We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
264
80
8
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
80
8
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegan menu macaroni cheese first class family meal lovely lunch booked a table single room lovely hotel ayr beach full scottish breakfast black pudding stayed here for one night bed and breakfast haggis grant mains ayrshire
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was my third stay at Chestnuts Hotel, and once again I could not fault it!

Room was spotlessly clean, warm welcome from the staff, great food, football in the bar and some good conversation with locals/staff - what more could you want? Oh yes, free parking and Wi-Fi - they have that too!

Top class.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinsoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here for a night in a single room during my tour of Scotland.

The hotel is located in a beautiful area of Ayr. The room was clean, comfortable, and had a great view of the backyard garden. I loved being able to open the window. The television was fairly new and had a number of channels available.

The dining room was nicely decorated and full of local residents having their Sunday night family dinner. The dinner menu was extensive and very reasonably priced. I had the chicken caesar salad which was outstanding.

The bar area is large and looked like a fun place to hang out.

The full Scottish breakfast was included in the price of the room, and I have to say it has to be one of the largest and best in the entire country. (If you look up "Full Scottish Breakfast" in the dictionary, a picture of this breakfast would be shown.)

Service at the hotel and restaurant was friendly and professional the entire time.

I would definitely stay here again.

(Note for American readers, this was a European sized single room, which means that it is physically small, but a tremendous value -- especially with the included breakfast. Just be aware that if you need a large room, you may need to upgrade to a double or triple. Also, there is no bath tub, and the shower is about 32" square.)

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StealthTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We are a party of golfers from Leeds and have stayed at this hotel for a number of years and use the hotel as a base for four days golfing each May.

The staff are always very helpful and very friendly and the food is always excellent. Highly recommended for a holiday with family or for golfing parties.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJGoodwin1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My dad and I had the pleasure of staying one night at Chestnuts after a round at Turnberry. Of a 7 night holiday through Scotland, this was our consensus favorite stay. Grant, the owner, is superb. He meets with the guests in the restaurant/bar and makes you feel at home. Al (Alister?) at the bar and Maria in the breakfast room, were terrific hosts as well. The place is beautiful - very to date and tasteful. If we are ever in the area again, it is guaranteed we are staying here! Thanks Chestnuts Team for a wonderful stay. -Derek and Dale.

Room tip: We each had a 1 bed-1 bath on the 1st level. Perfect.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have used this place for over 7 years and have never been disappointed not once. We have eaten here and also socialised with other couples and large groups. Service excellent, staff excellent and has a superb management team. This is a perfect example of how it should be done so take note.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catastrophicend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews