We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithston Farmhouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
95
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmb bdark skyfeed the lambslarge bedroomfarm househomemade biscuitswarm welcomehome from homeroom was lovely and cleanbreakfast was deliciouson arrivalfantastic staybirthday treatwould stay againfeel very welcomehot chocolate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This B & B was very comfortable and we had a lovely warm welcome. There was a very wide choice of breakfast with good quality produce cooked to perfection. Ideally situated just a few miles from Ayr which is central for many visitor attractions both north & south.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

A wonderful chance find, beautiful large rooms with lovely linens & decor. Big bathroom too, corner bath very welcome after hours on motorbike. Undercover parking for bike.
Food was great & was able to have a look round the healthy looking farm animals.
Host a lovely lady; I felt really well cared for, many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

After a long drive from the North West of England, it was lovely to arrive at Smithston and be welcomed with tea and cake by Joyce. Our room was light and airy, with a great view over the farm's gardens at the rear. The bathroom was a little dated with its corner bath and carpeted floor but it made not a jot of difference to us throughly enjoying our short stay. It was lovely to be able to share a cosy guest lounge with other visitors. Breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dizzy_Blonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We always stay at the Smithston when we are in this area .
There's a great place to have dinner nearby too.
You are guaranteed a warm and welcoming reception.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chilly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We found this little B&B online when we visited Scotland to see some friends and can honestly say staying here was a joy! The whole family are very welcoming and Joyce takes care of you with her wonderful home cooked breakfast! Being on the farm for me was brilliant and they were more than happy to show us the animals! The farmhouse itself is surrounded by green hills and trees and is just a short drive from Ayr. Rooms were comfortable and toasty with electric blankets and tea & coffee in the room. It was also handy that there was free wi-fi available! We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews