We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home far away from home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

From the moment we entered the Chestnuts Hotel we knew that this was going to be our base for an exploration of Scotland. Great hospitality, a warm welcome, a room with a "je ne sais pas quoi"-touch to it. So we stayed for three days and went to Glasgow by train (great information provided by the hotel), visited the coast and the Highlands (quite a drive but what a scenery all along the way), slept like angels - what a silence , had tasteful breakfasts, a good whiskey in the nice bar and hart pain when we left. A pearl on the Scottish West coast!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Two couples from the US on a golf vacation in Scotland. We stayed for three nights and we absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms are nicely furnished and absolutely spotless. The staff can not do enough for you. We had dinner the evening we arrived and breakfast three morning and all were very good. This hotel is on a quiet street in Ayr and a short walk to a really nice beach area with a great view of Arran. This hotel is situated between Turnberry and Royal Troon so it would be a great location for anyone traveling on a golf vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KimZberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife and I were attending an evening wedding reception at a nearby hotel and booked into this lovely hotel for dinner, bed & breakfast. Check in was very efficient and our room was first class, although it looked out towards the front of the hotel and the main road beyond, there was very little traffic noise. Dinner was excellent, portions were generous and there was a good selection of dishes to choose from. Service was of a high standard and the staff were attentive without being annoying. The hotel is in a good position 10 minutes stroll from the quiet end of Ayr beach and maybe a 15-20 minute stroll from the town centre. The hotel is open to the public from about 10am and it appears to be busy most of the day and I'm not surprised. This was our first visit and I'm sure that it won't be the last... keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay59Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Went yest for lunch, and ended up staying the whole day. The food was fantastic.. the whole experience was 1st class. Hoping to get down nxt mnth for an overnite stay. grant has great staff. Esp the guy who works with car auctions. Credit to your team. Staff very attentive. Cant wait to see them all again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderwoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Check in was fine, the staff are friendly, the room was clean, bed was comfy (2 singles pushed together ),the room I had was overlooking the garden which was lovely &the road but had very little noise, we ate in the hotel there was nt a slot at the time we wanted but they got us a table in the bar which was pretty packed with locals, the food was lovely & the staff could nt have been more helpful, when we finished our meal we sat out in the garden which is lovely & peaceful but when we came back in we could nt get a seat & there does nt seem to be a residence lounge, The Chestnuts seems to be used a lot by locals, all in all it was a lovely stay & would go back again.The staff are all lovely & very friendly.The hotel is in a residential area but is within walking distance of the town.

Room Tip: There is no lift in this hotel but theres not a lot of stairs, anyone who has problems getting in &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorthernIrelandMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous lunch today to celebrate my sisters birthday. Food fabulous, staff first class, attentive and friendly. Venue excellent. Will definitely return here again soon. Highly recommend this hotel to those who have never been here.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TRD104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We as a family love this place. Just wish it could be nearer to our home. But worth the travel , a little taste of heaven ,great for all the family . Staff amazing . thank you again so much , from your friends the Lothian family

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Del2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
1.5 mi away
Western House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fox & Willow
The Fox & Willow
#8 of 17 in Ayr
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing