved and I had macaroni cheese which was really cheesy and old fashioned like my mum used to make. The bar is welcoming and comfortable and there is a coal fire which gives a nice feel to the place. On the second occasion we popped in on a rainy Sunday afternoon for a scone and a cafe latte and were sadly disappointed. The coffees are nice but the scones were a disappointment being extremely small and tasteless. Also the jam is of the kind which is in a plastic foil topped container and was of low quality. A shame really because the hotel is way better than that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A warm and welcoming hotel. The bedroom ( no 1 ) was warm and comfortable, the en suite clean, with soft towels, the staff warm, courteous and helpful. The full Scottish breakfast was perfect, and on one of the wettest and most windy days of the year, a delight before going out to face the elements. I have one exceedingly minor criticism -the window blind in the bathroom needed cleaning or replacing. But when I visit Ayr again I will certainly be staying here, and for more than the one night. I understand from my niece, and her husband, residents of Ayr, that the dinner menu, which I only glimpsed, is very good - so good that they do dine here with friends, so I have promised that we will come to dine en famille on my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Every year our office Christmas meal has been here. And always good quality food across the board. There's a good selection for a set price menu and the food is served promptly and efficiently. Unlike many 'trendier' establishments in Ayr/Prestwick/Troon diners don't feel rushed to make way for the next lot of diners. The bar is cosy with a lovely real fire. And the locals mix well with the 'annual invaders'! So a really welcoming atmosphere. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is that some tables can be a tad cramped with staff struggling to get round, as is the car park. And prawn cocktail? Really? Will be back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Talamhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#7 of 17 in Ayr
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayr
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing