We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best reasons to visit Ayr”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smithston Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Recently while travelling within the U K we found this by chance on the Internet.
By this stage of our Road Trip we had decided to base ourselves somewhere for Four days to have a clean out of our Hire Car, repackage the bags and have a gentle wander around the area.
We ended up staying Six days as the welcome we received was marvellous.
Joyce is a born Hostess her gracious and friendly manner was very easy to enjoy. Ian was also friendly and a proud Dad indeed after their Son had won Champion of the Show in a District Sheep Competition as we also have Family on the land in Australia and understand what a achievement winning events such as this.
Breakfast was as much as you wished, food was plentiful, fresh and well served in the dinning room. Joyce even done some washing for us and wouldn't hear of being paid extra for it so we hope she enjoyed the box of chocolates we left as a thank you.
The property is well placed to enjoy the area and we had no trouble filling in the Six days.
Ayr is only 8 miles away and just up the road is The Hollybrook Inn, indeed a great Scottish Inn very delicious food to be found with quite large servings of deserts.
I can't speak highly enough of Ian & Joyce it was one odour Trips highlights.
This is a great B & B and deserves to be a huge success.
The only down side was the Internet service was a bit hit and miss, we never tried the Television as we don't watch much T V other than that, All Good.
Thank You Joyce, Denis & Margaret the two crazy Aussies.

marg_den@bigpond.net.au

Room Tip: First one at the top of the stairs is spacious and has a good personal bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I were looking for a comfortable touring base where we could unwind and from which we could explore the coast and heart of Ayrshire. We found exactly that, as well as an excellent choice for a lovely breakfast, a spacious bedroom, a cosy lounge and, above all, Joyce's ready helpfulness. We appreciated her thoughtful extra provision of a late-evening snack and cup of tea in the lounge and a cool-flask of fresh milk for a morning drink. Drawbacks? Well, at 6' 3", I struggled to fold myself up into the corner-mounted oval 'birdbath'! But -- go again? We'd love to!

Room Tip: Though booked for a double room, we were given a 'family' room with two extra single beds an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_B654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I had to find accommodation at the very last minute due to being let down at Craigtara caravan site. Joyce to me, my friend and five kids in and helped us out with all the food we had for the caravan so it didn't get wasted. Heated the kids dinner we had made up for us and let us eat it in her dining room and also ours too once they were done. Even let us store stuff in her fridge. There was no complaints at the slight mess that is unavoidable with young children and she was very helpful in the morning when we realised we couldn't pay by card and even let us follow her to find the nearest cashline. Honestly couldn't fault the service. Place was clean, tidy and comfortable, only complaint was couldn't get the TV on and bedside lamps weren't working bit those little things don't matter in comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My son and I stay at Smithston Farmhouse every year in early October as an accommodation base for salmon fishing in the nearby River Doon. The location is very favourable for the fishing and permits visits to Ayr and surrounding districts for evening meals and social activity.Joyce Bothwell provides an excellent varied breakfast and friendly home from home service.The accommodation is spacious and immaculate and the overall package is exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leslie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the start we was welcomed by joyce a pleasure to meet, I have 4 children two of them under 4 and was accommodated comfortable in one room which no other could in the area, The place was immaculate with a nice cooked breakfast for the journey ahead.
I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

Room Tip: Plum Room if you have a large Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This B & B was very comfortable and we had a lovely warm welcome. There was a very wide choice of breakfast with good quality produce cooked to perfection. Ideally situated just a few miles from Ayr which is central for many visitor attractions both north & south.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

A wonderful chance find, beautiful large rooms with lovely linens & decor. Big bathroom too, corner bath very welcome after hours on motorbike. Undercover parking for bike.
Food was great & was able to have a look round the healthy looking farm animals.
Host a lovely lady; I felt really well cared for, many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.2 mi away
Western House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ardwell Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
1.7 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smithston Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smithston Farmhouse

Address: Smithston Farm | Patna, Ayr KA6 7EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Ayr
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run B&B on a working farm close to the beautiful coastal town of Ayr. Hills, lochs, forests, beaches, castles and the famous Troon golf course on our doorstep. A great base for enjoying the beautiful Ayrshire coastline or the scenic and peaceful Galloway forest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Smithston Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smithston Farmhouse Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing