We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Words cannot describe this wonderful house.”

Review of Doonside

The house has a huge private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house has a huge private garden
The beautiful sea view from the garden Kitchen with all mod cons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The house has a huge private garden
The beautiful sea view from the garden
Kitchen with all mod cons.
Dining table is extendable.
Modern, stylish lounge.
Master bedroom has an en suite.
Twin bedroom 1.
Twin bedroom 2.
Garden furniture on the decking.
View from the lounge patio doors.
Spacious barbecue area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunvalley...
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Words cannot describe this wonderful house.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here during the National Bowls Championship. The house was well equipped and very clean. Lovely garden with the river a running to the side off the house.
I am about to book for next year. Only negative is a couple of doors could do with repair to the handles, however with people staying all the time it is sometimes difficult to keep on top off small details

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house but dirty”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We staied for one week at doonside. The house is really nice but we were very disappointed to find it dirty. The cleaning has not been done before we came! Dust everywhere, little beast on the carpets of all the bedrooms upstairs, mouldy meat in the oven, Dishes, plates ... Completely dirty.... For this price, the house should be in perfect condition.
The garden is beautiful but not closed along the river. So this is quite dangerous with young children...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2014
We were very disappointed to receive this review. The house had been cleaned to its usual high standard before the guest arrived. We are unable to respond to specific issues as the guest did not take photographs to show us. As soon as we learned of her concerns, we attended the house, apologised profusely and offered a £50 gift card for a local restaurant as an apology. She refused this and asked for more money. We offered her £100 cash compensation, which she accepted. Before she vacated the house, she left a soiled nappy in every room. We would like to assure all future guests that the house is cleaned thoroughly before each new group arrives.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane46201...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant for large groups”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were in Ayr at family wedding and this place was brilliant. 5 bathroom just what you need with 16 people. Garden is amazing !
- my 82 year old father didn't want to come home. Everything you need and just in case you have forgotton something Spar shop practically next door. Don't be put off by frontage the majic is inside and out back.
Easy flat walk onto prom and into Ayr. Would love to come back :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“my dreamhouse”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Didnt want to leave Doonside today. The house is wonderful, the garden simply amazing.The river running along the left side of the house and a lane right down to Ayr beach front on the right hand side of the house. I felt very much at home there with my whole family. This is potentially our last holiday all together as our mum is very ill and doonside allowed us to all be together under the one roof to help care for her while we there. A lovely welcome pack awaited us and the staff at the spar were so helpfull. Would love to own this house thank you so much for allowing us to stay in it for this week. MY only negative would be that I would like to have had a gate at the driveway to make sure dogs and kids couldnt wander. even though a great wee play area for kids I didnt want to let dogs have the run of that area. Thats a small recomendation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen and the garden next to the river Doon
Liked least: lack of gated driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$649
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing